We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time ive stayed, will stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Really nice, friendly staff, clean rooms and major referb is being done so can imagine will be loads nicer on next stay. nice pool and jacuzzi.
Evening meal was nice.. and so was breakfast.

only thing it does lack is phone signal also 3g or wifi, which isnt always a bad thing just incase people want to phone anyone whilst staying it didnt work on 3 or 02.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L3MAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

824 - 830 of 866 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We booked the Cliff Hotel through Booking.com. But had the Ceredigion brochure anyway, so we were prepared for great views and were not disappointed. Upon arrival were allocated a room where the toilet didn't work, but were immediately moved to the room next door which was better. This was easy and the reception staff were great. At the Cliff Hotel guests can use the spa facilities for free. They are really good with a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam sauna. There are gym facilities but we didn't use those. Plus there are various treatments which we didn't use either. The lighting in the spa is really spectacular and restful at the same time. One comment on the spa though is that the changing rooms are rather small and they get wet. Plus using outdoor shoes in that area means slight problems.
The beds in the rooms are really comfortable and my wife had no complaints at all. There was a wedding this weekend but it had no impact on our enjoyment of the hotel. I have to say the views are spectacular and probably cannot be bettered. Drinks on the terrace are lovely in the evening. We were there for the longest day, so shortest night, so some better curtains with a decent lining would be good. But there are new owners, who are trying very hard and I certainly would go here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogey567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I left my phone charger behind.It was within 6 hours of leaving the hotel that I realised this and phoned the hotel.They said they would check with the housekeeper in the morning.(why they could not go up to the room straight away is beyond me?All of a minute walk and I told them exactly where it was.)I had to phone them again,they said that it was not there.I then kicked up a fuss.Later I get a phone call saying they had found it and would I pay the P&P of £3 which was not a problem.A week later I receive a charger that was not mine.I then get onto them again.After a few choice words and phone calls I get a call stating they had found my charger and would forward it to me immediately.Another week later I still had not received it.I phoned again and spoke to to a manager called Luke who said he would send it first class.When it arrived nearly 3 weeks later this was also the wrong one and I had warning on my phone stating it was not compatible and could damage my phone.I phoned again and the duty manager Luke was not available and would get back to me.In the mean time I had received a card from the post office stating they had a parcel for me which I would have to pay £3.27 for.I went to the post office and would you believe it ,it was my phone charger.I still have heard nothing from the Hotel,3 weeks later.
If I did not have these problems with the incompetence of the hotel staff our stay was enjoyable and my star would of been 4 stars.

Room Tip: West side lovely sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charliestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Hotel was under refurbishment due to new ownership, we were aware of this before hand and it didn't put us off. The hotel is in a fantastic position overlooking Cardigan bay with a 9 hole golf course surrounding the hotel. The staff were brilliant, the rooms were very good and the hotel food was excellent. I think after the refurbishment this will be a 5 star class hotel.

Room Tip: We were allocated room 29 which was newly decorated with a view over the estuary, a very nice room b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kelly_tom14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

1. The hotel did not have our booking made through Booking.com. Fortunately I had a print-out with me and they still had rooms available, even though there was a wedding reception in the hotel, but not the family room that we had booked.
2. The dining room did not have our table reservation made at Reception a few hours earlier and they then made-up a small internal table rather the larger table with sea views that they eventually condescendingly laid for us. Staff service was then rather surly!
3. One of the two rooms had an ensuite bathroom without a shower even over the bath. Also, the toilet cistern was continually and noisily flowing and would not flush properly.
4. Finally, at check-out, the bill was incorrect.

If the arrangements had run smoothly, this would have been an enjoyable stay, as the hotel has relatively good facilities, (ands is undergoing renovation, which was not intrusive), a pefect position overlooking the sea from the veranda and restaurant, and an imaginative 9-hole golf course in the grounds. The hotel has a spa, although it only has a plunge pool rather than a swimming pool. We used the small gym which had an adequate range of machines.

Room Tip: Do not accept Room 221 (a double room) as the ensuite bathroom does not have a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I were delighted with this lovely hotel. The hotel stands on a cliff which looks at a beautiful sea view.Our room was very spacious and had dual aspect with views over the golf course one side and out to sea the other.The staff were all pleasant and very helpful.We were both very impressed with all the food be it bar restaurant or at breakfast.Altough we visited on a special deal we will certainly visit again deal or no deal.

Room Tip: room 217 was ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Josie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at the cliff on Sunday night the 8th June, in room 137. The reception area has been refurbished and is a sign of what's to come from this perfectly situated hotel. Despite the fact that they are decorating the hotel which is in desperate need of modernisation, and our room been rather tired, the view from our room, the fact that we had the gorgeous spa to ourselves for 3 hours and the helpful staff made our trip an absolute pleasure.

The full welsh breakfast was plentiful and the staff were attentive and engaging. When the refurbishment is finished this hotel will soon rise from a 3 star to a 4 :)

Room Tip: The sea views are a must, you wont hardly notice the basic facilities of the rooms (137)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JamesandJen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardigan
0.1 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
456 reviews
20.2 mi away
Feathers@Aberaeron
Feathers@Aberaeron
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
227 reviews
10.8 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Cartref Hotel
Cartref Hotel
#3 of 4 in Fishguard
126 reviews
2.7 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
2.8 mi away
Cardigan Castle
Cardigan Castle
#1 of 15 in Cardigan
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Hotel & Spa

Address: Gwbert, Cardigan SA43 1PP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Price Range: £66 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliff Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This renowned hotel boasts one of the most breathtaking views and marine locations in Wales, overlooking Cardigan Bay, the rugged coastline, the Teifi Estuary and the broad sweep of Poppit Sands. The Cliff Hotel & Spa offers guests luxurious accommodation, with all rooms having en suite facilities and many having a view over Cardigan Bay and the hotel's golf course. Guests are able to relax and enjoy the view in the bar or lounge. Luxurious spa facilities are ready to offer guests a perfect relaxation zone in which to unwind and indulge. The health spa hosts a salt water hydro spa, steam room, sauna, hot tub and gym. In the salon area there are 4 treatment rooms and a rasul chamber to ease your tensions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Cliff Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Cardigan
The Cliff Hotel & Spa Cardigan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing