We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to stay and explore Barmouth...”
other travellers have booked this property
Anchorage View is elevated, providing far reaching sea views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Anchorage View is elevated, providing far reaching sea views
Grade II listed with elevated position overlooking the famous Barmouth bridge and with sea views The rear garden is perfect for BBQs or to just relax and read a book
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Anchorage View is elevated, providing far reaching sea views
Grade II listed with elevated position overlooking the famous Barmouth bridge and with sea views
The rear garden is perfect for BBQs or to just relax and read a book
Traditional features throughout the house really make this a house with a sense of history.
The country cottage kitchen overlooking the rear garden is perfect for preparing those BBQs
The dining space is part of a great day-time space which includes a sitting area.
The living space is great for admiring the views in comfort.
Views from the house towards Barmouth bridge
The second single room next to the living room so suites older children. It has great bridge views.
The single room next to the main bedroom has great views ... you may not want to close the curtains.
...... or enjoy the views out to Cader Idris, beautiful walking or just sit and admire.
...... or the estuary as the tide swells and receeds each day ........
From the front, sit and watch the far reaching sea views......
A dedicated parking space is available just opposite the house
Fabulous walking on the Cader Idris range.
Beautiful Barmouth.......
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Barmouth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Manny E
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay and explore Barmouth - great owner, great facilities”
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We wanted a quick break by the seaside with family and dogs, my brother found this little gem!

It's the end of October and a special birthday for our Mum so we planned a surprise get away with our 2 dogs for her. Owner Caz responded straight away and let us have an early check in and a late check out (out of season rental obviously!) She was really friendly and advised us where to go etc.

You can never be too sure of photos but let me assure you this is one of the warmest, best equipped places you could hope to stay. With 2 log burners, a great shower (with instant hot water) it was a lovely cosy stay. On arrival we found Tea, Coffee, Sugar, Chocolate Biscuits, Welsh Cheese and Welsh butter - which was a lovely touch. There is Wifi included, and it works quickly and the TV's are new and set up with internet TV - all explained thoroughly in the handbook on the table by the kitchen. Theres a DVD player in the big lounge downstairs.

The house is arranged over 4 floors and if you're not good with stairs - it might not be the property for you. However for us it was not an issue. The Grade II listed property has been restored to a stylish finish without destroying the character of the property and I loved exploring all the little nooks and cupboards. You do have to watch your head in certain areas when going up or down the stairs but that just made us laugh as we took bets on who'd hit theirs first! The beds are exceptionally comfortable with plenty of pillows, duvets and lovely bedding.

We love to cook so a well equipped kitchen is an essential for us and I was pleased to discover a full range of pans, sharp knives (yes proper ones) and all the utensils I could possibly need for cooking. The hob is a new induction type and the fan oven is excellent too. The little terraced garden is lovely out of the kitchen and very private. If you have dogs that need grass for their business, just across the road is a little grass park - very handy for us!

We loved being in Barmouth, our first time exploring there and walking for miles each day. The beaches are stunning and we found it a wonderful, friendly place to visit. But the highlight for us was coming back each day to such a cosy, pretty house and lighting the fires to settle down for some excellent family time. Sitting by the front windows and watching the tide going in or out was wonderfully relaxing.

We will definitely be returning both to the house and to the beaches surrounding it! Thank you for an excellent visit Caz.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from the windows at the front and comfy beds
Liked least: Nothing - it was perfect for us.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
David. Thanks for a great review. I am so pleased that it suited your needs and that you enjoyed it so much.....and the area of course! We do try and ensure that our property helps families to relax and have fun in a stress free way and it is always a joy to here that a visit has been enjoyed so much. We would love to have you to stay anytime. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisJohn...
2 reviews
“Beautiful place!”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

It's such a delightful old fashioned house, yet it's filled with modern ammenties, which meant we could watch bake off live from Barmouth! The location is incredible, you're sat directly on the sea front which means you can spend hours peacefully watching the tide and rolling clouds. We of course slept in the quaint attic, it was magical, we watched the stars go by and even enjoyed a storm through the skylight! It was even a laugh trying to navigate the tiniest of stairs!
You're not too far from the town, it's a nice walk away and we spent many a day mulling around the shops. There's plenty else to do with great nearby biking and hiking trails, great food and of course the beach!
We will definitely be visiting again! Thanks for a great time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2016
Chris, so glad you had a great stay and enjoyed stars and storms! Love to see you back soon. Do be aware that during the winter months the bedroom in the attic is being moved to make it more accessible, you can still enjoy the historic staircase and relax to watch the stars in our newly refurbished den.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Bernar...
1 review
“Barmouth at its best”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This superb house owned by some very friendly people is really beyond any good superlatives one can use. A superb setting, very comfortable, very convenient for town and beaches not to mention the iconic Barmouth Bridge - what a view from the bedroom window. The digital TV takes some mastering though, free view would be much better as we could then watch the BBC local news and ITV live, but that is a minor point and do not let it put you off taking the ojoy it.pportunity to stay in a house which is the on e you would then compare others to. Highly recommended, you will en

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of Barmouth Bridge
Liked least: The digital TV system
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind comments on the house , I am so pleased that you had a good stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snontay
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful location, amazing views and attentive owners.”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Three generations stayed in this lovely house. It is quirky with its thick walls, sloping ceilings and interesting rooms, which are all newly decorated and immaculate. We loved the views from the windows to the front of the house and relished being able to see both the estuary and the harbour ,which was a treat for the children as they opened their curtains in the morning ! The bedroom in the loft space is unique and can only be used by nimble folk and older children. The loo wasn't working but the owner had told us this prior to arriving and we agreed to go ahead with the stay. The owner was attentive, on the end of a text at any time we should need her and the arrival treats of local cheese, butter, milk and delicious fudge were lovely touches to make a lovely stay even better !! Having a designated parking space was a bonus and the use of the car park pass for the town was very useful. The location is perfect to access the town whilst enjoying the benefits from the elevated position and being able to opt in and out of the busy areas, to enjoy the views and the comfort of this house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, cleanliness and the contact with the owner.
Liked least: Second toliet not working.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
I am so pleased that your family had a lovely stay in barmouth and enjoyed our historic property - quirks and all! Thanks for the words on the welcome pack, we have tried to source local products as much as possible. We would love to welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary C
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I stayed here with my wife at the beginning of July.

We have visited Barmouth many times and where looking on a suitable place to take our dog and luckily found this property.

We could not recommend it anymore its well equipped and spacious and is perfectly place with only a 5 minute walk to the town.

We would defiantly stay here again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your review. I am really pleased that you, your wife and your lovely hound had a good stay. It would be lovely to see you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie C
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday ”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This house was absolutely stunning

A great place to walk, run, kayak, swim from a real gem of a find.

Easily accommodated a group of ladies over 4 immaculate floors

Lovely guest welcome touches by the host.

Nothing short of perfect.

Will definitely use again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Marie. Many thanks for your kind review. It is great that you enjoyed the area, I believe it is a hidden gem often overlooked. We look forward to having you and your guests back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing