We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing honeymoon”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Henderson House

This is the wonderful location of Henderson House,in Stein village overlooking LochBay and the Isles
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This is the wonderful location of Henderson House,in Stein village overlooking LochBay and the Isles
The Northern Lights above Henderson House This is our beautiful 18C cottage by the sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This is the wonderful location of Henderson House,in Stein village overlooking LochBay and the Isles
The Northern Lights above Henderson House
This is our beautiful 18C cottage by the sea
Amazing October sunset over Loch Bay
Delightful wood-paneled dining area
Cosy beamed lounge with views to the loch
An open fire in the lounge to keep you warm and snug
Cosy, comfortable wood-beamed lounge
Twin room with views overlooking the loch and garden
Twin bedroom with views over the garden and sea loch
Double room with king size bed
You can see the loch and garden whilst in your king size bed!
views out to the sea from all rooms
staircase up to the bedrooms
The garden which goes backs onto the shore.
View over Loch Bay from the garden
Looking out to the islands and Loch Bay
Waternish is considered to have the most beautiful sunsets on Earth
Sunset over Loch Bay from jetty at bottom of garden
Blue skies and snow in the garden one winter
Snow covered mountains, looking across to Uig from Geary
The view from nearby Loch Dunvegan
The famous Fairy Pools at the foot of the Cuillin are stunning
Across the bay, you will find this stunning Coral Beach
The Cuillin Mountain Range is a world class mountaineering and hiking destination
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Waternish, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Rhian_Pal...
2 reviews
“Amazing honeymoon”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed in Henderson House for our honeymoon, and couldn't have picked a better place. Gorgeous cottage, well equipped, comfortable and v cosy - especially with the fire roaring!

The cottage is in a perfect location, Stein is just stunning, we loved spending evenings having a pint in the Stein Inn just a minute away, or watching the spectacular sunsets from the cottage garden. We enjoyed a delicious meal in the wonderful Loch Bay restaurant next door. We loved taking the dog for a walk on the beach each morning, and walks towards Gillen where we saw golden eagles swooping round and had amazing sunset views of Loch Bay.

The cottage is a great base for exploring the island. Coral beach, Dunvegan Castle, Misty Isle boat trip at Elgol and the Fairy Pools were just some of the highlights, there's so many beautiful places to explore! We also enjoyed the Skye art trail, and bought some unique paintings and pottery from local artists, there are loads of galleries on the island full of absolute gems.

Missing Skye very much, hope to return soon! Thanks for a fantastic stay xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Thrilled you had such a wonderful honeymoon on the Isle of Skye. So sorry to have missed you, a couple of friends said how much they enjoyed meeting you. I hope you will return some time in the future. I hope that you have a very happy life together.
Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarylIsle...
Isle of Skye
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed our stay!”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed in Henderson House for a week at the end of June. Great location within staggering distance of both the oldest pub on Skye and also an excellent restaurant was right next door. Given this location and the time of year we thought it would be noisy but absolutely not - a peaceful spot. The house also has a long garden that abuts the sea front.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lidia G
1 review
“😘”
Reviewed 27 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Lovely House with great view. Clean and cosy. We had really great time there spending our holidays with friends - unforgetable evenings by the fireplace after whole day of exploring the Island. There is also some great restaurant almost next door serving fresh seafood.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful litte part of Skye”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We spent a week at Henderson House. The cottage was very clean and comfortable with all the ammenities to hand and a xcozy open fire for the evenings. There is a delightful little garden to the front of the property wich is situated across the road from the house, The cottage is situtaed right next door the the Loch Bay Restaraut which offres great seafood.. There is also the Stein Inn a few doors away which has a great view from its beer garden.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage in a Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The cottage is one of several small white cottages looking out straight into the loch / seat front. At the end of the row is a nice seafood restaurant and a pub also a small walking distance away (it should be noted the village had a car charging point as well)!

The cottage is very welcoming and Alison visited us on our first day, to make sure all was OK. The kitchen was very well appointed with good clean cutlery, pans etc and we wanted for nothing in terms of equipment (even has a dishwasher that was not human!).

Within the kitchen is small dining area and again this has a round table that would have comfortably sat four people. The hall way is small and tiled floored which is good for when you have been walking with boots on etc.

The lounge had a nice sofa and two other comfortable chairs, along with an open fire, a cabinet packed with books if the weather is not that good, along with several board games. The lounge felt homely. It also had a sky Tv (freeview channels) and a reasonable wifi although good enough for browsing - not for downloading films etc, which we felt was fair enough.

The fuel for the open fire is outside in a big bunker and there was no extra charge. The cottage was also well heated with overnight storage heaters which even without the fire, kept the cottage in all rooms feeling warm and comfortable.

There are 2 bedrooms - a double which was nice and two single rooms with a dresser and wardrobes etc - both have windows onto the front of the street and which allowed us sit in the bedroom and watch out at the loch and watch out for the wildlife.

If you have a boat, there is a jetty I assume you could use as well.

Looking out on the loch from the jetty towards to the sea and towards Waternish Point you can see from the jetty the occasional Porpoise along with several sea birds - including possibly White Tailed Eagles along with Buzzards circling above. If the sun was out, the sun sets are usually very nice as well.

When we arrived there was a pack of instructions left for us, which where easy to follow. You are allowed £50 of electric and you pay for any more. We did not skimp on our power use and we only used about half of the amount, so I would have no concerns about breaching the "free" element.

All in all, the cottage was a good base to explore the islands from and very nice to return to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lornieb20...
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great holiday cottage in beautiful scenery”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My husband and I stayed at Henderson House cottage in Stein for a week's holiday with our two young boys. The cottage is very clean and provides everything needed for a self catering holiday. The garden is very big with lovely plants and bushes facing onto the water near the jetty. It has a fantastic view of all the scenery and is very peaceful. There are also lots of rabbits running around the garden which the children loved. The cottage is also next door to the owner's own seafood restaurant which we had dined in previously which was brilliant too.

The stein inn is only a few doors along and again serves great food if you don't fancy cooking! The owner Alison also provided us with a telephone number of a local fishmonger Donald which was very helpful as we then ordered and had seafood delivered to the door which was great.

We had a brilliant holiday and cant' wait to return again, the owners are very friendly and make a point of introducing themselves which was nice. I would highly recommend a stay here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden & Beach
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DougieLee
Hell-Ville, Antsiranana, Madagascar
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

What a fantastic cottage, couldn't ask for more, catered for all our needs and in a wonderful location. Will be telling friends for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Catered for all our needs
Liked least: Midges but that's west of Scotland for you!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;