We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Location location!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Wonderful cliff top location only 3 miles outside the lovely Welsh town of Cardigan. Pay extra for a sea view it is well worth it. The views from the restaurant & bar are stunning with a lovely terrace for the sunny days. The food is good but felt the restaurant would benefit from a restaurant manager to oversee some of the less experienced staff. The hot buffet at breakfast
is one of the better ones you will come accross.....good quality bacon & sausage plus there is a coffee machine that dispenses a very good cappucino. The free spa was excellent. Our only criticism is that the house wines were nasty (french), both the red & the white.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenmeryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    292
    74
    28
    20
See reviews for
142
393
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed for only one night with three kids. Arrived late and tired and were met by fabulous and hospitable staff. Really took care of us and made us feel welcome. Fantastic place, stunning views, first class..... Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just did a local boat trip and decided to pop into this hotel for a cuppa. Didn't have any cakes left but offered us some scones, very yummy and the view over the bay was incredible. Brilliant place to feel special and reasonably priced too.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. The staff were really courteous and helpful, with nothing too much trouble. At breakfast time, I asked if I could have a boiled egg as there were none offered on the buffet breakfast. Within minutes the waiter returned with a boiled egg exactly as I had requested it. We had a fantastic sea view from the room. Please keep up the good work as there's not many places like yours around. We'll done to all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Fabulous afternoon tea to celebrate a birthday, the most amazing selection of cakes and sandwiches! Extremely friendly staff who had our table ready with authentic vintage crockery. My little boy had fun eating and running around the huge garden space outside where we were eating. We even stayed for a couple of drinks after the tea to admire the fabulous views and take in the summer sun. Loved it so much I'm going back there this Sunday for a friends baby shower. Would definately recommend the place.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HFEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

What can I say other than fantastic! It was a birthday treat to go for afternoon tea which involved all my favourite treats, cupcakes, scones with fresh cream and strawberries, eclairs, brownies! Lovely setting and helpful staff! Can't recommend enough!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeriWynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

6 of us visited for afternoon tea for mine and my sisters birthday on a wonderful sunny Sunday afternoon. I booked ahead on the Friday previous for 3.30pm. When we arrived it was clear to see that they had had an extremely busy lunch time, with many guests milling around enjoying the sunshine and stunning views. We were promptly shown to our table which was beautifully laid with vintage tea cups and saucers. Shortly after, our 2 x 3 tiers of cakes and finger sandwiches arrived along with fresh coffee and pots of tea. The selection of cakes were to die for - cupcakes, profiteroles, macaroons, scones with fresh cream and strawberries. All these were clearly homemade, which made it all the better. The sandwich selection was delicious, prawns, ham (which had clearly been home cooked), cheese and pickle and tuna and cucumber. When we finished, we made our way outside onto the terrace and basked in the warm sun. We had our nephew with us and he was happy to run around and enjoy the large lawn. I will certainly be making a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eileen1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardigan
0.1 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
436 reviews
10.8 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
549 reviews
11.5 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
2.9 mi away
Cardigan Castle
Cardigan Castle
#3 of 14 in Cardigan
20 reviews
3.0 mi away
Coed y Bryn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Hotel & Spa

Property: The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Address: Gwbert, Cardigan SA43 1PP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliff Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This renowned hotel boasts one of the most breathtaking views and marine locations in Wales, overlooking Cardigan Bay, the rugged coastline, the Teifi Estuary and the broad sweep of Poppit Sands. The Cliff Hotel & Spa offers guests luxurious accommodation, with all rooms having en suite facilities and many having a view over Cardigan Bay and the hotel's golf course. Guests are able to relax and enjoy the view in the bar or lounge. Luxurious spa facilities are ready to offer guests a perfect relaxation zone in which to unwind and indulge. The health spa hosts a salt water hydro spa, steam room, sauna, hot tub and gym. In the salon area there are 4 treatment rooms and a rasul chamber to ease your tensions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Cliff Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Cardigan
The Cliff Hotel & Spa Cardigan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing