We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cliffhanger2 holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gwalia Falls Retreat
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cliffhanger2 holiday”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I have just returned home after experiencing a wonderful holiday at gwalia falls.we stayed in the cliffhanger lodge2 which had amazing views of the sea,beach and the small coastal village of Tresiath.from the very warm and helpful greeting from Owner Alan to the very we'll equipped lodge,we have just booked to go back in July and again in September which gives a true indication of how much we love this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6garyk303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Haven't had a UK holiday for a few years but certainly glad we opted for Gwalia Falls. Nice place to stay, the lodge was spotless and in good condition, even had a utility room which was handy for wet clothes. Outside the decking could do with a of care and re-staining but given the weather it'd always going to suffer. Beach nice and clean, weather dramatic and made for some good pictures. Decent walk along the cliff path to Aberporth. Local pub is OK, food is good if service a bit erratic. We were a bit out of season, so very little traffic and easy to get around. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed in one of the Cliff Lodges over the summer holidays with 2 young children. Location is stunning and the sunset views are fantastic. You are paying a premium for the view but as a treat its just about worth it ! The lodge itself is good. 2 rooms one ensuite. Good powerful shower (always important). Fire for those that will need it in the winter. Areas to improve: bulbs had gone on a few of the bed lamps, cutlery, plates, bowls etc... set of 4 so do need to be washed or dishwashered if required for breakfast, (a few more wouldnt go amiss). Also cushions for chairs and sun loungers would be good. All minor stuff but when paying a premium would expect these little touches. Walk to beach is about 5 minutes (a few more back with the hill, which keeps you fit). Beach is excellent and perfect for children. Beach shop is excellent and not over priced which they could of done with a cornered market - so well done to them ! Ship Inn is convenient and good food albeit a few areas to improve on service. Also some decent take aways in Aberporth approx 2 miles away. Tresaith is stunning and the Cliff Lodges take full advantage of this but not cheap in peak times ! And yes we did see Dolphins from the beach to the childrens delight !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I have been to Gwalia a few times now, each time staying in one of their lodges. The lodges themselves are great, always very clean and comfortable with almost everything you could need. Including free WiFi which is always good during the inevitable rain, it is Wales after all.

The site itself is starting to look a bit tired around the edges and could do with some TLC. Scruffy empty plots, surplus building materials lay around and overgrown weeds just take the shine of what could be a beautiful site. Will no doubt visit again, but would love to see it at its full potential.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlphaPapa84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Perfect location,very clean and tidy,very friendly staff and had the best time!!!! Highly recommend,don't think we could have stayed any where as perfect!!! Was very nice to go some where as peaceful and quite to relax!! thanx Alan and Annie. See you soon jamiej and Zoe

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamiejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We are a family of 6, 2 adults and 4 children and stayed in the ground floor Beachview appartment in August 2012. We had a fantastic time, the view from the appartment was spectacular. The appartment had everything we could need and was lovely and clean. Even though there was a family in the upstairs appartment, we didn't hear them. The beach was a 5 minute walk from the appartment and was fabulous, the water was lovely and clean. There is a lovely cliff top walk to the next village of Aberporth which was super, great views again. We went to New Quay and managed to see the dolphins which was fantastic, also saw some seals! The staff in the village shop in Aberporth were very friendly and we sampled both the fish and chip and chinese take away too! Both very good. We felt so relaxed here and wished we could have stayed longer than the 5 days we had.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 4kMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed in cliffhanger lodge 2 which is bright, very spacious, really nicely furnished with lovely personal touches, lots of games and dvd's for any rainy days and has the most amazing views. It's well worth paying the extra to have one of the seaview lodges. The park is very peaceful and just a short walk to the beach although the road or steps to the beach are very steep. View the waterfall when the tide is out as you get to see it fully. The coastal walk to Aberporth is a good way to get great views.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardigan
0.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
763 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cardigan Castle
Cardigan Castle
#3 of 14 in Cardigan
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Poppit Sands
YHA Poppit Sands
#8 of 14 in Cardigan
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwalia Falls Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwalia Falls Retreat

Property: Gwalia Falls Retreat
Address: Tresaith Beach, Cardigan SA43 2JL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Cardigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gwalia Falls Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwalia Falls Retreat Cardigan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing