We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best holiday cottage in Harris”
other travellers have booked this property
front and back view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front and back view
open plan  kitchen/dining/living open plan living/kitchen/dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
front and back view
open plan  kitchen/dining/living
open plan living/kitchen/dining
lounge
lounge
picture window seat in lounge
view of Stockinish island from house
bedroom 1 sleeps 3
bedroom 4 twin
bedroom 3 double
entrance hall
front terrace
reflection in lounge window
view of Uists from front
bedroom 1 double
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Scenic744...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best holiday cottage in Harris”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in March 2018

We stayed in Cluer Cottage in March.The cottage sits in a stunning location.enjoying unspoiled views out to sea.The cottage was fully equipped with everything to make our holiday very enjoyable.It is warm and cosy with 2 real fires and central heating.The bedrooms are all tastefully decorated,clean and cosy.The huge picture window in the lounge allowed us to enjoy the view and we spotted seals and a variety of sea birds.Highly recommend Cluer Cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thetailor...
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in August 2018

Stunningly beautiful and secluded. We felt we were in our own little paradise. Lovely surroundings with views over the sea. Cluer cottage is large and comfortable. A home from home with open fires and comfortable beds to sleep in at night. We spent our days exploring Harris and Lewis. And our nights warm and cozy by an open fire. Wifi access and Sky and free local calls. The information book is full with all you need to know about your stay. We loved it there and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerinckx...
Halle, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay! Fantastic cottage for family.”
Reviewed 15 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Great place and location. Stonning views, even could spot harbour porpoises and Dolphins from the living room. Fantastic scenery along the tiny roads and beautiful beaches.
We had really a good time here!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2018
I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Cluer Cottage and we hope you will return.
Many thanks
Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dizzymcne...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing location,beautiful house to stay in for a glorious summer break”
Reviewed 30 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The website doesn't do this home justice. It was beautifully set out with everything needed for a relaxing break. Although we did go to visit the fantastic beaches a short distance from the house, we preferred to stay at the cottage. With the balcony/garden area overlooking amazing scenery. We had barbecues & plenty of comfortable outside furniture so there was no need to go anywhere else. We had everything we could possibly want. Although there were only four of us, (this time) the cottage would comfortably accommodate 2 families of 4, with the 2 large lounge areas. Thankfully for us the fires in both were set but only required one night due to the amazing weather we had. A great holiday and one that I will be doing again at Cluer Cottage. Very relaxing, the sky tv was only on for the football once!!
Thank you Fiona & Donald

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2018
I am delighted that you had such a lovely stay at Cluer Cottage and saw Harris at its best weather wise. Thank you for your positive review. We may consider having professional photos taken as a few guests have now said our website does not do the house or location justice.
We look forward to your next visit.
Fiona and Donald
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme K
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent return visit to this peaceful cottage with superb weather.”
Reviewed 6 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We stayed in this remote and peaceful cottage in 2015 and decided a return visit was due. The week was blessed with superb warm and sunny weather which is always a bonus. Plenty of walking, reading, relaxing and sitting out with an evening drink, watching the lambs misbehaving in front of the house. There's plenty to do around the island including the famous beaches, extensive marked walks and the distillery in Tarbert. Returning to Cluer early enough each evening to enjoy the sun, scenery and solitude just added to the whole experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2018
Thank you for taking time to review your visit to Cluer Cottage. I agree it is lovely to watch the lambs gambolling about.
I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Many thanks
Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LinFalcon...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Cottage - fantastic location for an island getaway.”
Reviewed 20 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Cottage is very comfortable with open fires in both living rooms. A very peaceful location with a great view out to sea and, in May entertainment is provided by lamb gangs chasing each other around. We were blessed with great weather in May so made use of the patio and sat out in the comfortable deck chairs. Kitchen has store cupboard essentials and is the best that I have experienced [usually they have the bare minimum of kitchenware and no foodstuffs]
We ate out at lunchtime and cooked in the evening - relaxing with a glass of the local Isle of Harris gin.
This was our second visit to Cluer Cottage and we intend to return. 10/10 holiday cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2018
Hi Lin
Thank you very much for your very positive review of Cluer Cottage. We are delighted you returned and had another pleasant stay. The weather is often at its best in May. I do try to keep basic store cupboard ingredients stocked up for convenience.
I hope you will return to Cluer in the future.
Many thanks
Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex D
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Cluer Cottage”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A llittle slice of heaven on earth, no better place to be when the sun is shining! Would highly recommend a visit!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Cluer Cottage. We are so pleased when our guests appreciate the glorious location of Cluer as we do. We love the stormy winter days too. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Many thanks for respecting our use of electricity and Broadband request. This is greatly appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing