We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome”
Review of The Highbury

The Highbury
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Highbury
Ranked #8 of 18 Cardigan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed with my husband and a group of friends, so between us we took up 5 rooms in this B&B. We had a lovely warm welcome from the owners and were shown to a clean, bright room - much more modern than I had been expecting from photographs of the outside of the place.

Our room (no. 2) was clean and comfortable, although the bathroom was a bit tired. It had a comfortable bed and a reasonably powerful shower - these are the things that matter to us the most.

The B&B is situated at one end of the main street, so perfect if you want to do a bit of shopping in Cardigan.

Parking is a bit tight - there are only 4 spaces.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are at the top - three flights of stairs! Two girlfriends shared a twin - no.7 - and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shingleberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2012

No reception desk which i found a bit strange but warm greeting all the same. No lift which made carrying the bags up and down stairs (room was on top floor) a bit difficult but did have some help with this which was appreciated.

The room was lovely and very clean, had a good selection of teas and coffees and a very comfy bed! Only criticism of the room was that the shower wasnt very powerful but that was only minor issue in an otherwise very pleasant room.

The breakfast was particularly good, not greasy at all and a very generous portion, was most impressed with this.

Will defnitley visit the Highbury again when i am in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Not a very welcoming b&b,and the room was very out dated, the on suite was really quite dirty, the bin had not been emptied from the previous occupant and contained "used sanitary towels” the only person who spoke to us was the cleaner/chef needless to say I would not recommend this establishment and will not be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed here when attending the food festival in Cardigan. Found the room to have everything you needed - shower was good and everything was exceptionally clean. Breakfast in the morning was good and location close to town centre. Limited parking is the only downside.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meinir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We were booked into this guesthouse for 2 nights before heading downtown.

room was located on the highest floor, therefore to drag our heavy luggage up the stairs was a pain. but manageable. the inn had a rather English homely feel to it. and the best part was that there was a book rack between the levels that offers diff storybooks that one can borrow to read and relax.

the inn is located rather close to town and walking within 5 mins will get u there in no time. it was chilly during the summer, thus bumping into cafes to get a cup of hot chocolate does me nothing, but warmth and comfort. H&M just down the street has some rather awesome offers for gals' shopping and for the guys, u could just hit the pubs and get some beer and watch the Eurocup!

breakfast was warmly served and literally prepared fresh when u arrived into the restaurant, eggs done accordingly to how u wished for it. =P

1 downpoint would be the water pressure and temperature in the shower, it was fluctuation thruout my showers, but comforted by snuggling into the warmth of the bed.

thank u for making it a home away from home trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoriatravel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2008

We had a family room "There is an ensuite shared between the rooms" (it wasn't! It was shared BY the rooms. there is a differenced!) but we did have a sofa to watch TV from!

Last thing at night the plumbing started making about an 80 decibel noise after brushing teeth! Amusing (not), but it subsided after 10 minutes, even though water was not running. Turning the tap on stopped it!

Using the loo at 6am was great for noise, too. After the flush the water screamed for about an hour!.

Even so the bed was comfy. The parking was in the College Car Park, just up the road, reasonably convenient.

The Highbury can't make up its mind what type of establishment it is. It feels more like a commercial hotel, but it;s kitted out for tourism.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gtbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerK702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardigan hotels
2.6 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
911 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coed y Bryn Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Llety Teifi Guest House
Llety Teifi Guest House
#3 of 18 in Cardigan
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 2 in Tresaith
390 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
466 reviews
2.3 mi away
No photo provided
Glanhelyg B&B
#14 of 18 in Cardigan
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highbury

Address: Pendre, Cardigan SA43 1JU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cardigan
Price Range: £57 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highbury 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Highbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highbury Cardigan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing