We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful and above and beyond our expectations!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Burnside Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stunning Waternish Peninsula
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The stunning Waternish Peninsula
Master bedroom with ensuite bathroom and view towards the Loch
The view from the master bedroom out towards the Loch
Ensuite bathroom
Ensuite bathroom with shower
Burnside cottage in the sun
The stunning view from the twin bedroom
Family bathroom with bath and shower
Kids room - with great views of the sea from the top bunk
The stunning colours of a sunset on Watnernish
The garden in full bloom.
The sea arches just the otherside of Ardmore Bay - a short walk from the house.
The burn or little stream of Burnside Cottage
A perfect day in Waternish
The moorland is just out the back door
Sun going down over the Outer hebrides.
Dolphins in the Minch
Watnerish at dusk
The post box by the front gate - from the days when the cottage was the old post office.
A Seal off Waternish point.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Waternish, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Helen C
1 review
“Delightful and above and beyond our expectations!”
Reviewed 18 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Sadly we only had 3 nights in this delightful cottage full of character! It was very well equipped and had been decorated and modernised to a high standard. The area was beautiful, there was plenty to do and see and the weather was amazing! What more do you want? We will be back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
151rodl
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Cant wait to go back!”
Reviewed 24 May 2018 for a stay in December 2017

I thought Id written this review months ago....Oh well. My wife and I came to Burnside Cottage in December, 2017, and stayed until Jan 2nd. Sarah was extremely helpful with all of my questions, her response time was very quick. It was a long snowy drive from Edinburgh to Isle Of Skye, but we finally got to Portree to stock up. From there, the cottage is a short drive, about 30 minutes or so. Again, the instructions Sarah gave us made it very easy to find. Driving through the village, we were feeling pretty excited, as the scenery is amazing. Stein is a 5 minute slow drive from the cottage, and has a nice Inn, as well as a Michelin stared restaurant, Loch Bay. We went straight to the cottage, and were blown away by the Ocean views, the cleanliness of the cottage, the thoughtful decor....just everything. The fireplace kept us plenty warm and toasty, so we didn't use the heating system very much, as it is also extremely efficient. We will definitely be planning to stay here again, as it is perfectly cozy in the cooler months, our favorite times to spend on Skye.

We walked to Stein a few times, it is about a 40 minute walk or so, very easy though, and very enjoyable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2018
Hi Rod
Nice to hear from you. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Burnside Cottage. I do hope you make it back up to see us on Skye one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobeTrot...
1 review
“A wonderful well-equipped, cosy cottage.”
Reviewed 23 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A beautiful, well-equipped cottage in the heart of the wonderful countryside on the Isle of Skye. We all thoroughly enjoyed our week staying at Burnside Cottage . Jasper, our dog thoroughly liked the various walks we did around the Island and we do thank Sara for all the information on where to go and what to do. The weather was not too bad and we were only forced to have one morning in the Cottage due to heavy rain.Even then the sun came out in the afternoon. Thank you Sara for for providing us with 5* accommodation for a lovely experience on the Ilsle of Skye.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
27daniel2...
Ra'anana, Israel
1 review
“Wonderful, fully equipped cottage for the all family.”
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in October 2016

This is a wonderful fully equipped cottage, with a great view and a lovely garden. Sara loaded us with local information about the island. So even if you make no plans, you will find helpful books and maps of Isle of Skye in the cottage. Next to great music, books, movies and games for the all family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steven b
Se Australia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent well equipped holiday cottage”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Had a lovely 2 week stay at Burnside. The cottage is equipped with everything you could imagine. It's roomy and comfortable. Particularly suitable for families and or a couple of couples.

We had a near endless search for a suitable property - required accommodation for 2 couples and possibly an additional couple so 2 bathrooms were essential - that was affordable and comfortable. Burnside was good value for money and fit the bill perfectly.

The nearby Stein and Loch Bay restaurant are walkable at 4 mikes/7ks round trip but it is an undertaking. We used Alis local taxi service on one occasion and walked on another.

Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing