We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Indian Restaurant”
Review of Shampan

Shampan
Ranked #14 of 55 Restaurants in Cardigan
Price range: US$32 - US$40
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Had a really good meal here and couldn't fault it. Service is good and quite an usual setting. Prices were very reasonable and would def go here agin if in the area

Date of visit: August 2012
Thank Thia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 214 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

I wanted to sample the curry at Shampan as we are massive fans of Abdul's just over the car park the curry was without doubt good but fell well short of the former - I also noticed that the menu is very similar to Jasmins and Nahar in Newcastle Emlyn and Maharani in Aberporth so maybe. They are all part of the same group - however my holiday home is a good 10 miles from this restaurant and if we're going to travel that kind of a distance then it will always be to Abdul's
Service was good exept the waiter who took my credit card was unfriendly to say the least

1  Thank gc06042014f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My wife and I visited this restaurant on a couple of occasions whilst holidaying near Cardigan earlier this month. On both occasions we were met with a warm welcome and helpful, friendly people. Both meals were excellent, beautifully cooked and extremely flavoursome. Shampan is one of the best Indian restaurants we have eaten in.

The restaurant itself is in a boat, like a sort of junk, moored on the quay in Cardigan and it is one of the nicest settings we have seen.

We visit the area at least once a year and we will definitely be back to the Shampan!

Date of visit: May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank speedcop2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We had a meal at the Shampan on the strength of the Tripadviser reviews - and we were not disappointed.

We eat most weeks at one of the best curry houses in Cardiff, have eaten curry in many cities world wide and have tried most of the michelin starred curry houses in London - and I have to say that this compares favourably. Ok the fancy touches are not there but some of the choices were a bit different to the standard British Bangladeshi or Pakistani dishes- although they were on the menu as well. The portions were quite large, the bill was incredibly reasonable and the toilets were great! a bonus!

We were there very early mid week - 5.30 on a Wednesday as we had to walk 3 miles back to where we were staying. As we were the only people there the atmosphere was lacking but the view of the tide coming in made up for it. The setting is great but a pity that it is tucked away so you have to hunt for it. We will definitely return if we are staying in the area again.

Date of visit: July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KitchenQueenCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Shampan when we visited on a quiet Sunday evening. The service was excellent; staff were welcoming and friendly but not obtrusive.

The food we selected was well-presented, well-seasoned and delicious. Two of us shared two mains, two accompaniments and a side dish (it was too much, but a real treat to try everything!).

The bill was fair and we felt that Shampan offers good value for money.

Being on a boat made the experience a bit special and it is definitely somewhere that would suit groups (although we were a couple and it was ideal too).

We'd definitely go back again if we were in Cardigan!

Date of visit: June 2012
Thank Trippingtripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shampan also viewed

Cardigan, Ceredigion
Cardigan, Ceredigion
 
Cardigan, Ceredigion
Cardigan, Ceredigion
 
Cardigan, Ceredigion
Cardigan, Ceredigion
 

Been to Shampan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing