We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home made food lovely staff”
Review of Fisherman's Rest

Fisherman's Rest
Ranked #4 of 51 Restaurants in Cardigan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy, Cafe, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Beautiful Cafe on the River Teifi, freshly prepared and locally sourced menu. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere where both dogs and humans are welcome. Private bookings for evening meals available contact us for more details.
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We happened on this lovely place by chance and omg best meal all week.
The young lad serving was so helpful and friendly and as they were out of a few things on the menu the lady chef bought out two options for our 4 yr old grand daughter and the home made fish cakes didnt touch the sides, it was the most she had eaten all week (fussy eater)
We felt right at home here with the lovely fresh made food (no chips) and great service.
This place is right on the wster front and enjoys great views from inside and outside seating area we would certainly go back when next in the area.
Should mention the very reasonable prices too and great coffee
Thank you for feeding our grand daughters healthy home made food

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishermans_Rest_CDGN, Manager at Fisherman's Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

Specials on over half term, thank you for your review and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Fisherman's Rest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 138 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

My husband and I visited last Saturday (23/8/14) all I can say is OMG! Food is out of this world. We were looking for a place to eat and is right next to car park but once inside we were given a table over looking the river. Lovely interior and fabulous staff. An italian themed menu was absolutely out of this world. I had salmon/lemon nage. It was absolutely delicious. Cooked to perfection. It was served with sauté potatoes, olives and sundries tomatoes. My husband had seafood liguine served with an italian salad. My husband who has lived in Italy for 10 years+ said it was definitely on a par with any good italian restaurant he had eaten in in Italy. We had italian sundae and lemon ice cream gateaux for dessert. Both were lush. It is open for teas and cakes during the day but would definitely not over look this place for dinner with friends or a romantic meal. They have no alcoholic licence but they are more than happy for you to bring you own (Co-op over the road). Once eaten here you would want to return. Excellent value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DebnKev63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishermans_Rest_CDGN, Manager at Fisherman's Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

A big thank you for your lovely review, great compliments and looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Had a lovely homecooked meal here recently. Adjacent to the river,the building doesn't look that special from the outside, but inside is bright and modern.
The menu was interesting and varied.
There was quite a long wait, but we were a big party, and the food was freshly cooked and tasty on arrival.
Very pleased that the dogs were allowed in also.
Thoroughly recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank CardiffFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishermans_Rest_CDGN, Manager at Fisherman's Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

Thank you for coming, glad you enjoyed and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I came to the Fisherman's Rest / Gorffwysfa'r Pysgotwr with a friend for a light lunch. The place is bright and very spacious, with a very relaxing atmosphere. We chose a table immediately overlooking the river. The food was good, and good value, the staff friendly and efficient, and bi-lingual. My friend has mobility difficulties, and the staff were more than willing to help in an unobtrusive and relaxed way. Diolch yn fawr iawn.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Philippa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishermans_Rest_CDGN, Owner at Fisherman's Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Diolch, we hope you are able to visit us again-especially as you visited when we did not have our full menu available, though I am glad you rated our sandwiches/toasties well. Remember to let us know if you are visiting and may need to park closure, to help with access.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have visited 3 times, twice for special evening menus and today we went with our family for lunch. We enjoyed each meal and were treated with courtesy and efficiency. The lunch menu was excellent and the food really tasty! A friendly and different place to eat. Thank you

1  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishermans_Rest_CDGN, Owner at Fisherman's Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

It is lovely to see returning customers, especially when you have tried our evening and day time menus with positive feedback, diolch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fisherman's Rest also viewed

Cardigan, Ceredigion
St. Dogmaels, Pembrokeshire
 
Cardigan, Ceredigion
Cardigan, Ceredigion
 
Cardigan, Ceredigion
 

Been to Fisherman's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing