We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like Coming Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waternish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lorgill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 7 Waternish B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 June 2013

ok, let's get started.

A few weeks ago Ellen and me - we spend a few days back "home" in Scotland again. This year we had the plan to explore Skye a little bit better than two years ago - and we found something very special - The Lorgill B&B of Madeline, Graham, Bonnie and the Ladies :-)

To be honest - this was the best place I've ever been in my life. What a warm welcome, what stunning views - a coffee out there looking down to Stein and so nice words when we arrived. To us this was the perfect place to stay. The rooms are amazing, a frig is there with fresh milk in it, so many different teas in your room, no "Nescafé", real coffee only, cards of all parts of Skye for free use, books, DVD's - everything you dream of...

The breakfast was amazing, even the toast (if you get it - you know what I mean Madeline?), fresh eggs, perfect coffee. One warm breakfast was enough stuff for a hard working crofter for three days, believe me. And I will never forget those stories and those laughters in the morning - those amazing tipps, those lessons in transporting sheep and do a cinema-evening in Waternish.

Uuups, I forgot somethings - if you love chicken (like I do) and dogs (like I do) - you must visit the Ladies, very friendly chicken sitting on your feet while you have a Black Cuillin in the evening sun in front of the B&B - and you must visit Bonnie - she is the most amazing dog I ever met sitting next to you her head on you knee and watch the mist coming up from the Loch

So, we will return to The Lorgill - promissed. Why? This will feel a little bit like Coming Home...

Thank you Madeline, Graham, Bonnie and The Ladies

Ellen and Dieter

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neunstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

We spent 6 nights at Lorgill and had a wonderful time. Graham was a great host (unfortunately Madeline was away) providing lovely breakfasts .and thought of everything to make our stay a success. The room was spacious and airy with beautiful views over Loch Bay and Stein. Graham gave us excellent advice on walks and drives to do, even providing an ordinance map and guide books for the time we were there. He also suggested a range of places to eat. Bonny, the Border Collie, Percy the seagull and the wandering chooks kept us entertained! A fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A welcoming B and B in a superb out of the way location. Graham and Madeline were wonderful hosts, with great local knowledge and advice on how to get the most from your visit. We had shared experiences from the past and enjoyed our conversations of former times. Very comfortable accommodation and an excellent breakfast completed a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tallinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We had a wonderful 2 night stay with Graham who did very well in Madeline's absence! Wonderful spacious room, excellent shower, and great location away from the hustle and bustle of the Trottenish peninsular. Highly reccomend it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We spent 3 days with Madeline and Graham in May 2012. We arrived as strangers, and parted as friends.
We stayed at Lorgill as part of a 3 month world trip.
Hosts Graham and Madeline are an extraordinary couple who made our stay on Skye the richest experience possible. I can't recommend staying here highly enough.
Great food, comfortable, warm, homely feel - engaging and well informed hosts - Lorgill is the best experience that one could wish for when staying away from home. Every other B&B was a disappointment by comparison.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RodF242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

After a rather long motorcycle ride from Tain, this was a superb nights stay. Madeleine was away and Graham was in charge. He was a superb host and very easy to get on with. As a biker himself he knew the things we need-somewhere safe to leave your bike and a hot drink followed by somewhere to dry wet gear (the latter not needed). We used the loch bay restaurant in Stein which is a short walk away. Graham offered us a lift back if it was raining which is very decent.
Breakfast was a proper Scottish affair inc. tatty scones accompanied with good conversation. What more could you ask for?
Overall, highly recommended, if you can't get a bed then I would go with his recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RShobrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed with Madeline and Graham for one night, having called last minute to find a room following our planned visit to Loch Bay Seafood restaurant. Madeline kindly gave us their last room available, and what a lucky find it was. Very homely, comfortable, and with a delicious breakfast, Madeline and Graham are the perfect hosts. They even provided us with a recommended itinerary for the next day which we followed to the tee - and it was all wonderful! We'll recommend Lorgill to anyone we know that visits Skye.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waternish
15.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,083 reviews
4.7 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
191 reviews
38.4 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Beinn Edra House Bed & Breakfast
7.1 mi away
Brae View B&B
Brae View B&B
#2 of 5 in Glendale
88 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kinloch Follart
Kinloch Follart
#1 of 3 in Dunvegan
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorgill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorgill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 25 Lochbay | Highlands & Islands, Waternish IV55 8GD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Waternish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Waternish
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trafitional croft house on a working croft. Beautiful views acrooss cliffs, lochs and Outer Hebrides. One large en suite with seating area. £85 for one night, £75 for two or more. Breakfasts included. Large twin room with own bathroom £75 for one night and £70 for two or more including breakfasts. Breakfasts at any time. Drying facilities for outdoor activities. Plenty of parking. Easy access to Inn and Seafood Restaurant. All skye activities and sights within two hour car journeys. Many within 30 minuites. Maps, books, advice all available. A big welcome from Madeline & Graham ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lorgill Bed & Breakfast Waternish, Isle Of Skye, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing