We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Certificate of Excellence
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic position”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Refurbishment in progress and so this can only get better. There are unrivalled marine views and we had a beautiful sunset as we sat eating our evening meal. Our room was great too. Food was really good, reasonable choice even on the set menu and good quality. We will definitely be back - especially if we can get the two night deal again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan_Cash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    312
    78
    28
    20
See reviews for
148
407
23
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Excellent location and views.Rooms are slightly dated and in need of a update but are clean and comfortable, my one minor gripe is the bed is the zip down the middle type. Lovely food, great staff and a free spar! Very good value for money.Have recommended this hotel to several friends and family.An excellent base to explore Cardigan or to just chill. Look forward to returning

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, newer part not as special
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gareth h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Pleasant trip,good food friendly staff, excellent views. Spar very good.although making alternation this did not hamper a good stay. Dogs welcome. Golf course along side hotel. Easy walking distance from the hotel to walk along the cliff or to walk on the beach.

Room Tip: Asks for a room facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Dogmaels, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

This grand old lady is getting a long needed make over having just been taken over by a young, exuberant but experienced pair of hoteliers.
With breathtaking views over Cardigan Bay, The Cliff has so much going for it and with Wells and Louise breathing new life into it , it cant fail to succeed.
The renovations have started but they have already begun enticing people in with a new menu and special offers, we went along for the Friday night special of fish and chips plus a pudding for £9.95. The food was excellent well cooked and beautifully presented (yes you can make fish and chips look good). The choice of puddings made it hard to decide as they all sounded nice and looked and tasted even better. We were most impressed even my foodie friend gave it 9.5 only knocking half a point off for the decor which will soon be changing anyway.

There are great plans for the Cliff apart from the renovations, which will include putting on special evenings so it is nice to know that the local people will not be forgotten as we desperately need places to go in the evening that offer both food and entertainment in an attractive setting.
The hotel is a large and imposing buiding with a nod to Art Deco in places, there has been an inn on the site for many years with the addition of wings and a modern spa adding to the eclectic mix so it will be very interesting to watch it rising phoenix like from its ashes.
The management and staff are very weloming and friendly so if you are booked to stay this year worry not you will be very well looked after.
If you are local then its worth going back to see the changes and to enjoy the food, this is one place in Cardigan that will definately be getting better and getting the recognition that I am sure it will truely deserve

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JoHutchings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

A lovely last second stay in a great hotel on the cliff top at Gwbert, just a mile or two down the road from Cardigan. It's very convenient for cove hopping along the coast and just next door to the Cardigan Island Farm Park and a golf course.
They are well organised and gave us a warm welcome.
The spa was wonderful as ever, a real haven, it's so relaxing and adds a lot of value to the hotel. With use of jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and small pool we really did float away and leave our cares at home.
Our room (#30) over in the new wing was lovely.
The evening bar food we chose was curry, both their korma and madras, and they were delicious as was breakfast.
The current refurbishment of the atrium area had no effect on our stay.
We have been to this hotel several times and will happily continue to visit regularly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daviesetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed here during the worst storms of Feb 2014, what incredible views of a very angry sea. Although the weather was appalling the staff were very friendly and the fantastic spa was a fabulous escape.
We stayed with a living social deal, and my only critiscism is that we were unable to upgrade the menu option. This would have been an option we would have taken after the first night as the menu choice was very limited, and not brilliant by any stretch, however the second night option was a vast improvement apart from the whitebait being incredibly overcooked.
The room was very comfortable and clean, with plenty of space so even though we were stuck inside due to the weather, we didn't feel cooped up.
This is definately somewhere we will try and stay again, hopefully in better weather as we spotted some great walks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgriffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Just come back from a 2 night deal in the Cliff Hotel, We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Stayed in room 31 which was in the newer part of the hotel. Very comfortable with a new bathroom and air conditioning. Enjoyed my visits to the spa and had the best express facial. The ladies showers could do with a bit of tlc and new shower curtains. Certain areas of the hotel certainly need updating but as it is now under new ownership hopefully these will be dealt with soon. The breakfast and evening meal were excellent
We will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Suellanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardigan
0.1 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
443 reviews
10.8 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
557 reviews
11.5 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
430 reviews
2.7 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
2.9 mi away
Cardigan Castle
Cardigan Castle
#2 of 14 in Cardigan
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Hotel & Spa

Property: The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Address: Gwbert, Cardigan SA43 1PP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliff Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This renowned hotel boasts one of the most breathtaking views and marine locations in Wales, overlooking Cardigan Bay, the rugged coastline, the Teifi Estuary and the broad sweep of Poppit Sands. The Cliff Hotel & Spa offers guests luxurious accommodation, with all rooms having en suite facilities and many having a view over Cardigan Bay and the hotel's golf course. Guests are able to relax and enjoy the view in the bar or lounge. Luxurious spa facilities are ready to offer guests a perfect relaxation zone in which to unwind and indulge. The health spa hosts a salt water hydro spa, steam room, sauna, hot tub and gym. In the salon area there are 4 treatment rooms and a rasul chamber to ease your tensions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Cliff Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Cardigan
The Cliff Hotel & Spa Cardigan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing