We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miserable child hating woman - Not a people person”
Review of Lawrenny Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lawrenny Lodge
Ranked #6 of 24 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miserable child hating woman - Not a people person”
Reviewed 3 August 2009

On arrival we were (not!!) greeted by Chantal (co owner) who didn;t smile and and also ingnored our dog (suposed to be a dog friedly place!) and looked disgusted at our 12 yr old Son. This set the tone for the entire week with the rare smile never reaching her eyes, totally false in other words, made us wonder why she is working in an industry where people skills are all important!! Having said that her husband at least made an effort to be welcoming and cheerful whether this was forced cheerfulness who knows?? The cleanliness was 100% though bordering on OTT at times, changed sheets twice during a week's visit for example. The veiws were stunning and a great locoation. Breakfast was ok but not much choice though did cater for gluten free.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogloverGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantal33, Owners at Lawrenny Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2009
To say this review took us by surprise is an understatement. It really hurt us considering we had no difficulties with the party and especially not with the young lad mentioned. We remember things rather differently and can only conclude that our refusal to allow them to leave their dog in the room while out for the day was the turning point. We did in fact, relent and allow the dog to be left when they went out each evening (not something we allow and certainly never will again!) We thought we were helping and certainly didn't see this coming! Ah well, we'll chalk it all up to experience and hope our other reviews speak for themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    35
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
118
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2009

A last minute booking at Lawrenny Lodge which was very much enjoyed. Chantelle and Toby were excellent hosts, friendly and helpful. Due to last minute booking we didn't have a room with a view at all but it made no difference to our stay. The room was beautifully clean, pleasantly furnished with everything we needed. We only stayed for 1 night but would love to go back again. Breakfast was excellent and served with a large portion of thought and cheerfulness. did lots of walking and fishing, for once our Dobermann was worn out! Thank you to our hosts for opening our eyes to how a pet friendly bed and breakfast should be run. Excellent value if your travelling with or without you pet.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naughtydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

We enjoyed our stay in Barmouth, Lawrenny Lodge is just a short walk from the town & close to a small public garden & "The Bridge". Our room was large & comfortable with sea view. Breakfasts ample ~ freshly cooked ~ delicious. We didn't sample evenings meals choosing to eat out in near by establishments with outdoor eating areas. Weather was so hot. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobynAdrian, Owner at Lawrenny Lodge, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Please note that as from May 2011 we only have 2 dog friendly rooms available
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Lawrenny Lodge was a great place to stay. We didn't need to move our car until we went home. Perfect location on the outskirts of Barmouth near the railway bridge, so ideal for the Mawddach trail and other walks. Bus stops nearby too. The owners are friendly and helpful, our room was perfect with lovely views over the estuary. Lovely breakfasts. Dogs welcome. We would love to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

We wanted a perfect location to start from for walking days, safe car park for our Ural sidecar ready for motorbike days and possible train trips, coastal views to explore. We needed a warm home as base camp which we found sharing Toby and Chantal's home for nine days! They had loads of walking ideas, were ready to look after us if we needed drying out and their dogs Thunder and Storm gave us comfort while missing our own dogs left looking after our house back in Gloucester! With luggage and me I am afraid there is no room left for Rumpole (golden retriever) and Rufus (lurcher) in the sidecar!
Breakfasts excellent! Wheat and Cow's milk free catered for no problem.

We walked the Mawddach Estuary, walked over the railway bridge many times to enjoy shorter circular walks, used the bus service, took the train to Porthmadog on a gloomier day and visited the Ffestiniog Railway, exciting developments there this year to look out for and on a bike day rode over to Llanberis, (taking shots of bike with Snowdon in the background!) and went down into the Electric Mountain!

Our 35th Wedding Anniversary meal turned into a trip over to Fairbourne on Emily (Ferry Skipper Joh Raymond) and a walk to Fairbourne with wonderful Indian food at Indiana Cuisine (recommend booking its popular), ferry back to Barmouth home and dry!

We hope we can come back another year and do some of the many things we did not have time to do. Check out the Barmouth website. It is a really lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UralGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

Having stayed in Barmouth several times before we had seen this hotel and loved the location. It is at the bottom of the Panorama Road on the edge of town which is close enough to everything but just out enough to not be noisy.

There is carparking which is another bonus for such a reasonably priced hotel in Barmouth.

When we arrived we were first greeted by the very content hotel cat, Brush, who was asleep on the sofa in reception. A happy cat is always a good sign as far as we are concerned so took this as a good omen.

We were then welcomed by Chantal who is really friendly and helpful. As we had booked late for the Bank Holiday weekend the only room left was a standard but this was absolutely fine. There was a side seaview in the surprisingly spacious and well presented room. The bathroom was lovely.

Breakfast was excellent, especially the sausage which is locally sourced.

Toby & Chantal are always helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to help.

This is the most animal friendly place we have ever stayed. I think we were the only guests without a dog. If you don't like animals this isn't the place for you. Having said that, the whole of Barmouth is dog-friendly so it's probably not the town for you if you dislike dogs.

This is an excellent place to stay with brilliant service. If you like quintessential seaside towns then Barmouth is perfect. The Lawrenny Lodge would be the icing on the cake.

Well done!

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Disliked — Some of the other guests!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auroras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
375 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
417 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#2 of 24 in Barmouth
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawrenny Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawrenny Lodge

Property: Lawrenny Lodge
Address: Aberamffra Road, Barmouth LL42 1SU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lawrenny Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated on the edge of Barmouth overlooking Cardigan Bay and the Mawddach estuary. Five-minute walk from the beach, town and harbour. Eight en-suite rooms all with digital TV and hospitality tray. Substantial breakfast with options. Own private car park. A perfect location for exploring the breathtaking scenery of Snowdonia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Lawrenny Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawrenny Hotel Barmouth
Lawrenny Lodge Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing