We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic holiday retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Tigh Na Mara
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tigh Na Mara
Sunset View from front garden.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Tigh Na Mara
Sunset
View from front garden.
View from road.
Kitchen wood burner.
Kitchen
Kitchen dining table
Main living room fireplace.
Double room
Double room
Single Room
Twin Room
Twin Room
Second Living Room with wood burner.
Second Living Room
Telescope in porch
View from garden
View from bedroom.
Scarista Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
James C
South Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Idyllic holiday retreat”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Tigh na mara is a wonderful property, steeped in family history and perfectly located for a peaceful break. The main house is beautifully presented, very comfortable and right on the shoreline in a secluded position, benefited by the presence of the resident seal and stags! It is a perfect base for exploring the Western Isles due to it's location near Tarbert, and is well-positioned for those with a love of nature and wildlife. There is parking right outside the house and the local shops are well-stocked with any provisions you may need, though a trip to Stornoway may be necessary for a full week's shopping. My wife and I spent a happy week there with friends: cooking meals in the huge, well-equipped kitchen, reading by the fire and watching the wildlife outside our window. Unfortunately, no otter sightings for us this time, but the sea eagles nesting across the bay more than made up for it. No doubt we will be back in the future to catch a glimpse of those elusive mustelids! Thank you Eva.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the kitchen.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjd875
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Photos don't do it justice!”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Great location and great views! Spent 4 days over new years here. We had better weather than what yorkshire was getting. The house was better than expected, the kitchen is larger than what the picture shows as we spent most of out time in here with the log burner going.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate H
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location to die for”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in September 2014

Just stumbled across Tigh Na Mara again whilst searching for our next holiday in Harris. My husband and I stayed here in September 2014 on our first trip to the island. The house is stunning, fully equipped with everything you could possibly need. When we stayed they were having some issues with the dishwasher however the owner couldn't have been more helpful. and was in constant communication. I could tell you about the beautiful furnishings and features of the house, but the best part was the view from the bedroom window - words cannot describe how fabulous it was, and we spent many an hour simply gazing out, watching the ferry go past and we were even lucky enough to be able to watch the resident sea otter going about his business. We also had fun exploring the small private beach in front of the house. A great base to explore Harris, only a short drive from Tarbert and we explored the entire island. Can't wait to go back and hopefully we can stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProfRManc...
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a very enjoyable week on Harris, and Tigh Na Mara is all we had hoped for and better. It is even nicer than it looks on the photos. You can see the house from ferry as your arrive into Tarbert. It is very well equipped and has a stunning location, the views from all rooms worth all the travel. Usual problem with midges outside, but that Scotland in the summer, and when it was breezy as house in right on coast they disappeared. Lovely place to rent for a family or couple, everything clean and well looked after, tastefully decorated, very comfortable beds, warm, well equipped kitchen. If weather good, the beach at Luskentyre (20 minutes drive) is truly world class. The cleanest, most picturesque location I have evert been to in all my world travels. Water chilly of course (kids didn't seem to mind).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Views......
Liked least: Midges..
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful house in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A very well equipped and beautifully refurbished house in an amazing water front setting. The views from every room are breathtaking. Can't wait to go again. Our family of 5 stayed in the main house and one set of our parents in the end house which worked really well with plenty of space for us all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainer W
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing