We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sonas Cottage

Looking across the water towards the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking across the water towards the cottage
Bedroom Cast iron roll top bath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Looking across the water towards the cottage
Bedroom
Cast iron roll top bath
Cinema room
North Harris
View from the lounge
Sauna room
Fishing trip
Lounge
Kitchen/diner
Winter Beach
Sonas Cottage
Recliners in cinema room
Traditional Helo Sauna
Sonas Cottage
Cinema room
Bedroom
Traditional roll top bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Travel786...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 6 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Sonas cottage is amazing; the perfect retreat after a day exploring the stunning Isle of Harris. It is immaculately clean, fresh and warm. With a great sauna, superb cinema room and a bath that you just want to soak in for hours. Angus, the owner, is really helpful and responsive. We will definitely come back again to enjoy the cottage and Harris.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roam72602...
1 review
“Superb, couldn't have asked for more.”
Reviewed 10 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We have just returned from staying at the fabulous Sonas Cottage. It surpassed all our expectations and more. The cottage is ideally situated overlooking a beautiful sea loch and within easy reach of Tarbert. The cottage is stunning and has lots of 5 star features. We particularly liked the fabulous music system and the large roll-topped bath. We have stayed in other similarly rated cottages before, but none have had the character of Sonas Cottage. It has true heart and soul and, after being out all day, returning to it felt like returning to a home from home.
The Isle of Harris is also truly breathtaking and the local people are all so friendly. As a result we have fallen in love with Harris and plan to return to see more. Thank you so much to the owners, Angus and Catriona, for allowing us to stay at Sonas Cottage. We had the trip of a lifetime. We highly recommend this accommodation to other visitors.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mhairi L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage, peace perfect peace.”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Had a fantastic holiday. Harris is a truly beautiful island. Miles of sandy beaches to explore. Visiting Harris, at least once, should be made compulsory for everyone!
Sonas cottage is ideally situated for exploring Harris and Lewis. It is well equipped with all the standard equipment that you would expect to find in a self catering let, but then it goes well beyond this with some truly unique additions.
The sound system was amazing. I was able to relax in the sauna or the luxurious deep bath and listen to Enya, whilst my husband listened to Runrig in the lounge.
Whilst we are not great ones for watching films, the cinema room was very comfortable and easy to operate. We enjoyed watching Restless Natives which we selected from a wide range of DVDs on offer.
Angus, the owner, was always contactable and responded promptly to any questions. I would have no hesitation in staying in Sonas Cottage again in the future. Top marks !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
carl w
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good but lacking a little something”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Sonas has undoubtedly got more "features" than most properties in the Hebrides, sauna, cinema room etc,. But having come from a beautifully appointed and well equipped Croft in South Uist we felt Sonas lacked the warmth and attention to small detail that makes the accommodation a "home from home" rather than just "a place to stay". It's location is good and the owner is attentive - immediately arranging an electrician, from remote, to sort a noisy faulty alarm - but we just would have preferred a few more "gentle" touches.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave B
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Luxury cottage in a magical setting”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Both inside and outside this is a very special place. The view over a sea loch just 10 minutes from the ferry terminal in Tarbert is glorious, with wildlife and weather always changing. Inside this is a luxury couple's retreat, with a sauna, walk-in shower, huge freestanding bath, cinema room with large selection of DVDs and leather reclining chairs, and a well-equipped kitchen.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
t0mandhan...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Amazing cottage! Even better than the pictures suggest. Equipped with everything you could want and more. Cinema room, sauna and sound system really took the cottage to another level. We enjoyed total relaxation by playing waterfall and ocean sounds through the sound system while relaxing in the sauna. It was like having our very own spa; thoroughly recommend! Very comfortable bed, bright and clean accommodation, stunning views. Perfect cottage for our honeymoon. A well needed quiet escape! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing