We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Falling in love with Skye”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Henderson House

This is the wonderful location of Henderson House,in Stein village overlooking LochBay and the Isles
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This is the wonderful location of Henderson House,in Stein village overlooking LochBay and the Isles
The Northern Lights above Henderson House This is our beautiful 18C cottage by the sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This is the wonderful location of Henderson House,in Stein village overlooking LochBay and the Isles
The Northern Lights above Henderson House
This is our beautiful 18C cottage by the sea
Amazing October sunset over Loch Bay
Delightful wood-paneled dining area
Cosy beamed lounge with views to the loch
An open fire in the lounge to keep you warm and snug
Cosy, comfortable wood-beamed lounge
Twin room with views overlooking the loch and garden
Twin bedroom with views over the garden and sea loch
Double room with king size bed
You can see the loch and garden whilst in your king size bed!
views out to the sea from all rooms
staircase up to the bedrooms
The garden which goes backs onto the shore.
View over Loch Bay from the garden
Looking out to the islands and Loch Bay
Waternish is considered to have the most beautiful sunsets on Earth
Sunset over Loch Bay from jetty at bottom of garden
Blue skies and snow in the garden one winter
Snow covered mountains, looking across to Uig from Geary
The view from nearby Loch Dunvegan
The famous Fairy Pools at the foot of the Cuillin are stunning
Across the bay, you will find this stunning Coral Beach
The Cuillin Mountain Range is a world class mountaineering and hiking destination
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Waternish, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
john s
WORCS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Falling in love with Skye”
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Fabulous well equipped cottage. Great location great pub a few doors down and the Lochbay restaurant next door is wonderful. Hope to return soon. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments. Good to know that you enjoyed your time in Stein. Hope to see you next year. Alison and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonjctu...
Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in many, many holiday cottages over the last 34 years and this is definitely the most perfect!

A beautiful location and a fabulous cottage.

Booking was a breeze and the owners are friendly, helpful and attentive.

If you are looking for a peaceful location then this is the place to book.

Right next door you have a fabulous restaurant, Loch Bay - Book before you arrive in Stein! It's also fabulous!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed our cottage and your time on Skye. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Henderson House some time in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sconebird
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful location. Nearby restaurant and pub. The cottage itself was very cosy and has everything you will need. Would highly recommend this cottage and the location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2017
Thank you so much. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us.
Alison and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage in a spectacular location”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a fantastic stay at Henderson House. The cottage was nicely furnished and has a brand new kitchen which is fully kitted out with all the cook ware and utensils you could ask for. The location is idyllic. Stein is a lovely, quiet row of houses which includes an excellent restaurant (Loch Bay) and a CAMRA-award winning real ale pub (which serves traditional pub food). The cottage also has an excellent garden complete with furniture for outdoor dining. We sat outside most evenings as we had an excellent run of weather. The property is adjacent to a small jetty and has sea views from the bedroom windows. There is also a pebble beach and it is noted as a dark sky observation point. We genuinely didn't want to leave at the end of our stay. There is lots to do in Skye and it is all accessible from this location. Highlights for us included seeing a pair of sea eagles, the dinosaur footprints at Staffin Beach and the various castles, including Dunvegan Castle's excellent gardens. Couldn't recommend enough!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2017
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Henderson House and hope to welcome you back some time in the future.
It was a pleasure to have met you.
Kind regards
Alison and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“The perfect getaway”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The house is lovely and very well equipped and everything is of a high standard from the comfy bed to the kitchen appliances, everything has been well thought out.
Stein is a quiet hamlet set in beautiful surroundings with a local Inn just a few door away.
We had a great week and look forward to returning in the future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhian_Pal...
2 reviews
“Amazing honeymoon”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed in Henderson House for our honeymoon, and couldn't have picked a better place. Gorgeous cottage, well equipped, comfortable and v cosy - especially with the fire roaring!

The cottage is in a perfect location, Stein is just stunning, we loved spending evenings having a pint in the Stein Inn just a minute away, or watching the spectacular sunsets from the cottage garden. We enjoyed a delicious meal in the wonderful Loch Bay restaurant next door. We loved taking the dog for a walk on the beach each morning, and walks towards Gillen where we saw golden eagles swooping round and had amazing sunset views of Loch Bay.

The cottage is a great base for exploring the island. Coral beach, Dunvegan Castle, Misty Isle boat trip at Elgol and the Fairy Pools were just some of the highlights, there's so many beautiful places to explore! We also enjoyed the Skye art trail, and bought some unique paintings and pottery from local artists, there are loads of galleries on the island full of absolute gems.

Missing Skye very much, hope to return soon! Thanks for a fantastic stay xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Thrilled you had such a wonderful honeymoon on the Isle of Skye. So sorry to have missed you, a couple of friends said how much they enjoyed meeting you. I hope you will return some time in the future. I hope that you have a very happy life together.
Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarylIsle...
Isle of Skye
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed our stay!”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed in Henderson House for a week at the end of June. Great location within staggering distance of both the oldest pub on Skye and also an excellent restaurant was right next door. Given this location and the time of year we thought it would be noisy but absolutely not - a peaceful spot. The house also has a long garden that abuts the sea front.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing