We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely high spec cottages in beautiful, peaceful grounds.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardigan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brongwyn Holiday Cottages
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I stayed here with my husband, baby and parents in Barley Cottage for one week. It was really really lovely. The cottage was huge downstairs, very comfortable living area, nice dining area and lovely big well equipped kitchen. The bedrooms were nice and light but with the bonus of having black out blinds (which was great for the baby!).

The beds were soft Pocket Sprung Memory foam which i have to be honest, i was dreading...i have never liked "soft" beds. But oh my goodness....BLISS! i am now in the process of buying one of these mattresses because it was such a comfortable night's sleep! I am usually quite stiff with bending over to pick up the baby all day so it can be sore getting up in the morning....but i was springing out of bed here! OK enough about the beds!

The grounds are beautifully tended. If you are lucky enough to stay in Barley then you have a little patio area out the back which is surrounded by a huge, green and very British (at it's best...and i am not particularly patriotic!) garden. Lots of birds, butterflies, and at night a few bats and the sound of the odd owl. :-) the style is definately wildflowers and not manicured and precise....which i loved. Full of life.

The indoor pool was brilliant....lovely temperature, great facilities and perfect to take in a little baby (3 months).

I had a massage at the spa...which is one room upstairs in the same block as the pool. Was very nice and relaxing.

There are free laundry facilities, which was great for us.

Anna and Graham are always wandering around but if you cant find them at any point you can ring them from the pool building. They were extremely helpful and friendly.

Cardigan and Aberporth are great. The beaches are all ace (especially Mwnt which is stunning and if you kayak you have the added bonus of potential spotting the famous bottle nose dolphins!). Cardigan town centre is very Welsh ...which i loved...one of the buskers was playing a mini harp! But everyone was very friendly (am Welsh but sound English). Aberporth beach was full of young families but with a lovely, relaxed holiday atmosphere...not like some of the beaches at home which are strewn with litter and lager louts! Infact my parents liked Aberporth so much they are looking for a holiday cottage to buy there!

All in all this was fabulous place to stay and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessHelicopter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Brongwyn Holiday Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2009

We spent the second week of our fortnight's holiday at Brongwyn in Bramble cottage. The cottage was clean and spacious with a big kitchen/diner, a good sized lounge and 3 doube/twin bedrooms, plus one bathrom and one shower room. The cottage was well equipped, including fridge, freezer, dishwasher, microwave, TV, dvd player, hairdryer, bed linen and towels, etc. Beds were top quality too! The owners are friendly and willing to help when asked.

There is a small campsite a short distance away from the cottages, which was quiet, but well used. We occasionally found people from the site wandering past our kitchen door on their way to the central facilities which could be used by cottage users and campers. The facilities themselves were good with restaurant/cafe/bar open most days (we planned to use the restaurant on our final day but illness struck!), plus an excellent indoor heated swimming pool (free for cottage users, limited opening hours), spa (didn't use), washing machines/driers (free for cottage users), children's play area - good assortment of equipment for small children, plus a small games room and gym (didn't use so can't comment).

Brongwyn is approx 4 miles outside Cardigan and there's lots to do in the area. We enjoyed the beautiful beaches at Mwnt and Poppit Sands, Cardigan Island Animal Park (great for spotting seals), New Quay (plenty of dolphins) and caneing on the Teifi, amongst lots of other things. There is a Tesco in Cardigan, along with a mix of other small shops.

We had a great week at Brongwyn and especially loved the location which enabled us to chill on site or find activities in and around Cardigan.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank clare1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2008

Just had a perfect week at Brongwyn, and we'll be returning. Our cottage (Dairy) was extremely well provided - a lovely big kitchen diner with full facilities (incl. dishwasher), two cosy bedrooms (one double, one with bunk beds), a pretty little shower bathroom, and a spacious lounge with TV, DVD, freebox and stereo. We'd go back in a second, it was just so relaxing.

The facilities at Brongwyn are also very good - a lovely indoor pool, steam room and sauna. We also got hot stone massages, at UK 75 extremely reasonable for 100 minutes. Plus the entire place has lots of gardens scattered with places to sit and relax in, also play equipment for kids. The on-site restaurant is also a great idea - run by an extremely friendly woman using local ingredients. The meat she was using was spectacular and she provided a really impressive service. The restaurant was very 'unfussy' - it didn't feel like an 'on site' place, more like a little local restaurant near your home that'd you'd soon become a regular at.

There is lots to do nearby for all ages - this place would be spectacular for kids. The local beach, Mwnt, is totally undeveloped, a small car-park and cafe and then a run of about 50 steps down to a sheltered cove with not a building in sight.

We had the most fun and relaxing holiday we've ever had here. Brongwyn was the perfect place to escape to, to quickly unwind and relax. The staff are incredibly friendly and the facilities great. As a solo couple we found it peaceful and romantic, but a family would clearly have just as good a time too.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2007

I visited Brongwyn holidays from Ireland for my two children (aged 11 and 14)to participate in a course of one to one intensive swimming lessons provided at the facility by external teachers. (More about this later!)
Brongwyn is a a secluded holiday centre in south west Wales, a few miles from the market town of Cardigan, off the main Fishguard-Aberystwyth road.
The property includes a caravan and camping facility along with a cluster of lovely stone cottages, where we stayed.
There is also an indoor pool with gym and beauty salon / treatment room upstairs.
I was slightly apprehensive on the (very!) narrow approach road that we may be too far from civilisation, but any concerns I had disappeared with the warm welcome we received from the proprietors, Anna and Graham Giles.
We were shown to our cottage, the ground floor of a converted stone dairy building, complete with beams and thick stone walls. Beds freshly made with lovely linens, piles of fluffy white towels and that just-cleaned from top to bottom air that anyone who uses self-catering accommodation regularly is always so relieved to find. A welcoming card and bottle of wine from the owners was a much appreciated gesture! Their attention to detail is very impressive, there are folders in the sitting room with information on the cottage, including instructions for all the appliances, local attraction information and detailed intineraries for walkers, to whom this part of Wales is particularly attractive.
An on-site bistro, the delightfully named 'Quackers', offers an imaginative and varied menu featuring organic local produce both for adults and children - not a chip in sight! Annette Wallace is a charming hostess/chef/waitress! Both the food (and drink) are excellent. This is a small venture in a small holiday park, so do make allowances - everything is freshly bought and cooked to order. Be prepared to book and if you can, order in advance. It makes life easier and it is definitely worth it! We can highly recommend the decadent chocolate fountain we treated ourselves to on our last evening at Brongwyn, Annette uses only the very best Belgian chocolate and provides delicious fresh fruit for dipping, as well as the obligarory marshmallows - it has to be experienced, but leave plenty of room!
The accommodation at Brongwyn is nestled among lovely grounds - a combination of beautifully maintained planting, traditional cottage garden and woodland. There are play areas for children, including a more robust swing set and climbing frame that my two larger darlings made plenty of use of during their stay. The gardens for the exclusive use of guests staying in the cottages are dotted with lovely garden furntiture and even barbecues for guests to use. There is also a laundry room with washers and dryers available.
My children particularly enjoyed the pool - it's one-depth water so very safe for children. Swimming without Stress, run by Ian and Cheryl Cross, offer one to one lessons at Brongwyn, for anyone wishing to learn to swim or improve their swimming. My son has progressed from a shivering clinging limpet to having a confidence in water I never expected him to posess and his sister has improved her strokes to the extent that she's enjoying swimming more than she ever has before. The teachers use the Alexander Technique and Shaw method - the whole process is very relaxed and very, very, effective. Have a look at their website: [--]
The nearest beach to Brongwyn at Mwnt is very nearby and picture-postcard scenic, though there's quite a steep descent to the sand. In general the whole surrounding area can be a challenge if you have any mobliity problems. I have slight walking difficulties after an injury and did not attempt the steps to the beach, but I was able to manage the uneven terrain and few steps around Brongwyn without any difficulty. The proprietors have a full and very detailed access statement on their website.
All in all, I can only recommend Brongwyn in the highest terms as a perfect venue for a family holiday. Forget about being miles from the shops - not strictly true, the small shop at the petrol station in the village stocks the basics - fill up the fridge, eat at Quackers, invest in a trashy novel and relax - it's quite addictive once you get the hang of it!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MichInTipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardigan
3.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
835 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
451 reviews
7.9 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ffynonwen Country Guesthouse & Restaurant
2.7 mi away
Cardigan Castle
Cardigan Castle
#1 of 15 in Cardigan
27 reviews
2.6 mi away
No photo provided
Glanhelyg B&B
#12 of 17 in Cardigan
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brongwyn Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brongwyn Holiday Cottages

Address: Brongwyn Mawr | Penparc, Cardigan SA43 1SA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Cardigan
Hotel Class:5 star — Brongwyn Holiday Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Brongwyn Holiday Cottages Cardigan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing