We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most places shut in October”
Review of Bays Centre

Bays Centre
Cuisines: Scottish
Description: Great for teas, coffees and home baking - community centre run by the locals
Restaurant details
Description: Great for teas, coffees and home baking - community centre run by the locals
Reviewed 27 October 2018

We were wanting some refreshments and this place was the only place open that we could find in mid October. The lovely lady, who was working on her own, was so helpful and had time for a chat, she told us about her day and the whole place was so
unrushed. We had nice cake and a nice coffee at a very reasonable price.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nono323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

We would love to have eaten here, as our ferry was cancelled due to high winds and were struggling to find anywhere to eat. However, when we arrived we were greated by a woman waving her arms telling us they were closed. We promptly left and drove further up the road to turn round; on our way back we saw 3 cars there with people eating.......

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank SR04London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Came across this hidden gem when driving around Harris.

It was great to support the local community centre and we really enjoyed the delicious cakes and toasties. We sat outside and watched the seals and enjoyed listening to a visiting piper who got everyone up dancing...

The two ladies provided an exceptional service and spoke to us about their time on the island.

Definitely recommend visiting the Bays Centre. Great to see a community cafe doing so well.

We will definitely be back.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank milnedtx00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Great soup, sandwhich and slice of ginger bread cake. Lovely warm welcome. Go there - you won't regret it.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank nicholasw112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

We were led to believe otherwise but were rather disappointed with the food on offer. The soup did not taste homemade and was extremely watery. The chocolate cake also looked commercially produced. We would not return.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Tallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bays Centre also viewed

Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris
 
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris
 
Ardhasaig, Isle of Harris
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris
 

Been to Bays Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing