We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned from a midweek break at the Cliff Hitel - meeting friends in the area. We had a ground floor room as my husband is disabled. Food good, room spacious, clean, quiet surroundings. Best night's sleep yet! Will most certainly return. Grab a deal if you see one !
Not used the spa facilities personally, but I understand they are good. Now under new ownership and renovations taking place. Am sure it will be stunning when completed. Staff very friendly and helpful at all times. Cannot fault it.

Room Tip: Only stayed in room 12 ground floor. Would imagine first floor rooms to have a better view of the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDAVIES4345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    303
    77
    28
    20
See reviews for
142
402
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I could not fault the staff, food or facilities. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and decided to opt for a mini spa day. The Cliff Hotel Spa facilities are second to none. We spent a good few hours alternating between the steam room, sauna, Jacuzzi, (hexagonal) pool and heated loungers. The well equipped, for it's size gym was also an option. The changing facilities included free showers, lockers (with a £1 refundable deposit) and hairdryers for us ladies. There was also ample seating and showers available. The mini spa day included all of the above and a treatment. Both my husband and myself chose to have a back, upper body and neck massage which was expertly executed and left us feeling revitalised yet relaxed. After having a self indulgent day and a few beers in the bar with stunning views overlooking the bay and golf course, we headed to the restaurant. The food was cooked to perfection and all the staff were attentive, extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the cuisine on offer. We could choose from an 'al a carte' or more traditional 'comfort food' menu. Although the hotel is undergoing renovation at this present time, it did not impede our overall impression. The hotel is perfectly situated and in our opinion, well worth a visit, if only to sample the spa. We will DEFINATELY be back to sample more of what the Cliff has to offer. Thank you to everyone for making our day so special, and the manageress for going above and beyond. It was very much appreciated.

Room Tip: We could not comment on rooms or sleep quality, as we did not stay at the Cliff Hotel. We did, howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We have just come back from a two day midweek break spent at this Spa Hotel.
Where to start....... The rooms are spacious, the beds enormous and more importantly comfortable.
They have great bathrooms. Televisions with good reception.
The breakfast is something else altogether.... Out of this world. laid out as a buffet they have everything you could imagine. Cereals, fresh fruit,yogurt, croissants,toast (you watch the toast on a conveyer belt going into the machine and coming out perfectly done the other side). You can help yourself to a fully cooked breakfast, bacon, sausages,beans,tomatoes,fried bread,mushrooms,saute potatoes etc. A clever machine that pours you coffee,tea ,chocolate.
The evening meals are some of the best that we have ever eaten and the puds well I though I'd died and gone to heaven. lol
The views from the dining room are some of the best in Wales.
To add icing to the cake as a guest your stay also includes the use of the gym and the spa. (hot tub,steam room, sauna ) etc.We were in there for nearly 3 hours one afternoon and it was bliss. No crowds, no noise just peace and quiet. There is also a golf course for those that wish to play. Walks along the cliff tops. It's like a little world on it's own and the perfect place to unwind, relax and let the rest of the world take care of itself.
The staff were falling over backwards to be as helpful as they could. We actually expected it to be a bit too up market for us but it was really lovely. It's not the cheapest place in the world but in this case the saying you get what you pay for is true. In fact I'd say that you get more than your moneys worth. I've paid a lot more and gotten a lot less in other places over the years.
They also cater for weddings. What a venue to have.
Over-all, I honestly can't fault the place, the staff or the facility's.
If I ever win the lottery I fully intend to go there and live full time. (I know in my dreams). lol
Recommend 110%.

Room Tip: We had room 41 and never heard a noise from 11pm until we woke at 7-10am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We have recently returned, we had a living social deal for 2 nights and travelled as a party of six. We had room number 24, which had a balcony and side sea view overlooking the main entrance, lovely modern and spacious room with hair dryer, coffee making facilities and flat screen TV. We also had room 25 which overlooked the rear car park, however had lovely views of the golf course and sea, the room was perfect. We used the spa facilities and these were fabolous, steam room, sauna. Hydro pool, and heated relaxation beds. As part of the deal we had breakfast and dinner included and the food was of a high standard and the watining staff were excellent at dinner and at breakfast. The reception has a lovely welcoming aumbiance and staff were always helpful, as previous guests have stated this has recently been taken over by new management and work is in process, however if the reception area is anything to go by, once the upgrade has been completed the hotel will be out standing. I look forward to returning to see the outcome. Thank you for a lovely couple of days

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anghger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stourbridge
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay at The Cliff Hotel. Hotel in stunning location with panoramic sea views from bedroom, restaurant,bar and conservatory. Bedroom newly refurbished and some work to floors etc still in progress but hotel being restored beautifully. Food delicious and staff very helpful. Will definately be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilldstourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonypandy South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed for a week at the Cliff hotel. It is in a nice location but far away from the town, about 3 or 4 miles. It is on a cliff with some very nice views. The staff was very nice, and the wood burner in the reception was very nice feel when you sat around. I found that the room was noisy from the plumbing etc through the night and it kept me awake throughout the night ;( The room I was in did not get services one day at all? The breakfast was very good and the evening meal food was ok. There is work going on in the hotel so I would call it a work in progress. They are trying to update this hotel at this moment in time, so after a few months it may prove a lot better? It is a area to stay and if you like your golf you may like the corse? All in all it's ok but as I said "It's a work in progress" and it will be a nice hotel when updated...

Room Tip: I think the newer part of the hotel maybe nicer rooms as in the main building thy are old rooms no d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wingcruizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Situated as its name suggests on the cliff, the view is spectacular, and one point to note is there is a 9 hole golf course around the hotel and over the cliffs - so take your clubs if you like a round.

The hotel has been recently bought, and it is clear that the new owners know it needed a little care and updating, and that work is underway. Saying that, the room was more than comfortable and clean as were the surroundings.

We had a snack in the bar in the late afternoon, burger and a lasagne, both very tasty and freshly cooked.
They also arranged a taxi to the town and back for us, and many others, and nothing seemed to be any bother to the staff, all very polite and knowledgeable.

We didn't use the spa but chatted to another couple who had and they were very complimentary about the facilities there.

Breakfast was a buffet, and as included in the price actually very good value. Full English (Welsh?) with fruits and coffees and so on, set us up for the journey back.

If visiting Cardigan again I wouldn't even look for a place in the town - this is a wonderful option.

Room Tip: Just ask for one with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonJ68_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardigan
0.1 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
440 reviews
10.8 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
552 reviews
11.5 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Fishguard Bay Hotel
Fishguard Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goodwick
401 reviews
2.7 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
2.9 mi away
Cardigan Castle
Cardigan Castle
#1 of 14 in Cardigan
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Hotel & Spa

Property: The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Address: Gwbert, Cardigan SA43 1PP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliff Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This renowned hotel boasts one of the most breathtaking views and marine locations in Wales, overlooking Cardigan Bay, the rugged coastline, the Teifi Estuary and the broad sweep of Poppit Sands. The Cliff Hotel & Spa offers guests luxurious accommodation, with all rooms having en suite facilities and many having a view over Cardigan Bay and the hotel's golf course. Guests are able to relax and enjoy the view in the bar or lounge. Luxurious spa facilities are ready to offer guests a perfect relaxation zone in which to unwind and indulge. The health spa hosts a salt water hydro spa, steam room, sauna, hot tub and gym. In the salon area there are 4 treatment rooms and a rasul chamber to ease your tensions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Cliff Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Cardigan
The Cliff Hotel & Spa Cardigan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing