We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Isle of Mull Guest House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Craigrowan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craigrowan
Ranked #1 of 3 Pennyghael B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Isle of Mull Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Sue and Reg are among the finest hosts we found anywhere in our two week trip in Scotland. It seemed like we were meeting and staying with old friends in a wonderful spot on the Isle of Mull. They helped us with dinner reservations, recommendations as to what to see and when - even identified a bird or two at their feeders.

They have a great place there and we recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobKelly950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Very, very comfortable place, with a superb breakfast, while the midges are kept away by a judicious use of chiffon....... A double-room for £90, so not the cheapest. Also, it is a good distance from Craignure so factor that in to travel times....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Killee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

From the moment that we arrived, Sue was welcoming and helpful. She made sure that we had everything we needed. The house was beautiful and the views were absolutely stunning. Breakfast was delicious and kept us full way past lunchtime. We were here for a wedding and didn't get to spend very much time in the B&B so we're hoping to make a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bouffant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

An excellent B & B run by Sue,who was really friendly and helpful during our two night stay in September. Craigrowan is a beautiful modern house with stunning views across the loch to Ben More. Guests have the use of two very comfortable and spacious lounges well stocked with books guides and magazines. Also use of a kitchen was very handy for an ad hoc coffee. Breakfasts were quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wales65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

This B and B is a real gem. Its in a stunning location ,its a fantastic house,excellent breakfast. Sue is lovely. We only had one night here on a recent tour of Scotland and wish we had been there for longer.Would most definitely return and highly recommend it to others. Sue kindly booked a table at nearby Pennyghael Hotel for us as we were a little late in arriving ,the meal here was excellent so all in all a memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireWanderer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed for two nights and could happily have stayed a lot longer. A spacious, comfortable modern house in a lovely position looking across Loch Scridain to Ben More, decorated in an attractive plain style and with unusually generous guest lounge space. Sue is friendly and welcoming. On our first night the only nearby eating place turned out to be fully booked. Sue was cooking for other guests who had booked dinner but very kindly sorted out a meal for us vegetarians as well. Excellent breakfasts with plenty of choice too.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roamer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We were warmly welcomed by Sue and Reg, and shown to our very spacious room for two nights. One half of the house is set aside completely for B&B, and it provides two different sitting rooms, a well equipped kitchen, and a comfortable dining room. You are up off the main road, which is important, since this is the well travelled road to Iona, and things are quite quiet. We enjoyed excellent breakfasts and tea, along with very nice conversation with Sue and the other guests. No question that we would return here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baysidetrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pennyghael
18.0 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
14.1 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
18.1 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pennyghael Hotel
Pennyghael Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pennyghael
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
16.8 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dervaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigrowan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigrowan

Property: Craigrowan
Address: Pennyghael PA70 6HB , Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Pennyghael
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pennyghael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated overlooking Ben More, Mull's only Munro, Craigrowan is a modern and idyllically situated four-star B&B offering exceptional service and comfort - perfect for exploring the delights the Isle of Mull has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Craigrowan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigrowan Pennyghael, Isle Of Mull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing