We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent cottage next to a fabuous beach”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Navigate3...
1 review
“excellent cottage next to a fabuous beach”
Reviewed 19 November 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Susan welcomed us to their well maintained family cottage. It was spacious for our party of 7adults. We will happily return to this location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2017
Thank you for your positive review. Delighted that you enjoyed your break in Harris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M M
1 review
“Machair Cottage”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Very comfortable cottage with private access to beach. Everything we needed for a relaxing and peaceful holiday. Two golden eagles flying over the cottage on our last evening was a magical bonus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Delighted you had a relaxing break. Hope you come back to enjoy the delights that Harris has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location and comfort”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We visited with two friends. The cottage suited us perfectly with well fenced surroundings for our dogs. We particularly liked:
- the coal fired stove which kept the lounge/diner warm and snug and provided copious hot water for good soaks in the bath after days out on the beach or hills.
- Private access to the wonderful beach
- the second lounge for anyone who wanted quiet time.

The location is perfect for exploring the South of Harris and would recommend the walk to the "temple" at Northton and coffee and cakes at the Temple Cafe afterwards.

We also appreciated the welcome and introduction by Susan and Angus and the midweek check to ask if we needed anything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2016
Thank you for your compliments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AamodStac...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best choice in South Harris!”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Susan and Angus warmly welcomed our party of 7 (6 humans, 1 dog!) to Machair Cottage for a week in August. We loved the cottage at first sight- the dog was running around and had made himself at home in no time, chasing rabbits and staring at cows.

The cottage itself is very well presented, with a lovely living room and three decent sized bedrooms. The fire in the living room was a great feature, one that we used despite the balmy summer weather.

The cottage has private access to Scarista Beach, with its beautiful vista of the Bay.

Some practical information to be aware of : I would suggest bringing your own provisions (including food and drink) covering the entire period, as the local shops on Harris are overly expensive.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind comments and complimentary review.
Alas, it is feature of rural life that the cost of living is higher, because of transport costs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jillie463
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We (my husband, son 7, daughter 13, dog & myself) stayed at Machair Cottage for a week and none of us wanted to leave by the end of it! The cottage is beautiful and location couldn't be better. The owners were there to greet us, give us hints and tips about the area, then were there to see us off - they were lovely! We couldnt fault a thing about it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Delighted you enjoyed your holiday. Thank you for positive review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing