We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant in every way”
View from Gannet and Fulmar Cottage over Scarista Beach, please enquire direct, 5 star award, gold
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Gannet and Fulmar Cottage over Scarista Beach, please enquire direct, 5 star award, gold
View from Fulmar and Gannet Cottage Village of Northton, arrow shows where we are...5 min walk from beach one
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
View from Gannet and Fulmar Cottage over Scarista Beach, please enquire direct, 5 star award, gold
View from Fulmar and Gannet Cottage
Village of Northton, arrow shows where we are...5 min walk from beach one
View from the cottage
Gannet interior
Master bedroom ensuite Steam shower, Jacuzzi and small Sauna
Little Finnish Sauna in Gannet
A well behaved Dog on request £ 75 per week, Dog Policy Applies
Northton second beach, 10-15 min walk
Walk to the Temple in winter from the cottage
Harris golf a five minutes drive away, at Scarista
Painting tuition available, oil painting sunset view from Fulmar
Swimming at Northton beach, wetsuits advised
Wetsuits drying at the cottage
Northton Beach three and four and the temple, walk from the cottage
View from the cottage in June
Panaoramic Beach views,  sleeping 1-4 Adults, price based on 2 A, extra person plus £75, Dog £75 p/w
View from the cottage in June Sleeping 2A dultsand 3 Children Max, basic price is for 2 Adults
5 star awarded Luxurious stone cottage with fantastic views, Sauna, Steam shower and Jacuzzi
Beautiful Temple walk from the cottage
Children in summer playing
Beach one 5 min walk from the cottage
Beach nearby
View From Chaepaval towards Northton
Areal of South Harris,
Northton/cottages are overlooking the large beach.
Northton `machair in summer
Aurora Borealis or the Northern Lights see fb Western Isles Aurora Watch
Cottage at night
One of the beaches nearby
Beach at walking distance
Wind against tide, beach walking distance from Gannet
Golden Eagle flying over
We inform you all about walks and where to spot seals
Gannet's at the rocks near the Temple
Lovely sunsets all around
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
LPK11
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant in every way”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in both Gannet and Fulmar Cottages and cannot find enough words to say what wonderful holidays we have had there. Where to start.... The most welcoming of hosts, the comfiest beds, beautiful views from the large siting room windows. Excellent facilities including sauna and jacuzzi, underfloor heating. There are walks to suit all abilities right on the doorstep along with four beaches to choose from. Eating was never a problem with Croft 36 delivering delicious meals to the cottage or you can wander down to the bottom of the drive and pick up freshly made bread and home grown vegetables from their 'shop'. As well as a couple of restaurants further afield. On our stays we have encountered various wildlife, including a few encounters with a golden eagle. We even helped to rescue a minke whale from the natural harbour at Leverborough, while we were out kayaking with the owners son, Bart, who runs an Outdoor activity centre. The hosts Jan and Suzan could not be more welcoming or helpful and we enjoyed many an evening in their company, particularly enjoying the weekly evening on the beach with a big fire toasting marshmallows and our good health!! Could not recommend a better place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jocelyn d
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like another world!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Fulmar Cottage was better than we could possibly have imagined. From the very first correspondence by email with the owners Suzan and Jan Visser, we could tell that they cared passionately about their guests' stay. They were so warm and welcoming from the outset.
We were met when we arrived by Jan Visser who patiently showed us every aspect of the cottage and how everything functioned. This is so important with a self catering stay, so that you understand the tv controls, heating etc straightaway.
The bathrooms were exactly what you need after a windy day on the beach or in the hills. We have three children and each afternoon when we returned home we had a whole family bathtime session, some of us in the steam/jet massage shower, others in the jacuzzi bath, others in the sauna - all of us listening to the music piped out of the shower unit - great fun!
The bed was probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in; waking up in a room with windows looking up to the hills where golden eagles soar was really so magical.
The views from the sitting room are breathtaking - whatever the weather and this changes so quickly, you could be entertained for a whole day just watching the sky change. Jan and Suzan strike the perfect balance of being there to help and advise but also leaving you to enjoy your time as a family. Suzan gave our 10 and 6 year olds art lessons one afternoon - introducing them to the colour mixing wheel and painting with oils at our dining table looking out over the sea!
We hired bikes (tag alongs and trailers too) for the whole family from Harris Outdoor and wanted to go out kayaking/sailing with them, but the sea wasn't quite calm enough for our 3 year old. Bart who owns Harris Outdoor is a fount of knowledge about the island - he's also one of Harris's lifeboat men, so you feel in extremely competent hands.

Our days were spent playing in the waves on the many beaches, (make sure you know which beaches are safe at which times as the currents can be super strong) swimming on the calmer beaches - eg Seilebost, collecting shells, fishing off the rocks for pollack/mackerel, walking in the hills (recommend getting in touch with the guided walk with Jeff Edwards at Leverburgh for the Golden Eagle walk), cycling around the island, ordering lobster from the fishmonger who's outside the Co-op each Thursday at Leverburgh, picking up tasty ready meals at Croft 36 honesty shack (literally at the end of the cottage's drive!), or just simply lying on the bed or the super comfy sofas/chaise longue staring out at the most beautiful scenery you've ever seen! It is a very special place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antony r
Mirfield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven.....idyllic”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

One week in this beautiful village, staying in the luxurious 'Gannet' cottage and my family and I were hooked and heartbroken to leave. With beautiful white beaches, mountains, breathtaking scenery and wildlife galore, never a dull moment was had and there were certainly not enough hours in the day! Whilst not forgetting to mention the clear starry nights - an astronomers delight! There was no shortage of quality fresh food from hidden treasures such as Croft 36 and The Temple Cafe and a 10 minute drive to Leverburgh provided further options. Jan and Suzan couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful and their beautiful cottage decorated with gorgeous artwork is a credit to them. I can't recommend or praise the cottage, destination and holiday enough. See you next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The magnificant views from the windows.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
106Jon_w1...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of the Best views in the world - enjoyed in wonderful comfort”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Jan and Susan offer travellers to the Isle of Harris an unparalleled base from which to explore and experience the various wonders of the outer hebrides. You could simply lose all track of time sitting in the sumptous lounge among the creature comforts of their wonderful cottage, marvelling at the truly jawdropping view over the sands and mountains of northton. The cottages are immaculate, extremely well equipped (the steam showers, jacuzzi baths and sauna's completely rock) and make a great base for anyone considering some time getting to know the western isles. We didnt want to leave! And will surely return as Harris is the kind of place you can easily be seduced by - I think a winter trip may be in order to see another view of this northern wonder.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jan and Susan and the inhabitants of the village all of whom who are engaging, warm and able take care of your every need
Liked least: The week passed too quickly!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mallard53
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow! Words cannot describe that view”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We booked Fulmar cottage at Christmas, based on the reviews posted before. This is a really special place. The cottage is warm, well equipped and comfortable. The steam shower, and the sauna are a first for us in a holiday cottage. The hosts are kind, and welcoming. They have provided an extensive library of information about the Island and its history. Jan told us about special places to visit. The beaches, within walking distance are spectacular, and the view is so incredible, I found myself just standing and staring for hours. Suzan offers painting lessons. I was a bit worried about asking, being a bit of a novice, but she is an excellent teacher, and it brought a non threatening, new focus to the week.
Harris is quite beautiful, particularly the beaches in the south. Everyone we met was welcoming, and friendly. A really memorable week, in a really special place! We loved it. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob J
Zeist, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a view!”
Reviewed 5 February 2013 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Fulmar Cottage for a week in October and could not have had a better experience. The cottage owners are special people who've lovingly decorated and equipped ‘Fulmar' and 'Gannet' which enjoy surely one of the best views on the entire island. Rays of sunlight could be seen on the horizon at close to midnight. The proximity to stunning white sand/turquoise sea beaches makes these properties better than we could have hoped. We arrived from Zeist in a state of high anxiety and left feeling peaceful and enriched.
We definitely will be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall facilities of the house was luxurious
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Kleine kinderen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisse, The Netherlands
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We kwamen voor de omgeving en daar hebben wij heel erg van genoten.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
Hartelijk dank voor de mooie review en fijn dat jullie zowel Fulmar Cottage, als the Isle of Harris prachtig hebben gevonden.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing