We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bloody brilliant”
Review of Fforest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardigan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fforest Camp
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bloody brilliant”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

absolutely inspirational stay at Fforest last weekend. amazing architecture, cosy accomodation, lovely food and local beer in their own pub!. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank greg b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    14
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The cabins were homely and modern, the underfloor heating made the rooms toasty, and cooking outside on the stoves felt elemental. had an incredible time, luxury adventure.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FinnThomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Just returned from a week in a dome at Manorafon, a really good relaxing family holiday. Put simply the site, facilities and staff all delivered exactly what the website promised - full marks. Plenty of room in the dome for a family of 5, loved the log stove which just kept the usual camping damp at bay, and a well sorted outside camping kitchen on the deck. I too thought the cost of the activites was expensive before I arrived, however actually the quality of the experience (coasterring) made me actually think what good value it was. Well located just an easy walk to the beach. My only suggestion would be to have a bar a couple of nights a week. Much enjoyed, we will be back.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CotswoldsWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed for four nights in a dome and had a fabulous time - no doubt helped by the fact that we had good weather in late August. It was great to see so many stars at night without all the light pollution of a city.

The bed was very comfortable and the dome felt very spacious. The wood burning stove was easy to use and heated up the dome very quickly. You're supplied with a good amount of kindling, paper and sawdust briquettes to get you going but extras are available at £5 for a big bag.

The outdoor kitchen is excellent with an easy to use two hob stove, plenty of saucepans, cutlery and crockery and a supply of tea, coffee and sugar.

There's also a good deck area and comfy wooden seats to sit and relax.

The toilet and shower block is clean with 'proper' toilets and hot showers.

Breakfast is from 8 till 10 with plenty of granola/muesli, toast, jams, juices, tea and coffee.

Do bear in mind that unless you're staying in the crog lofts, you have to leave your car in the car park at the bottom of a small hill and wheel your luggage up in a trolley. I'm glad cars aren't allowed on site (it's a shame that they make an exception for the crog lofts) but it may help you focus on what you bring!

Some suggestions:
If you don't want to do camp cooking every night we'd recommend the new restaurant 'The 25 Mile' and the Indian 'Shampan' both in Cardigan. Fforest's own cafe in Cardigan is also good for lunch.
If you want to explore further we loved dolphin spotting at New Quay and the unspoilt beaches of Poppit Sands, Aberporth and Mwnt.

Room Tip: We'd recommend the Dome for extra comfort plus you don't need to bring your own bedding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank semi-detached
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed for a week from 20th August in one of the 4 crog lofts and this was simply one of the best family holidays we have had. A friend recommended it to us and we are so glad they did. At more than £120 per night this is definitely not camping, but the accomodation is superb and you get all the benefits of an outdoor type holiday without the canvas. The crog lofts are are row of 4 solid, stone buildings with under floor heating and double glazing.

Ours had bunks for the kids and a futon type double in the mezannine area for us two. Lovely indoor toilet and luxury shower room. Very, very comfortable. Outdoor cooking and eating area, with 2 gas rings and small portable bbq, all covered. We cooked about 4 or 5 meals there all week and it was fine. There is a decent sized cool box that you have to refill with ice packs daily, bit of a faff but not too bad.

Just outside there is a lovely field and climbing tree, and nearby a tree swing that the kids loved. All our neighbours were lovely and we had a great time. The lofts are arranged well so that you have privacy and social options.

Breakfast is included, at the lodge. We bought some extra cereal for the kids as they only had granola and muesli but the kids also loved the juices, toast and jams and hard boiled eggs. If you want a cooked breakfast you can always cook it yourself but we didnt bother, the communal breakfast (with our extras) was a good chance to share plans for the day with our neighbours.

We attended a meal night once which was ok, our kids are a bit fussy and as there is no choice of menu it was a bit limiting but again very sociable.

The activities on offer were on the whole excellent, if a bit expensive. Perhaps they can consider doing a package? At £35 per person for most activities, the cost can soon seriously mount up, we ended up spending about £400 on activities which was a bit much. Coasteering was fantastic, bushcraft less so, although the kids enjoyed it. Tip - just pay for the kids and tag along, I paid and ended up supervising mine most of the time with the axes etc. anyway. Tree climbing for kids was excellent, and John provides tea, coffee and chocolate brownies for the adults too. Great to watch.

All in all we had an excellent famiy holiday, and our kids wanted us to book straight away for next year. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Crog lofts are great, not camping but perfect if you prefer more creature comforts. Can't commen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cloverleafers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My extended family spent a week in Fforest to celebrate a birthday. We were a group of 17 people ranging in age from 6 months to 66 years and I can honestly say everyone loved it. The staff are so helpful and friendly - nothing is a problem, the dome tents are huge and easily accommodated my husband and I and our 4 kids aged 20, 15, 3 and 6 months (baby in bed with us - toddler in travel cot) and the beds and beanbags provided are really comfy. the wood burning stove in the tent kept us really cosy and the fantastically equipped kitchen was great - I perticularly liked the fact that the cooking went on in a separate area and therefore no cooking smells in the tent - it also meant we could leave the beds made up all day and didn't have to clear it away. My parents stayed in a crog loft which was lovely too -
Breakfasts were hearty and delicious and we ate there on two nights of the week and the food was excellent.
The only slight gripe I have is the cost of the activities - at £35 a head for Kayaking etc I though it a bit expensive
Overall an fabulous experience and we will definately be back

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keepongoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We've actually stayed here before. However, the first time we missed a touch of the real Fforest experience and stayed in the super luxurious crog lofts. This most recent time we spent a week in the domes (split between the Fforest and Manorafan sites).

To call Fforest 'glamping' or glamorous camping is to do it a disservice. It's probably better to think of it as an outdoors hotel. From the Welsh blankets and wood burning stoves through to the shower block that would shame most health clubs* and the super nice breakfasts, Fforest is a fantastic place.

The rugged luxury is exemplified in the staff and the likeminded souls who stay there. I dare you to stay for a weekend or midweek and not make a friend in the on site pub or be tempted to go for a dip in the Teifi.

We left a bit of our hearts there and we will be back fo sho.

G&Bx

* I don't actually belong to a health club.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank evilgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardigan
4.7 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
763 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hammet House
Hammet House
#1 of 5 in Llechryd
465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Black Lion Cardigan
Black Lion Cardigan
#14 of 16 in Cardigan
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Coed y Bryn Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Cardigan Castle
Cardigan Castle
#3 of 14 in Cardigan
20 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bethsaida B&B
Bethsaida B&B
#2 of 5 in St. Dogmaels
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fforest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fforest Camp

Property: Fforest Camp
Address: Fforest Farm Cwmplysgog | Cilgerran, Cardigan SA43 2TB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Cardigan
Hotel Class:5 star — Fforest Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at fforest is an experience more like staying in a hotel than a tent,a hotel with woodland corridors and canvas rooms.No TV, no mini bar, no trouser press:Sleeping, living and eating under canvas. With beauty, birdsong and cold-at-night. We offer a selection of accommodation types from traditional tunnel tents to Scandinavian Katas and geodesic domes. NEW for 2013 we have the fforest campshack - two bell tents with a communal living and dining area, complete with woodburning stove. Ideal for larger groups or two families to share, the campshack sleeps up to 8. If you don't do canvas then we also offer 4 crog lofts - boutique split level living in a converted farm building. Our accommodation has featured on BBC and S4C and in a national Visit Wales TV & cinema ad campaign. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fforest Camp Hotel Cardigan
Fforest Camp Cardigan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing