We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful views”
Review of The Gwbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gwbert Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“beautiful views”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

the Flat Rock at The Gwbert Hotel is lovely , views across the bay are beautiful, service is quick and then food good. Lots of dishes source local produce too and the seafood is always a treat. We are regulars and love it .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinkswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    152
    35
    7
    2
See reviews for
77
231
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

I made the mistake of writing the previous review whilst mildly intoxicated and not able to sleep. A more accurate review would encompass all of the positives and, whilst acknowledging it can be s bit noisy from the bar, point out this is only in a couple of rooms. After all we have stayed here several times and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcmywords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We made a last minute booking via Late Rooms and were absolutely delighted we did. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and were lucky to be one of the first guests to stay in the new extension to the hotel. The rooms were contemporary and attractively decorated, with fantastic sea views. The location is beautiful and we were fortunate with the weather to be able to enjoy a drink al fresco on the decked terrace. We dined in the hotel on each of our 3 nights and the food was very tasty, with generous portions and reasonable prices. Our two children (5 & 8) were happy with the variety on offer for them and I agree with the other reviews regarding the sweet potato chips - think that they were in a light batter and best I've ever had. Service at all times was friendly & attentive and it's clearly a popular place to dine in the local area. Breakfast had a great choice and was relaxed and an enjoyable way to start the day. We tried out the jacuzzi and gym which is well worth doing during a stay at the Gwbert. There are several sofas and lounge areas to relax in and the pool table and computer provided some evening entertainment. The location is great with many interesting places to visit in the area, including Melin Tregwynt woollen mill, the Cathedral at St Davids, lovely sandy beach Poppet Sands, the nearby town of Cardigan and of course the coastal walks that are just on your doorstep at the Gwbert. Special thanks to Wells, Sam, Jem and the numerous ladies that looked after us during our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for the team and we can't wait to return. I would sum up our stay as a perfect home from home, with a warm, welcoming & friendly atmosphere, beautiful views & location, great food & service and would recommend to anyone. The Gwbert Hotel is a hidden gem!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 21 & 22, both newly refurbished with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilasMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We dined here last night, and I must say what a fantastic evening we had. The restaurant looks a little shabby from outside, but is well set out inside. The menu is simple, but is great quality, tasty homemade food at a great price. You must try the sweet potato chips, which are AMAZING!

Service was very attentive and we were given a window table as requested. This place is suitable for all types of groups. Eat here if you are staying at the Cliff?!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ap_0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I normally stay in the samey budget chains when travelling for work but due to location I was 'forced' off the beaten track and booked into the Gwbert hotel. The previous reviews seemed to suggest this was something special and I was looking forward to my stay but I have to say I was a little disappointed. The room itself was reasonably comfortable but the main lights didn't work and the only window looked out over the car park. Not a major issue until I realised that not only could I see out but other people could see in so spent the rest of my stay with the curtains closed.

The service was a little hit and miss. I was left standing at reception for 10 minutes with no way of alerting people that I had arrived. I was then left waiting in the bar to be seated for dinner for over 30 minutes when others were being seated. It was pretty obvious from the conversations of the staff when they did decide to seat me that I'd been forgotten about.

All in all, not bad, but not really worth the hype.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevie8abes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Have spent six months here in aberporth and loving the people and place. I have spent 95% of the time in same hotel and never had a bad meal. The fillet steak is wonderful And staff are friendly and helpful .
Got to try the sweet potato chips .

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Protographics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2012

In the last few months I've had the pleasure of staying at the Gwbert.
The flat rock resturant menu is very varied home cooked food with one of the best fillet steaks in the area
The rooms are clean and modern with free wifi
The staff are all friendly and couldn't do more to make you feel welcome
Good views, food and friendly bar what more could you ask for

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardigan
0.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
783 reviews
10.7 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
552 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
1.2 mi away
Webley Waterfront Inn and Hotel
2.8 mi away
Cardigan Castle
Cardigan Castle
#1 of 14 in Cardigan
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwbert Hotel

Property: The Gwbert Hotel
Address: Gwbert on Sea, Cardigan SA43 1PP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gwbert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in The Gwbert Hotel the hotel stands on the banks of the River Teifi at the estuary at Gwbert-on-Sea - renowned for its salmon and sewin - it is one of the finest hotels in the locality. The hotel offers high standards of accommodation with lift to most floors. We also have four self-catering holiday homes on the hotels grounds. The tastefully decorated bistro (Flat Rock) with its panoramic views of the Pembrokeshire National Park offers an extensive menu. with dishes to everyone's tastes. A romantic weekend at the ‘Domain of the Dolphin’ is a must for all couples who wish to have a "get away from it all" weekend break. So don’t settle for anything less. Call us today and see what a difference a little attention makes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Gwbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwbert Hotel Cardigan
The Gwbert Hotel Cardigan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing