We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B. Came as guests, treated like family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wavecrest Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wavecrest Guest House
Ranked #7 of 24 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B. Came as guests, treated like family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We came as guests and were treated like family. The location was perfect, the welcome we received was very warm and friendly. The service was 10/10. The breakfast was beautiful. This was the first time we were staying in a Bed & Breakfast and we will definately be using Wavecrest again. Cannot recommend highly enough

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amm0G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
112
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
xaviers
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

What can we say except 100% happy. We stayed for 3 nights during the line dancing festival weekend and can honestly say it was perfect in every way. We had spent some time reading the reviews on various guest houses on this road and this one stood out as the cleanest and most friendly, so we wanted to check for ourselves just how accurate they were, and we were not in any way disappointed. From the moment we arrived on Friday until the morning we left on Monday there was not a single thing that we could find to complain about.

I, like many others have got to mention the fantastic full breakfast of bacon, sausage, beans, egg (any style like including scrambled), grilled tomato and black pudding (and toast - either brown or white or a combination).

I'd just like to thank Shelagh for the use of her freezer for our ice-packs that kept our drinks nicely cold when we were on the beach.

We have already decided to make another weekend trip to Barmouth and there are no doubts where we will be staying.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor in a room with a bath (and a hand-held shower head). Fantastically comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xaviers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed five days at Wavecrest in a sea view room and could not fault anything about our visit
One thing for sure this is a little gem, and the one place we have arrived as guests and left behind
two special people (Shelagh & Eric) who we consider as friends.

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms are spectacular outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed overnight at Wavecrest in a sea view room on the 2nd floor. Our room was beautifully furnished, had crisp cotton bedding, was spotlessly clean and had an excellent view of the sea :)

The owners were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. And the breakfast was delicious.

Wavecrest is in a convenient spot on Marine Parade which is only about 5 mins walk to the town centre.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gymslipanniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

This is a B&B to be recommended! Spotlessly clean with a good bed in a comfortable room. Our room did not have a sea view but my wife and I could use the sitting area at the front of the premises on our floor to have our hot drinks. The breakfasts were the best quality we have ever had at a B&B with fresh fruit and a wonderful selection of sausage, bacon and black pudding of the finest quality. The hosts were very friendly and helpful with our last-minute booking and even provided biscuits and fresh milk on arrival. The value-for-money is exceptional. The Jetsons.

Room Tip: If you book early you can have a front room with a great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I spent one night here in a single room whilst on a cycling holiday through wales. The hosts were really lovely, the views were spectacuar, the room was spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious (including the coffee!!). And it was excellent value. I cant recommend Wavecrest highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christym101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We have stayed at other b/b in Barmouth when vistied famley, but this was the best, made welcome when we arrived showed to our room offered fresh milk and biscuits.
Breakfest was great even to much for my husband, if like me not a big eater say not to much as I felt guilty leaving it , great couple running it.

Room Tip: If you like a bath and not a shower ask as not all rooms have bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d123265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crystal House
Crystal House
#15 of 24 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Richmond House
Richmond House
#4 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wavecrest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wavecrest Guest House

Property: Wavecrest Guest House
Address: 8 Marine Parade, Barmouth LL42 1NA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wavecrest Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Wavecrest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wavecrest Guest House Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing