We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and pleasant”
Review of The Gwbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gwbert Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Certificate of Excellence
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean and pleasant”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Nice welcoming hotel. Basic but tidy. Breakfast was nice, and a decent wifi signal in the room. Stairs are a bit tricky with cases, there were lots of stairs. Sea view from some rooms. Nice area just outside Cardigan, great for business users

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 612AmyD612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honeylou_9, Owner at The Gwbert Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I am unsure of the room you stayed in but we are in the process of refurbishing all our bedrooms. We have 5 to go and hope that it is one of these rooms that you are referring to as basic. Through this response I would just like to clarify to the future guests that there is also a lift in the hotel or if asked, any member of staff will be happy to assist with bags. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.

Many Thanks

Wells Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    147
    33
    7
    2
See reviews for
76
223
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights from Boxing Day on a KGB deal and had a great time. We paid an extra £40 to upgrade to a suite and we were very pleased with the room. It was huge with a bath in the room, lovely comfortable sofa in front of the tv, king size bed, nice sized bathroom with a very hot and powerful shower and, best of all, a bay window where you could sit for hours just looking at the spectacular view.

On arrival our room wasn't quite ready so we sat in the lovely cosy bar with a drink and watched the rugby with the other guests. If you want to get away from the tv however, there is a conservatory where you can sit in peace and quiet, they seem to have thought of everything!

We had a 2 course meal included on the first night and we were very impressed by the food. More 'posh pub grub' than restaurant but the food was superb with very generous portions and the waiting staff were more friendly and polite than staff in more expensive places. The restaurant is very popular with locals so even on a deal it's wise to book in at reception. The food was so good we ate there agAin on the second night. Only regret was that we didn't try dessert but, to be honest, we couldn't fit anything else in!

The breakfasts are also very good with full English on offer or any combination of that. My poached eggs were the best I've ever had!

The hotel is in a stunning part of the world, ideal for doing lots of walking. We spent one morning walking to and from Mwnt, a 7 mile round trip and well worth it. The views of Cardigan Island on the way are magnificent and Mwnt is a beautiful, dramatic place with a gorgeous beach. We spent the afternoon wandering around Cardigan, just a 10 minute drive away.

I would definitely return to The Gwbert, it ticked all the right boxes for me, brilliant accommodation, gorgeous food, attentive and friendly staff and a wonderful location. I have recommended the hotel to lots of people, it's fantastic!

Room Tip: Worth paying an extra £20 per night for a suite, the rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paula121065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My wife & I (& Elvis the springer spaniel) had a two night stay at the Gwbert Hotel & found it to be excellent in every way. The staff were friendly, the food was delicious & it's set in a beautiful location. We upgraded to a sea view room (no 3) & could have spent hours just looking out the window hoping to see the dolphins in the bay. The en suite was large with a very powerful power shower & a nice deep bath.
Overall a very enjoyable stay & happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viscountsvengali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Just had 2 nights here on a deal with KGB deals. 2 nights bed and breakfast, and 1 dinner.
We stayed in room 20. It's such a beautiful room. You pay a little extra for the use of, but it's worth it. Very elegantly and romantically furnished. The shower in the bathroom! I have never seen anything like it. Water jets all over the place. The bath is in the bedroom......yep, that's right, in the bedroom. The best bit is the view. The weather was dreadful on our first day. But we were happy just watching the view from the window.
The bed is large and very comfortable.
You're made to feel very welcome, and it quickly feels like home from home.

On the first night we had our inclusive evening meal. We have eaten here before, so we knew we were in for a treat. The menu is fairly large and varied. I had prawn cocktail to start, my hubby had garlic mushrooms, both were lovely, but I wasn't too keen on Apple in my prawn cocktail. I had lamb stew and dumplings, served with potatoes and 3 different vegetables. My husband had chicken Thai curry. Both were really really superb. Then we both had raspberry and white chocolate roulade. We could hardly walk when we'd finished!
The breakfasts were wonderful. Not just your usual full English.
If you're thinking of going here, go. You won't be disappointed. It's a fabulous part of the world with glorious scenery. Loads of great walks, dog friendly beautiful beaches. Even dolphins nearby.
We loved it, and will go back.

Room Tip: As said before room 20 is fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red2945dogfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Had a kgb deal which was vey good value. Not sure I would want to pay full price for the rooms. Had a room with sea view which was comfortably furnished. En suite was fine with the only down side being the toilet which was far too near the shower cubicle. Food was very good and generous portions. Service was efficient and staff pleasant. At breakfast the one waitress on duty the first morning had her work cut out taking orders, filling up juices etc and serving especially when there was an influx of guests. Agree with another reviewer that hotel is a bit of a warren so we took the lift as we knew our room was nearby! Room was chilly on arrival but heating put on when we asked.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaysforus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was a KGB deal. Our room was basic and small, with a view over the car park (noisy when customers depart). fried food odours from the kitchen had impregnated the room and toilet - very unpleasant. Room nicely furnished as was the bathroom. If you like your room hot then the heating will suit you, we had to open the window! Basic gym; needs updating, great large jacuzi. The restaurant was great, good menu choice and a fair limit of £15 on the starter and main. Food excellent with generous portions. Great view from this restaurant of the bay. Staff/service very good. Breakfast generous, speedy and freshly cooked. Good location for coastal walks from mwnt and new quay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over car park and kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robcat101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Husband noticed a winter break on offer in our local paper i.e. the gwbert. Phoned on the Thursday and were on our way on Friday. What a fantastic short break after a hectic xmas and new year it was just the kind of break needed after such a busy time. Everything was catered for,even the sea view which we had not expected, the room,food,staff and even the weather (spectacular storms).When we got to the room it was a bit chilly but within 10 minutes of phoning down the heating was on and the same when we asked for an extra blanket it was up in our room in under 5 minutes.Well done and would highly recommend the Gwbert and even if you cannot stay there just have a meal well worth the money.Da iawn a phob lwc i chi yn y Gwbert,da iawn

Room Tip: won't say or everyone will want the room we stayed in but upgrade to a sea view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nesta h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardigan
0.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
10.7 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
2.8 mi away
Cardigan Castle
Cardigan Castle
#6 of 14 in Cardigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ty-Parc Guest House B&B
Ty-Parc Guest House B&B
#3 of 16 in Cardigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwbert Hotel

Property: The Gwbert Hotel
Address: Gwbert on Sea, Cardigan SA43 1PP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gwbert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in The Gwbert Hotel the hotel stands on the banks of the River Teifi at the estuary at Gwbert-on-Sea - renowned for its salmon and sewin - it is one of the finest hotels in the locality. The hotel offers high standards of accommodation with lift to most floors. We also have four self-catering holiday homes on the hotels grounds. The tastefully decorated bistro (Flat Rock) with its panoramic views of the Pembrokeshire National Park offers an extensive menu. with dishes to everyone's tastes. A romantic weekend at the ‘Domain of the Dolphin’ is a must for all couples who wish to have a "get away from it all" weekend break. So don’t settle for anything less. Call us today and see what a difference a little attention makes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Gwbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwbert Hotel Cardigan
The Gwbert Hotel Cardigan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing