We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational Steaks Not To Be Missed”
Review of 1176

1176
Ranked #13 of 50 Restaurants in Cardigan
Description: Cantilevered above the medieval walls of Cardigan Castle, this iconic venue offers a range of light refreshments and meals to suit all tastes. With views overlooking the river Teifi on one side and the regency lawns of the castle grounds on the other, there is no better place to eat or enjoy a hot drink in Cardigan.
Restaurant details
Description: Cantilevered above the medieval walls of Cardigan Castle, this iconic venue offers a range of light refreshments and meals to suit all tastes. With views overlooking the river Teifi on one side and the regency lawns of the castle grounds on the other, there is no better place to eat or enjoy a hot drink in Cardigan.
Reviewed 22 February 2020 via mobile

Fabulous food in a great atmosphere. Excellent menu from 1176 now open for evening steak meals on a Friday and Saturday. Mouth watering food and although not cheap worth every penny. Also a very friendly staff make the night out a great pleasure. Certainly worth a visit.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank SUNXRAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2020 via mobile

Visited 1176 for the opening night of ‘Holdens Steakhouse’ and I cannot recommend it enough. Best steak I have ever had, cooked to perfection! Staff were attentive and knowledgeable, service was great, atmosphere was perfect - can’t wait for our next visit.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank latchfordlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2020

I just got back from 1176 where my wife Carol and I shared a "Butchers Block" steak meal. It's four cuts of grass-fed Welsh beef, sourced from my favourite butcher Dewi James, which is next door.

The meal was fantastic. Since I moved to Wales some years ago I've been impressed with the quality of the food, and this is with the best of the best.

No gimmicky food, a simple menu cooked superbly.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Catweazle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2020

Group of 8 staying in the Castle's East Wing. We usually self cater for breakfast but all agreed to take advantage of being within the Castle grounds and having Breakfast prepared. We were not disappointed and all thoroughly enjoyed a freshly prepared locally sourced meal. Would highly recommend

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank marktQ4436ER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2020

Stayed bb in town house. 4 happy friends had great freshly prepared meal. Quality of all ingredients first class. Great service and lovely view over river. We cant wait to go again.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 829paulinew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1176 also viewed

Cardigan, Ceredigion
Cardigan, Ceredigion
 
Cardigan, Ceredigion
St. Dogmaels, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to 1176? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.