We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon!”
Review of Blue Reef Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Harris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Reef Cottages
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We spent a week here on our honeymoon in July and it was absolutely perfect!
The cottage is luxurious and cosy with the most amazing views from the large front window. It is tempting to just sit in and watch the spectacular scenery and ever changing lights, alongside the most wonderful sunsets.
The welcome pack with champagne is a lovely touch and was certainly welcome!
The owners were very welcoming and always on hand, without ever being intrusive.
We loved our stay here, alongside exploring Harris and Lewis and also catching the ferry over to Berneray. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clur4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
north wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The best self catering cottage we have ever stayed in and worth every penny! Our 4th visit to Harris- we had previously spotted the Blue Reef cottages and have been determined to try to get a booking (it's fully booked year round!) It was everything we hoped it would be and more. Beautifully warm and cosy yet spacious, tastefully decorated and immaculate. Everything you could possibly want has been thought of by the owners including bikes, golf clubs, We had sunsets, torrential downpours and stunning seascapes to watch from the cleverly designed hobbit house. We were so lucky with the weather allowing us a magical day to visit the islands of St Kilda in glorious sunshine. Everyone should do this if the weather permits- haunting, peaceful and thought provoking.
More lovely cafés popping up around Harris making 'self catering' even easier! ( even had a delicious freshly baked pizza delivered to the door from Temple cafe in Northton- how lazy is that!)
This cottage is in a league of its own. We will return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sail42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here as part of a honeymoon tour of the Western Isles & Skye. Even more luxurious than expected, unusual architecture and a magical location overlooking a horseshoe sandy beach. Everything in the cottage is high specification and the champagne hamper was a memorable touch.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AirmileAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here May 2013 and had the most amazing week. Absolutly gorgeous accommodation in the most perfect setting. Beautiful sunsets most nights and although the weather wasn't the best all week it was so cosy inside. We toured the island and went up to Lewis, but our favourite trip was to the amazing Luskentyre beach, we could of been in the Caribbean! Perfect white sands and the most gorgeous blue sky to top it off! All of this within a short distance fro. Blue Reef. Owners were on hand if you needed them, fantastic service!
Really wish we were coming back again this year but this was really a once in a lifetime stay...maybe an anniversary break in years to come, have to come back here!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 489 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

After spending this New Year in the Coillabus Cottage on Islay (same architect) we gladly remember our stay in the BLUE REEF cottage 2 years ago ... it doesn't come much better in your lifetime! The views are incredible, the cottage is a dream, the hosts are hands-on efficient and helpful ... we'd recommend a stay without hesitation - 100 % !

Room Tip: Take the upper cottage towards Scarista Beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonsieurCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed in August 2013 for one week. Harris is simply stunning and to stay at Blue Reef Cottages just made our trip even better. The location is idyllic and if you like golf there is a golf course right across the road . The cottage has everything you could think of and finishing the day with a sauna and jacuzzi bath just felt decadent. We didn't need anything from Rhoda but knew she was on hand should we need her help. There's no shortage of places to eat within a short drive and you can walk to the small hotel for a set menu meal. We also found a place in the next village that cooks and delivers takeaway food ( we had the best pollock curry ever !). Peace and quiet and luxury…… a perfect combination.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beauly, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Just spent a wonderful 3 nights in one of the beautiful subterranean blue reef cottages. Absolutely unique buildings amazingly sensitively blended into the surrounding landscape. If you are looking for something a bit different where the owners have spent that extra effort to impress their guests, this is that place. The location is equally impressive, the views look straight out across the whitest sandy beaches and the most turquoise seas you will find north of the Mediteranean! Unbelievable. Book! Stay!...and you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIkeChand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Harris
9.5 mi away
Hotel Hebrides
Hotel Hebrides
#2 of 2 in Tarbert
477 reviews
24.6 mi away
Uig Lodge
Uig Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timsgarry
18 reviews
40.6 mi away
Broad Bay House
Broad Bay House
#4 of 58 in Isle of Lewis
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Tigh Na Bruaich
Tigh Na Bruaich
#2 of 3 in Balallan
7 reviews
9.1 mi away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#8 of 11 in Isle of Harris
48 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ceol na Mara Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Reef Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Reef Cottages

Property: Blue Reef Cottages
Address: Scarista | Scarista, HS3 3HX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Isle of Harris
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Reef Cottages is a 5 star, Visit Scotland graded cottage in a world class location on Harris, Outer Hebrides. The cottages are unique in their design in that they are turf roofed, stone walled and built into the hillside. Each cottage has its own Sauna, Jacuzzi and fully equipped office. At Blue Reef cottages we aim to give our guests a world class Hebridean experience in a secluded location overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Reef Cottages Hotel Isle Of Harris
Blue Reef Cottages Isle Of Harris, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing