We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tetherstone Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$440
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harris Hotel(Tarbert)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lochmaddy Hotel(North Uist)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Crown Hotel(Stornoway)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Stornoway)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Caladh Inn(Stornoway)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
50
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarabella and davidprivate bathroomb bwarm and friendly hostsyogurtbreakfasts were excellentporridgeenjoyed our staybeachesscotlandlinens
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2013

As soon as my wife and I arrived, we were met by our friendly hosts Davis and Arabella.
The room was fantastic, with home cooking plied upon us, it was a delight to share their home.
Their knowledge of the area was better than expected with a wonderful beach a 5 minute walk from the B&B.
The breakfasts were super, especially the 'Stornaway ' black pudding.
It was a pity to leave as we enjoyed blue sky days for our stay at Tetherstone.

Room Tip: Doesn't make any odds, there all great
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at Tetherstone B&B for three nights at the end of a short first tour of the Highlands and Outer Islands. I've never been to such a warm, comfortable, hospitable B&B and it was definitely one of the highlights of a wonderful touring week. Arabella and David do make you feel very at home with a perfect combination of friendliness and having your own space. Your private bathroom (bath & shower)next door is just as good as an en-suite and the rooms are very pleasantly decorated. There are lots of books, local information and David and Arabella are full of good advice for walks, art and craft studios and galleries of which there are many and places to eat -The Anchorage a few miles away at Leverburgh is a very good seafood restaurant (we went twice)
Breakfast was superb with lots of choice , beautifully and freshly cooked with local produce - homemade bread, fresh fruit salad,amazing eggs! Very generous portions.
We hope to return to the wild, beautiful and other worldly Outer Hebrides soon and wouldn't want to stay anywhere but Tetherstone B&B

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I'd have to say that after a 3 week trip all over Scotland, I keep coming back to our time at Tetherstone. Although we stayed in wonderful B&B's, this is the one I'd come back to in a heartbeat. Arabella and David are beyond wonderful hosts. They are so warm and so genuine. They make you feel like friends, not guests. The rooms were the most spotless we stayed in. Decor was cozy, with good antiques mixed in with modern furniture. Lots of windows in our room, though we didn't have a view. There was TV with lots of channels, though we didn't watch. There is wi-fi although when we were there it was not working. Not a problem, though, because a cozy cafe two doors down with spectacular views DID have fast wi-fi and they let us sit and do email as long as we wanted. (It's the Temple Cafe, and you MUST eat there, the food and atmosphere is fantastic).
What really sets Tetherstone apart are the details that Arabella includes. The towels are abundant, linens soft, lots of cotton balls, shower caps, cups for the bathroom, and very good toiletries galore -- lots of lotions, bubble bath, shower gels. And the most delicious robes.
The private bathrooms are not en suite, which took me aback at first. However, since the bathroom is private, and literally, less than a step outside your door, I actually liked it much better. Too often en suite bedrooms in B&B's are tacked-on affairs that make the room smaller. This way we felt the room was more spacious. And it was nice to be in the bathroom a bit away from where your husband is lying in the bed. The feeling of privacy was great!
Also, there are only 2 bedrooms upstairs, each with its own bathroom, and the suites are separated by a landing filled with books and chairs for reading and unwinding. We only saw the other guests at breakfast, the layout felt much more private than any other B&B we stayed in.
One tip when it comes to rooms, our bedroom's bathroom had a tub with hand held shower. That was fine because I like baths. The other bathroom had a tub with stand up shower, so if you prefer showers, ask for that room.
Arabella also provided more selection than any other B&B when it came to tea and coffee in the room, and she even had waiting for us home-baked goodies for us each day! That was in addition to shortbread! Breakfasts were absolutely delicious -- my favorite was the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon -- with eggs from the neighbor! We were so lucky to find Tetherstone, we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeresaEBethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed as 2 couples at Tetherstone B&B. David and Arabella could not have been more welcoming and the rooms felt like we were living in the lap of luxury.

The hotel is a short walk from 3 beautiful beaches and is also very near to a café that is great for lunch, dinner or just coffee. The breakfasts were sumptuous and we were even surprised to find cake left out for us when we got back from a day trip. David and Arabella were very friendly and David was full of suggestions for our trip.

I would recommend Tetherstone for a perfect, warm and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We recently spent 2 nights with Arabella& David as our son was getting married in Northton. They could'nt have made us more welcome. We felt as though we were part of their family. The food was wonderful and so plentiful. Like other reviewers wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ettamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews