We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come here...Grandfathers House”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beachview Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Harris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beachview Cottages
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Come here...Grandfathers House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon in June...Suzan left us a beautiful gift and both her and Jan and their Son gave great advice on the island. They leave you a welcome gift of bread and wine to help you through your unpacking!! (well thats what we used it for).
The Grandfathers house is cozy. The fireplace is stunning and warm, a great for relaxing in the evening. You have a large fridge to put all your shopping in and cupboard space. They also have a great amount of crockery and cooking pots for people like us who saved some money to stay in a few evenings...and not forgetting the dishwasher. We never used the washing machine and tumble dryer that was there. On the other hand we did use Croft 36 about four houses down it is amazing for fresh bread rolls and crab (among other things). Temple Cafe is also just down the road (3 min walk if that).
There are many beautiful walks nearby so you won't be disappointed.
If you are into art my new hubby had a lesson from Suzan and he has found her knowledge very helpful.
I really can't rate this cottage enough...I have probably forgotten loads, but if you email Jan and Suzan they are very helpful not because it is a business but because it is in their nature, they know this will be peoples holidays and relaxation so want to make it 100%

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sal-red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

A week in May at Gannet Cottage really was the perfect retreat. We don't normally use self catering, preferring hotels, but this is the only way to do Harris in our opinion. Excellent views from the quiet location in Northton, really top-rate equipment in the beautifully appointed property, and a very friendly Dutch welcome too (from the owners who live down the drive). Although Fulmar Cottage is close by the two properties are cleverly sited to avoid being seen from each other. The huge open plan living area with galley kitchen is a great place to chill out, and the main bedroom at the back is cosy with underfloor heating. For my taste, there was too much technology in the bathroom - jacuzzi bath, shower with far too many knobs and dials, and a totally impenetrable sauna cabin - but if you like that sort of thing you're in heaven here. Well equipped kitchen too. Very good entry hall with hard floor and plenty of coat hanging and boot space so you can leave Harris at the door. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuthatch_birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at Grandfathers House for a week at the beginning of June and had a wonderful time. The accommodation is 1st class with everything you need, not to mention an extremely comfortable bed. The beaches are some of the best i have seen anywhere and there are 5 within walking distance. Suzan and Jan make you feel very welcome and their enthusiasm for the Island is contagious. I would recommend Beachview Cottages to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

My partner and I stayed at Grandfather's House for 5 nights in October and absolutely loved it. The house is cosy, stylish, comfortable, warm and in the perfect community, with the amazing Croft 36 and excellent Temple Cafe in the village. It's a great base for walking, cycling and exploring Harris and Lewis and we covered a lot of ground. The local beaches are a joy. The welcome, kindness and hospitality were superb - the family are the perfect hosts. Thank you so much and we will be back - can't think of anywhere I rather escape city life to!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueFromGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Having just return from a week of wall to wall sunshine on Harris I am thrilled to review Fulmar Cottage and give a hearty 5 stars! The welcome by Suzan and Jan was an example of what was to follow a week of kindness and comfort! While a little windy to actually paint large canvasses outside the spectacular views from the sitting room and an ever changing light was inspirational.
Suzan herself offered informal art classes to some of our group which we all enjoyed and learnt a lot!
The accommodation was comfortable and well appointed and very well equipped. As a hamlet, Northton has superb facilities including fresh eggs and a daily bread maker at the bottom of the drive. The lady also offers a home delivery meal service, the seafood thermidor being a speciality.
We are already planning our return, I feel a cosy winter break coming on!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We rented both Fulmar and Gannet cottages for a week at the start of June. When we arrived we were greeted by Jan and Suzan, who spent the next half hour introducing us to the cottages and the local area, quite refreshing as often when you arrive at a cottage the keys are in the door and you never meet anyone!

You will spend at least 3mins staring at the view out the window to the front of the cottages (we were there for at least 5 but it was a lovely day!) so wear comfortable shoes on arrival!

Location excellent (someone said it was a drive to the beach, only if you are old or lazy), cottages excellent, croft 36 has great produce for sale and meals that they will prepare and deliver, 2 mins drive to shop at Leverburgh and a cafe along the road which provides for both veggies and meat eaters alike.

Book at beachview if you like good weather, hillwalking, wildlife spotting (we saw a porpoise, golden eagle, many bird species, seals and a wire haired German pointer) and obviously the second to none beaches.

Beautiful place with friendly people.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brymck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed at Gannet cottage in May for one week and were warmly welcomed by Jan, Suzan and their daughter. The cottage was beautifully clean, spacious and decorated to a high standard including amazing artwork by Suzan herself of the sea life on Harris. I would definately recommend a stay here. there is no need to repeat what the cottage offers in terms of relaxation i.e. sauna etc as others have written this. The view is amazing. You have easy access to 4 beaches which we all enjoyed, lovely places to eat and art galleries.
Jan and Suzan are there whenever you need them (our car broke down and they were very very helpful indeed buying us milk etc as we could not get to a shop) We recommend this 100%
Thank you

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cebst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Harris
50.3 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
28.5 mi away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#8 of 11 in Isle of Harris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
60.7 mi away
Broad Bay House
Broad Bay House
#4 of 62 in Isle of Lewis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 mi away
Hotel Hebrides
Hotel Hebrides
#2 of 2 in Tarbert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
28.3 mi away
Ceol na Mara Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachview Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachview Cottages

Property: Beachview Cottages
Address: 13 Northton, HS3 3JA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Isle of Harris
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Beachview Cottages Isle Of Harris, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing