We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise found.”
other travellers have booked this property
Telegraph Travel named this exact site as having the best sunset on Earth.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Telegraph Travel named this exact site as having the best sunset on Earth.
the views from every room in the house are... quite breathtaking sunset view from the deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Telegraph Travel named this exact site as having the best sunset on Earth.
the views from every room in the house are... quite breathtaking
sunset view from the deck
the kitchen dining space is perfectly designed with social inclusion of the chef(s) in mind
2nd double room looking west and north to the Hebrides from the comfort of your bed
window to the Hebrides
The decking at the front is 54m2, plenty space to play and quaff a sunset prosecco!
set your solar wind forecast and get outside to watch the Aurora Borealis or Northern Light show
the master bedroom has direct access to the outdoor deck & a cool pop-out window for chillin/readin
hallway adorned with naval charts
the infamous Waternish sunset
master bedroom
the outside deck looking in
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Waternish, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Louise H
1 review
“Paradise found.”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was an amazing find fantastic modern let wonderfully furnished and equipped . The setting was stunning We enjoyed May sunshine and lovely sunsets. Perfect .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
Glad you got some nice sunsets. Good luck and See you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IainAllin...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A luxurious Highland gettaway”
Reviewed 14 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Saltwinds in April with a few friends and was blown away by the quality of the accommodation. Being almost newly built (and it showed) it was a joy to stay there and enjoy the surroundings in absolute comfort while, for some of our stay, a storm blew across Skye.

The woodburner and film selection made sure that we got the most out of that day and watching the weather come in off the Atlantic from the huge windows in the living room was an experience in itself.

We used all three rooms and each one had it's own views and charm. Definitely no 'bad one' in this house. Would highly recommend to others.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
We never thought all three rooms would turn out so well and glad you liked them too. We agree the storms are fascinating to watch coming in from the Atlantic, and give a good excuse to relax and enjoy the house. Take care
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Amazing!”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just had a break with another couple at the property and from start to finish it was fantastic.

The property was so new and modern with all the little touches to make the stay perfect for every eventuality. We unfortunately didn't have the best weather to enjoy the spectacular views from the floor to ceiling Windows, but we had fun watching films (provided by the owner) whilst enjoying the lovely wood burner!

We would recommend this property to anyone and will certainly be doing so!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
Thanks so much mark. It was a pleasure to host you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
08neena80
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning property & beautiful location”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Waternish is known for its sunsets, and on the day we arrived we had the most wonderful sunset. The views from this property are amazing! The property is exactly as described and the photos are spot on.
With a 30 min drive from Portree, and Sligachan, it's not too isolated, but you have privacy and lots of peace & quiet.
Very modern but homely decor, the owners have really thought of everything and you are left wanting nothing. We were so comfortable here, I can't praise this place enough!
When we got there we were greeted with a lovely note; and they had even provided milk & fresh eggs :) All the staples are provided like tea, coffee (amazing coffee!), salt, pepper & a pantry of basics.
The only negative was the rain, we had plenty of rain, but hey we're in Skye and they need the rain to make great Whiskey so can't complain too much :)
Can't wait to return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: accommodation & location
Liked least: weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2016
We are so happy you enjoyed our home so much. Please come again soon, the weather on Skye for the past ten days has been the hottest in the UK!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dressedin...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You'd be a fool to pass this place up!”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

If you're heading to the Isle of Skye for a long weekend or more, and like places that are low-key, off the beaten track, and inviting in all aspects, I'd hands down recommend staying here.

The owners of this majestical piece of architecture have managed to compose an adorning timbre that they can call their own; with a surplus being, that it's open to guests.
The house proposes to the modern drift following a trend that coincides with alluring comfort and sustainable materials that descend into their own ethos, leading to prevailing design. The ceiling to floor windows focus on accentuating light, allowing you to see a view that has its own whimsical personality. You'll see a sunset like you've never seen before.

The leather L shaped sofa is ideal for snuggling up on, with a glass of red wine and a film to watch from their vast collection, that is pleasing to all tastes. There's delicacy and candour in every form throughout the house that is encompassed by the hospitable aurora that you'll feel here. A room should never allow the eye to settle in one place, and at this house the cosy animal skins, rustic furniture, magnificent telescopes, cork ceiling lampshades don't let it but they all eloquently combine the compelling design licks that we all feel happy to be around. The lighting will make you weak at the knees from the tantalising caress of the dimmer switch option.

In addition and in regards to that rendering ache that we all have for an unruffled sleep, the beds have linen sheets and a mattress topper from none other than Soak & Sleep, which will give you that undeniable reminder that you'll have a good night's sleep. Each bedroom, has a view of the water and an impeccable yet simple en suite.

Staying here will give you more of a grasp as to why people that live in the Isle of Skye say; 'We just fell in love with this place, and never left.'

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2016
WoW! Thank you so much! That is literally a literary work of art! We are overjoyed that you loved the place so much and it means a lot to us that you took the time to express that so eloquently. You are most welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinWan...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I was fortunate enough to spend sometime in this property last Christmas, I think I was one of the first to stay there in fact. Everything the blurb says and more is true, the house lies in splendid isolation (but conveniently close to good, wholesome food and drink!). The bedrooms are generously proportioned, the ensuite in each is a great call given the requirement for simultaneous showers following a day in the hills or on the water. The massive entertaining spaces inside and out are truly communal, when a quiet moment is found the views down to Lochbay and Stein and the out towards the Western Isles are awe inspiring. I am counting the days until I can return again. 10/10

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamR28
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant house in a stunning location”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Skye is by far my favourite place in Scotland, and I have found my favourite place to stay when I visit the island! This house is fantastic. Only a 50 minute drive from Broadford and 30 minutes from Portree; it's not remote but does have a 'middle of nowhere' feel to it that I love. It's a homely and super comfortable base for hikers, and would be ideal for a family holiday.

The tastefully decorated house overlooks the small hamlet of Stein that has a cracking pub and one of the best restaurants in Scotland - Loch Bay - that is roumoured to have a very special chef taking the reigns this summer! Will definitely be staying again...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful house in a magical location
Liked least: Weather didn't play ball!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing