We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coastal Walkers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coed y Bryn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 16 Cardigan B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Coastal Walkers”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at Godfrey's House end August beg. of September 2013. We stayed an extra night because of no buses on Sundays to finish the walk from Cardigan to Aberyswith? Very nice stay and Godfrey was very helpful, and kind. His cooking is excellent. We would recommend this establishment to anyone wishing to stay in Cardigan.


  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    27
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
25
62
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Great place just a short stroll from the town (though the hill to get home after a night out is quite a struggle!) Great value for money (we stayed in a twin room and were given a free upgrade to en-suite), and Godfrey is a real character with some wonderful stories!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicken__kev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

On arrival the owner was jovial and the room seemed very nice. Was disappointed that there was only an old style tv, first time there's not been a flat screen somewhere we've stayed for quite a while. There was plenty of parking and the B&B is just a few minutes from the centre of Cardigan, which was nice. We upgraded to the cooked breakfast, and frankly I wished we hadn't. It was an extra £7.50 each, so I was expecting a decent breakfast, but what we got was appalling quality sausages (really cheap, fully of cereal and deep fried) and a breakfast that, apart from the eggs was all heated in the microwave. The bacon was nice, but as it was microwaved it was pale and anaemic looking! We had been impressed that the place seemed clean on first arrival, but although the bed was made while we were out, our cups were not cleaned although we'd used them and neither was the bathroom. On our second day we also discovered that the window in our room didn't shut properly or lock, and although we were on the first floor I found that rather disconcerting. It also meant we got noise from the road as it wouldn't quite shut properly. Cardigan is a lovely place, and the location was good, but I probably wouldn't come back to this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godfrey E, Owner at Coed y Bryn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Hello Sarah R,

Thank you for taking time out to write / post your review.

Firstly let me point out that Coed y Bryn is a 3 star (self accredited) Bed and Breakfast (certainly not a guest house or hotel) and as such, it is the lowest tier of accommodation in the U/K (apart, that is, from a hostel or the YMCA). I am the cheapest ‘online bookable’ accommodation provider in Cardigan and yet I still manage to rank number 3 of all B&B / Inns in Cardigan with a terrific score of 95%. (At the time of writing.)

Re the T/V issue….Please be advised that all our rooms have flat screen T/Vs’ with the exception of the room which you occupied. Changing all the T/Vs’ to flat screens has been on a rolling programme of repairs and renewals and this final one is due for replacement this autumn. By the way, the existing T/V works very well and the programmes that you see on it are exactly the same as on a flat screen.

Re your comments regarding the breakfast please be advised as follows:-

You made the reservation through Booking.com for 2 nights at £70 per night making a total of £140. I informed you on your day of arrival that I would only charge you £5 and not £7.50 for full English breakfast. However, looking back at my files I have observed that you were only charged a grand total of £145, which means that your breakfast costs were only £2.50 per person.

The ingredients that I use are all prime, fresh and locally sourced whenever possible and I certainly do not microwave my breakfasts as you have stated. The ingredients are all cooked from fresh and are allowed to settle for 10/15 mins. in the ‘bain-marie’ prior to being plated up and served to the table when the guest is ready for service. (This is the reason why I ask all my guests, approx. what time they would wish to have their breakfast). All food preparation and cooking is done in sight of the dining room and because you didn’t actually see me cooking your breakfast you have wrongly assumed that it was microwaved.

I note from a review of another establishment in Cardigan that you have worked in the hospitality business as a chef. You would therefore be well aware of how and why this method of operation is used. I have been taught that all cooked food (even the humble breakfast) should be allowed to settle after cooking.

It is interesting to note that a huge majority of my guests (some of whom have left reviews on here and other review sites) have found my breakfasts to be of an excellent quality and very palatable. They also come back, time and time again to savour my food. One only has to read the comments in my guest book (which is also copied to our website) to see the large number of positive comments regarding said breakfasts.

As a final aside regarding my breakfasts, I noted that during your stay both you, and your partner, completely cleared your plates and when I asked if everything was satisfactory you made no mention of what you have deemed to be ‘appalling quality’.

Finally, regarding the window ?....Why not simply have told me that there was a problem and I would have attended to it immediately.

It is such a shame that you have decided not to pay my ‘pretty average’ establishment a future visit and suggest that should you decide to visit Cardigan again you book in to a 4/5 star hotel. (Albeit the room tariff would be around 50% - 100% more than I charge). Your breakfast would probably be sitting in the bain-marie or under the hot shelf for considerably longer and you would therefore, have the opportunity to hone your ‘keyboard warrior’ skills to much greater effect.

Regards

Godfrey (Owner, operator, chief cook and bottle washer of ‘pretty average really’ (sic) Coed y Bryn Bed and Breakfast)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Godfrey runs a nice B&B with just the right amount of amenities that is 5 minutes walk from central Cardigan. As a diver and deer conservationist, he is full of stories, and he does everything available to make a happy stay for his customers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Good location, accommodation very good.
Host advised us on where best to visit, as we had a dog with us.

Visited poppitt beach, as this was dog friendly. Very clean and inviting. Amenities excellent.
Nature reserve near accommodation, was relaxing, surprised to see water buffaloes!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We had a splendid trip to cardigan the accommodation at Coed Y Bryn was lovely our excellent host Godfrey and his lovely Spaniel Sally made us very welcome with a lovely room and great breakfast. If we head to Cardigan again we will certainly be paying another visit

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

a very welcoming & freindly stay, very clean & tidy, would stay longer next time. would recommend this bed & breakfast to everyone * * * *nice and convienient for Cardigan town and surronding area, we used it as a stop over for Ireland ( ROSS LAIRE )





Room Tip: beds were a bit hard & bouncy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardigan hotels
3.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
783 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
440 reviews
1.4 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Llety Teifi Guest House
Llety Teifi Guest House
#4 of 16 in Cardigan
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cardigan Castle
Cardigan Castle
#1 of 14 in Cardigan
22 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ty-Parc Guest House B&B
Ty-Parc Guest House B&B
#3 of 16 in Cardigan
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coed y Bryn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coed y Bryn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Coed y Bryn Bed and Breakfast
Address: Coed y Bryn Tenby Road, Cardigan SA43 3AH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cardigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coed y Bryn Bed and Breakfast and self catering accommodation in Cardigan is a 3 Star (sa) accommodation facility with 'Walkers and Cyclists Welcome' accreditations. We are also Pet Friendly. (Only certain rooms and charges will apply).Coed y Bryn Bed and Breakfast offers a hearty Welsh welcome to visitors from around the world. Professional business travellers and well behaved contractors are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coed y Bryn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coed y Bryn Bed And Breakfast Cardigan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing