We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great host and a lovely stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waternish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lochbay Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Waternish B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Johnny was a great host, who had us chuckling many times during our three night stay. Great sense of humour and a warm welcome to ourselves and our two retriever dogs who enjoyed their stay in our spacious and immaculate room as much as we did. I agree with a previous comment that the shower was indeed the best we have ever encountered anywhere we have stayed. Breakfasts were excellent with lovely views from the small dining room. Don't worry about locks Johnny, it was home from home for us and we didn't even give it a thought. Thanks for a great stay and give lovely Dude a pat from us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FellwalkersCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of our trip round Skye and the Hebrides and we couldn't have enjoyed our stay more.

Johnny is a fantastic host, from the moment you arrive to the second you leave; he does everything he can to accommodate your needs.

We stayed in the front bedroom and can say that both the room and the bathroom were spotless, the facilities adequate (TV, mirrors, chair, lamps, kettle and drink making facilities) and the view from our window was outstandingly beautiful, looking over Lochbay and Stein. The bed was comfy too!

Johnny cooks a cracking breakfast, he even makes his own scotch pancakes every morning, which was an absolute treat!

We truly felt at home here from the minute we walked through the door, and we will be staying here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angedaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Johnny is a wonderfully helpful host and cooks a good breakfast.

As my partner observed it’s obvious that Johnny runs this nice b&b without a ladies help. I partly agree with Petpop and their observations about lack of wardrobe, stand for suitcase, etc. are correct. The rear rooms only have a view if you peer over the frame of the dormer window, but it’s a great view.

Our biggest worry was that the guest bedrooms had no locks (unbelievable) and that Johnny himself admitted that he never locks the house when he leaves it. I tackled Johnny on this and he is fitting guest room locks, maybe already done.

I find it hard to believe that Skye is completely crime free!

Room Tip: A room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochbaybnb, Owner at Lochbay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Thank you for your review and compliment in the title.
I have taken onboard your "unbelievable" concern and I am getting locks fitted in the very near future in addition to the bolts on the doors to ease the concerns of the few.
I do not know of a crime in my area for quite some years, which is a great advert for people to come here, relax and enjoy the Island in the safety away from the stresses of the city
It is very difficult to try and please all the people all of the time but I won't stop trying.
Hope to see you back someday.
Kind regards
Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Staying at Lochbay was certainly one of the highlights of our first trip to Scotland. We chanced upon Lochbay B&B on Tripadvisor, loved the pictures & reviews, and booked a 2 nights stay right away! It was a lovely drive to Waternish - one can see herds of sheep, highland cattle and sea-birds all set against the dramatic backdrop of blue skies, majestic mountains and glowing shrubs.

Upon arriving, Johnny welcomed us warmly and yes, we were initially taken aback when he didn't give us any key to our room. But hey, who needs a key around Waternish, unless one is afraid that the sheep may be lured in by the fresh smelling towels, the immaculately clean bathroom or the best shower facilities that one can only dream of? Breakfast was hearty and delectable complemented with great views of Lochbay. Johnny is also a great guide to the must-see destinations, can't tell how grateful we were to him for all those introductions (which I will not reveal here, go meet him in person!)

Thanks, Johnny for being an ideal host and we hope to be back soon. And keep up your running schedule!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyK_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We had an excellent stay at Lochbay B&B. The owner, Johnny, made us very welcome and was a brilliant host. The breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. The size of the house is deceiving from the outside/front but it has been extended at the back and our room & bathroom were very spacious. It was immaculate. Perfect, would highly recommend anyone to stay there. Also beautiful views.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We only stayed for one night but we had a very nice experience. Johnny was a very friendly and welcoming host. The rooms were confortable and the en-suite bathroom was convenient. Nice views also! I also appreciated the fact that we could choose our time to have breakfast anytime between 8 and 9am. The only small criticism is that I would have liked to have had a full-sized mirror in the bathroom or bedroom.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Lochbay B&B is set in a quiet, serene part of Skye, just minutes away from Stein Inn - the oldest inn on Skye. We were given a room facing the sea and the view from our second-floor window was simply beautiful.

We had a bathroom to our own and it was spotlessly clean, as was our room. The bed was really comfortable and we had very good rest during our two nights' stay at Lochbay.

The breakfast at Lochbay was one of the highlights of our stay. Johnny makes the best pancakes ever! And we just love his tattie scones. We were also grateful for Johnny's valuable tips every morning on places to visit around Skye.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Lochbay so much that we didn't want to leave at the end of two days!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neyeis144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waternish
15.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,084 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
406 reviews
38.4 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skeabost
469 reviews
15.8 mi away
Beinn Edra House Bed & Breakfast
37.9 mi away
Off the Hill B&B
Off the Hill B&B
#1 of 4 in Sleat
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochbay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochbay Bed and Breakfast

Address: 24 Lochbay, Waternish IV55 8GD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Waternish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Waternish
Price Range: £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a "Scottish" owned and run bed and breakfast situated in the beautiful peninsula of Waternish. Our B&B overlooks the Minch and the Outer Hebrides and is only a ten minute walk from the seafront. The original house was built in 1910 and has just been renovated and extended to a very high standard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lochbay Bed And Breakfast Waternish, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing