We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recomended”
Review of Carndaisy House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carndaisy House
Ranked #1 of 11 Muir of Ord B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We spend a week to the Carndaisy House with our 2 kids. It was our first B&B experience and we enjoyed it very well. It is well located, well-equiped and comfortable. The Breakfast was very good. Kids really enjoyed the swing and trampoline. Dougie and Linda did the necessary to make our stay as perfect as possible. Thanks to them. We definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amf54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2012

We - my wife, daughter and I - stayed at Carndaisy House for 2 nights during our 18-day road trip through England, Scotland and Wales.
We had originally booked for 1 night, but decided to change our itinerary to stay a 2nd night because we really liked the place.
The spacious bedrooms are in an extension of the house, designed and built for the purpose of a B&B. The bedrooms open out into the breakfast area, which has an adjourning glass-walled lounge/patio looking out onto green fields and mountains in the distance. In the morning, we could see sheep from the neighbour's farm grazing just beyond the fence through the french windows in our bedroom.
We liked the fact that the rooms are on the ground floor, which makes moving luggage in and out much easier (compared to B&Bs housed in quaint listed buildings without elevators).
There is also has a washer/dryer (available at a fee) which we found very helpful.
Our hosts Linda and Dougie are very friendly and always ready with sightseeing tips.
Tip: Plan to arrive before sunset on your 1st day if you're unfamiliar with the area, because it is easy to miss the place on an unlit, unnamed road in the dark. But once you know where it is, it's not a problem finding it again. You can visit their website (CarnDaisyHouse) for more information and photos.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Fantastic bed and breakfast, setting was beautiful, greeted by Dougie who was very friendly and helpful with local recommendations and he gave us some home baking when we arrived to have with our cuppa, lovely touch. The family room we had was spotless, decorated beautifully, breakfast was great it set us up for the day. We had looked at larger establishments first before choosing Carndaisy we were so pleased we chose this would definitely go back and will tell family and friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My stay here was excellent. The rooms are spotless, and very large in size. The bathrooms are also really new and clean. The breakfast was very delicious. For the price, this place takes the cake. And thw view is breathtaking.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZubairAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This place was tricky to locate,but once there,the modern bedroom was clean and good for a single night stopover,
Tea making facilities and t.v. in the room with a modern ensuite walk-in shower as expected in a new build bungalow.

I was surprised to find family sized bottles of shampoo/showergel and handwash for communal use that would have been used by prior guests,rather than being provided with a sealed individual mini pack of showergel and soap.

The gardens were well kept with a lovely outlook over acres of fields and countryside with a small conservatory,which was great for a pleasant stopover with total peace and quiet in splendid isolation.
If you required an evening meal then you would need your car to get to the nearest restaraunt a few miles away.

Breakfast was ordered the night before with usual packet cereals(no porridge),fresh fruit salad,yoghurt and a cooked breakfast consisting of a sausage,rasher of bacon,hash brown,tomato,fried egg,mushrooms and beans.
Other choices included scrambled egg with smoked salmon.
You made your own toast and there was a jar of homemade jam plus small plastic catering packs of marmalade,honey and jams available.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Speysider58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The Carndaisy House was just what we needed after a long day on the road. Run by a very lovely family that is willing to help you out in any way that can to make your stay relaxing. The Carndaisy is off the beaten path which is just perfect if your looking to slow your pace and enjoy nature. The rooms are clean and bright and have all the comfort you need. Breakfast is ready when you are in the morning to help you start the day off right. Big thanks to Linda and her family. BTW use goggle map to find the house it takes about a minute and all you need is the ability to use a map old school style.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davekels S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

What a fantastic...friendly...welcoming place Carndaisy House is...!
I cant say too many good things about this lovely place..as a business traveller spending more time in hotels than home during the week finding Carndaisy was a breath of fresh air. I was totally blown away on arrival.... A warm welcome and relaxed atmospohere soon had me chilled after a long and busy day....happy days... The room was first class..and extra touches just top it off...love the Tins... A real "find" that I will share with friends and family and return to any chance I get business or pleasure....

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muir of Ord hotels
1.8 mi away
The Ord Arms
The Ord Arms
#9 of 11 in Muir of Ord
68 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Dower House
The Dower House
#1 of 1 in Muir of Ord
33 reviews
1.5 mi away
Home Farm Bed & Breakfast
Home Farm Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 11 in Muir of Ord
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ord House Hotel
Ord House Hotel
#4 of 11 in Muir of Ord
99 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hillview Park
Hillview Park
#3 of 11 in Muir of Ord
88 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kintail House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carndaisy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carndaisy House

Address: Carndaisy House Easter Urray, Muir of Ord IV6 7UL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Muir of Ord
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Muir of Ord
Price Range: £48 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carndaisy House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carndaisy House is family run guest house accommodation set in spectacular countryside near Inverness. On arrival at our B&B in the Highlands, you are assured of a warm welcome. Our guesthouse offers excellent bed and breakfast lodgings close to ‘The City of Inverness’ Scotland. We are a 20 minute drive from ‘Loch Ness’ and ‘Urquhart Castle’ and only a 5 minute drive to ‘Glen Ord Whiskey Distillery.’ Our Bed and Breakfast accommodation offers 3 rooms, a family suite, triple and four poster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carndaisy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carndaisy House Muir Of Ord, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing