We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely beach race”
Review of Lawrenny Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lawrenny Lodge
Ranked #9 of 23 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

me and my 10 year old son came to barmouth to see the beach race we do this every year . we haven't stayed in the lodge before the best way to say what I want to say is they are lovely couple and so kind . they should be so proud of what they have got to offer any one looking for a lovely stay cant fault anything at all best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed in .regards john and gabrie

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Lawrenny Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 days, very clean and comfortable. Breakfasts are rather special, bread is homemade (toast was superb) as was the marmalade and the muffins. Different breakfast specials daily and the muffins are a different flavour every day. We enjoyed our stay but Barmouth has changed in the 30 years since we last visited, it is very tired. We arrived on Monday afternoon, walked into the town early evening and was surprised to find most restaurants closed.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the estuary do get some noise from the road but the views are well worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watto22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed in room 5 for a couple of nights, room was small, but didn't feel cramped. Arrived quite late (9.30pm,) but was welcomed and shown to room.
Breakfast was nice, maybe more options for vegetarians as not all daily specials was suitable for non meat eaters, wasn't a major problem as continental buffet selection was good.
Friendly owners took time to talk to you, and give advice of what to see and do in area. Would recommend, and stay there again.

Room Tip: room 5 good at cheaper price if on budget
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TsLondon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I'll keep it simple. Lovely house, lovely staff, lovely room, lovely view, lovely food.. Would recommend this to everyone. I will certainly be returning to this lovely place. Cannot give it enough credit

Room Tip: No 7. Lovely. Views across the Mawddach. yes, you've guessed it. As good as it gets.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Arrived Friday 13th !, parked in their car-park......tea and home made welsh cakes on arrival. Room 6 is decored to a very good standard including the en-suite ( very modern ), with toiletries. Bedding excellent, tea / coffee / biscuits etc in room. Breakfast, locally supplied produce was tasty and the toast is homemade bread, yum. Excellent view from the sea facing conservatory.
This abode is very well placed for Barmouth town ( we walked to the pub in the evening ) and most local info can be supplied by Adrian & Robyn.
Should Barmouth be a visiting point for us again then here would be a good place to phone first.
Many thanks Alan & Chris.

Room Tip: Difficult to say, we were in room 6 up 2 flights at the side of the building, but would willingly as...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stopped in room 8 wonderful views lovely and very clean. We stopped for two nights wished it was more.Bathroom n bedroom very clean. Mattress very comfy.Coffee cookies supplied. The full English breakfast is out of this world and very filling. We would highly recommend lawrenny lodge we will def be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starr39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

If you over look the fact the lawrenny needs a little sprucing its a nice little place the owners are pleasant and try to accomadate your needs , we had a small room which was spotless the only fault we found was the show got very slippy it could be a hazard, could possibly put those little stick on feet which would make thing a little safer breakfast was fab and filling plenty of choice it is only a 10min walk to the centre of things so good all rounder

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simbaCheshireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
211 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#3 of 23 in Barmouth
271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#1 of 23 in Barmouth
161 reviews
2.1 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawrenny Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawrenny Lodge

Address: Aberamffra Road, Barmouth LL42 1SU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range: £72 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lawrenny Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated on the edge of Barmouth overlooking Cardigan Bay and the Mawddach estuary. Five-minute walk from the beach, town and harbour. Eight en-suite rooms all with digital TV and hospitality tray. Substantial breakfast with options. Own private car park. A perfect location for exploring the breathtaking scenery of Snowdonia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lawrenny Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawrenny Hotel Barmouth
Lawrenny Lodge Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing