We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean but decor dated”
Review of Arbour Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arbour Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very clean but decor dated”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We booked into this hotel late in the evening after a rained out camping trip. There were 2 adults & 3 children in our party & we were given a large family room. The room was really spacious & very clean. We had a drink in the bar in which children are welcome but the lounge was for adults only so spent the evening in our room. Breakfast was really nice & staff friendly. The hotel has a great position on the seafront, the only real complaint would be that the room was far too hot & we had to open all the windows. In truth the decor did need updating but for a place to lay your head for a night or two I'd more than happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing rooms if the view is important to you as rear room look out onto other buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqui s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    19
    9
    8
    11
See reviews for
25
51
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

BedRoom was comfortable, clean and fairly spacious. Window overlooked fire escape, waste pipes and a filthy roof at the back. Security terribly poor due to anyone could have got into room through open window via fire escape. Therefore unable to leave window open at any time. Room very over- warm although no heating on...? Bathroom - no shampoo, bath gel etc at all. One tiny bar of soap for 2 people - 4 nights ! Price list on wall for toiletries etc., ! We had brought all we needed luckily. Far too regimented, 43 people queueing for dinner and breakfast (we were part of a coach load). Pool provided (apparently) but unable to use as no towels provided.Unbelievable.
Staff were friendly though overall.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Booked in a family room for 146 pounds a night,,only to be greeted by the most unfriendly manageress possibly in the whole world...she obviously hated kids,,peter kaye would ov struggled to make her smile,people who give this place more than one star are probably family members........regemental and patronising..unclean and unfriendly...and to cap it all off the worst breakfast ever...spent most my time down the road at another hotel where the manager and staff treated you like an adult and knew how to smile...guess where im bookin imto next time...stay well away people

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bigledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This is a good hotel and very reasonable price wise, it is very well run and staff are friendly and well organised, set on the promanade with good sea views, only a few minutes walk from the town and directly opposite the beach.
The rooms are a little dated, but very clean
Dining room service good.

Room Tip: its well worth paying a little extra for sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honest011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This hotel wasd the ponly hotel available with a family room. We took the room for 3 nights at a cost of £290. The sea view was fine. It is a large 3 story hotel with parking for approximately 8 cars. Whilst the room was spacious and clean there are not shower facilities. We found this out after we had paid for the room. if you wsnt a room with a shower do not go on the 3rd floor because the water pump does not have the power. Brekfast was "organised" almost regimental and the beans were not brand beans.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

we stayed at the arbour hotel 11th-14th aug. we would like to thank karen, steve & all the staff for a great stay. our room was very comfortable & clean. food was also very good with good choices for both breakfast & evening meals. karen & steve are really nice & were really understanding when we returned from a bit of a disastrous day out. we will definately be going back again & fully recommend anyone to stay there

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolyncarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed for one night in a family room over looking sea, marvelous location, hotel has a lot of potential , carpets worn, old fashioned furnishing,{ can't stand carpets in bathrooms,} whole place in need of refurbishment, stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, food quality quite good, hotel staff very freindly and obliging,lounge bar ok but lacks atmosphere,the hotel has a lot of rules and regulations a bit over the top , check out is 10am a bit too early in our opinion,

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christof247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
200 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#2 of 24 in Barmouth
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbour Hotel

Property: Arbour Hotel
Address: | The Promenade, Barmouth, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Number of rooms: 261
Also Known As:
Arbour Hotel Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing