We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic views”
Review of The Gwbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gwbert Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

we stayed at The Gwbert Hotel for 9 night in room 11 - what fantastic views over cardigan bay. The room was clean and tidy and had the best views that you could ask for - you could have been any where in the world. The food in the flat rock bistro was very good and you certainly got plenty for your money. The staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I only wish we could have stayed longer. Will be going back there again.

Room Tip: if you want a fantastic view then ask for room 11. You will not want to leave
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We recently came back from our second stay at The Gwbert. The location is wonderful with stunning views across Cardigan Bay. Our room was fine except that there was no soap in the dispenser and there was a loose tile on the bathroom floor. There were no glasses in the room for water which we had to go down to the bar to ask them for.
The room itself was of a good standard but had a curious sloping floor towards the door and bathroom!
Food was not so good in the restaurant or the bar - unimaginative and the quality rather poor but the breakfast was really good. Also, the staff in the bar looked rather unhappy and did not seem to smile very much at all!
We love west Wales and will stay here again if in the area but it would be great if the hotel could address these small problems as it would be a great improvement.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsTalkTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated approximately 3 miles along the coast from the town of Cardigan. Stayed here for 1 night with my wife , check in was straight forward. We were allocated room 21 which is situated at the front of the hotel on the top floor, wow the views are amazing open sea to the right and views of the bay to the left.The room was spacious and had everything you would need for a short break.Tea/coffee making facilities were plentiful. The bathroom was very good separate bath and power shower with extra jets,soap/ shampoo provided along with plenty of towels so no need to bring your own. The bed was very comfortable with extra pillows if needed. No need to bring clothes hangers plenty provided in the wardrobe.Breakfast the next morning was excellent, you are allocated a table with your room number on it so no mad dash to try and find a table, there was cereals/ yoghurts and fruit then followed by a full breakfast very tasty and plentiful. Overall a lovely hotel I would recommend and will definitely return.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Peteandgwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here on a 3 night break with my husband, son and dog. Brilliant place to stay and it's great to find a hotel where you can stay in a suite and take the dog, hotel lovely and clean, views are spectacular and the food is fabulous, cannot fault it. The staff were brilliant, thank you.

Room Tip: You have to lay for the sea view, you will not be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_bridgend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Recommended to stay for a friend's wedding, from a list if three or four. Website made it look promising, but on reflection there were no images of the exterior. So we duly arrived, having been impressed by the road in and it's views, but our hearts sank as we pulled into the car park of the hotel. It looked run down, un-cared for and the exterior colour of burgundy is definitely not in keeping.
However, inside things are a lot better and we were relieved that our room was above average, although even here the attention to detail was lacking, empty bathroom soap dispensers, no complimentary toiletries, no bath robes and brand new towels that had not been pre washed and just covered everything in white fluff.

We paid £100 per night for the room and breakfast, admittedly with a great view, but the quality of service was below what you should reasonably expect.

Flat Rock Restaurant in the hotel was great. See separate review

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra go for the see view, we were in room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alistair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed in one of the rental cottages behind the hotel...... it was lovely.
Big enough for 3 families that went due to its 6 double bedrooms spread over 3 floors.
The main living area was on the first floor - big open planned kitchen dinning room, plus a separate lounge with large screen TV. Views over the sea highlighted why the living space was on this floor
Access to the rear garden was via one of the ground floor bedrooms.

Cottage was well maintained and a lovely place to stay, everything you need was there, loads of pots, pans and items in the kitchen.

Gwbert Hotel is opposite and the food in the restaurant is lovely.
There is a Golf Course a short walk from the house.
Ideal cottage to relax and enjoy the local area.

Room Tip: The main living area was on the first floor - big open planned kitchen dinning room, plus a separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Recently had a meal at the Flat Rock Bistro, there were 16 of us eating, the food was lovely and very tasty. Everyone enjoyed and had no complaints, all plates were cleared even the sides. Staff were very attentive asking if we were ok and had enough chips, salad and veg. I love eating at the Flat Rock and often choose to eat there with family and friends, very reasonably priced food and drinks. Thoroughly enjoyed myself.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HFEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardigan
0.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
870 reviews
10.7 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
574 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 2 in Tresaith
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cardigan Castle
Cardigan Castle
#1 of 15 in Cardigan
27 reviews
2.6 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
2.9 mi away
Coed y Bryn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwbert Hotel

Address: Gwbert on Sea, Cardigan SA43 1PP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Price Range: £83 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gwbert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in The Gwbert Hotel the hotel stands on the banks of the River Teifi at the estuary at Gwbert-on-Sea - renowned for its salmon and sewin - it is one of the finest hotels in the locality. The hotel offers high standards of accommodation with lift to most floors. We also have four self-catering holiday homes on the hotels grounds. The tastefully decorated bistro (Flat Rock) with its panoramic views of the Pembrokeshire National Park offers an extensive menu. with dishes to everyone's tastes. A romantic weekend at the ‘Domain of the Dolphin’ is a must for all couples who wish to have a "get away from it all" weekend break. So don’t settle for anything less. Call us today and see what a difference a little attention makes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Gwbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwbert Hotel Cardigan
The Gwbert Hotel Cardigan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing