We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sublime”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Red House

Autumn glow on October morning
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Autumn glow on October morning
Evening in August viewed from the house. A peaceful haven Red House or Tigh Dearg with its iconic red roof  renovated from an old blackhouse
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Autumn glow on October morning
Evening in August viewed from the house.
A peaceful haven Red House or Tigh Dearg with its iconic red roof  renovated from an old blackhouse
The charm and character of the old blackhouse
Cosy evenings by a log fire
Cosy lounge with reclining sofa
King size bed
The mezzanine is a spacious light filled bedroom and lounge
Kitchen and dining area
Picnic Hamper
Luxurious wet room with underfloor heating and heated towel rails
Rainbow season in September
Standing alone in the Bays of Harris. the only traffic the ferry to nearby Tarbert
Dramatic scenery all round the coast
Looking down from the heather covered hill, an eagles eye view.
January sunshine and a bracing walk along a deserted beach
Sand and sea Neisabost beach in January
Snow House, magical atmosphere of snow covered Harris
April and a spectacular sunrise
Bog cotton at mid summer
One of the neighbours
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
wcwendych...
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sublime”
Reviewed 24 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Red House is as perfect as it gets. The owners have completely renovated it and it is a wonderful home. The oneness combined with the cosy cottage feeling is a perfect balance. The high quality and great design taste is wonderful. The thick walls make it feel so secure when those high winds blow off of the Atlantic. Add the history of the Red House and the island and you feel lucky to be here. The owners are very friendly and helpful. It is located a stones throw from town so you have both convenience and privacy. the views are lovely as well. Stay here. You will be happy you did.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C
1 review
“Perfect cottage”
Reviewed 24 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We spent a fantastic week in the Red House. You really couldn't ask for more from a holiday cottage for two people. Really cosy cottage with every detail thought of. Amazing views and a real feeling of seclusion despite only being a 5 minute drive from Tarbert. Watching the seals was great fun. Thanks to Tracey and her husband as well for offering help and advice when we made an error on our return ferry booking!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munro1872
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing house in a perfect location”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This renovated former black house is the most spectacular place to stay. Perfectly located just 5 minutes drive (or an easy 20/25 minute walk) into Tarbert. The cottage is very comfortable and secluded with beautiful views over the peninsula towards Scalpay. We were fortunate with the weather and spent much of our time exploring the amazing beaches and landscapes of Harris but also spent time chilling out at the cottage in glorious Hebridean sunshine admiring the views and making use of the deck chairs provided. Tracey has thought of everything, there's games, DVDs and a telescope to watch the seals from the mezzanine if the weathers not too good, but also beach towels and a picnic basket for venturing to the best beaches you will ever come across. The scenic Golden Road and road to Huisinish were some of the highlights Also appreciated the welcome basket of food and fizz when we arrived and loved reading about the history to how Red House has evolved. Hope to return soon. Cant recommend highly enough. Rhona and Ian

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
Edwinstowe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tastefully decorated and wonderfully located Crofters Cottage”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful cottage situated only 5 minutes drive from the main town on the Isle of Harris yet it is secluded and very private. Aside from the owners Alastair and Tracey who are really friendly and on hand to offer any advice, the neighbours were two ponies, the family hens, a dog, a cat and the sheep.

The cottage itself is cosy and tastefully decorated with all the mod cons you need for a week on this fabulous island. We were fortunate that the weather was excellent so we spent very little time in the cottage but if the weather is not so good the owners have made sure that there is lots to do with games, music tv and dvd's.

Another nice touch was the welcome basket with everything we needed after a long journey

We love the Outer Hebrides and especially the Isle of Harris and will certainly return. We would have no hesitation in returning to the Red House

Thank you Tracey and Alastair

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivesInHo...
USA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I'd like to live there forever.”
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Tracey and Alasdair were lovely hosts. The house is perfect and secluded, surrounded by jagged hills that fall into the ocean. There are sheep and ponies and seals and chickens and starfish on the beach. If I ever win the lottery, I'm gonna ask if I can buy The Red House on the Isle of Harris and live there forever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the fabulous bathroom, the welcome basket, etc.
Liked least: That I had to leave eventually.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excursion...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Simply put, just the best place to stay on Harris. The house itself is a perfect home from home in an absolutely stunning location. Tracey and Alisdair have created a real gem. A walk around the peninsula is a must. We watched the seals and just enjoyed the tranquillity of the setting - such a fantastic spot to unwind. We'll definitely be making a return visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodkw36
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“October holiday”
Reviewed 21 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Communication from the owner Tracey was speedy and helpful, made to feel welcome on arrival. House was beautifully located, an ideal base for exploring Harris. Clean, comfortable, well equipped kitchen which catered for our needs, had fun in the evening with the wood burner fire, plenty of logs supplied for our 4night stay. Tracey's welcome pack included half a dozen eggs laid by her very own hens as well as plenty of other Scottish delights which were very much appreciated. Hope to be back here one day, would recommend a visit if your looking for some relaxation and breath taking scenery.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing