We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Confortable Hotel”
Review of Arbour Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arbour Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean and Confortable Hotel”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel last week and had a wonderful few days. The bedroom was very comfortable and clean, with beautiful views. The food was very good and plentiful served by a very cheerful, efficient waitress. The owners were always on hand for advice as to where to go and what to do around the area. We certainly hope to go stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    18
    9
    8
    11
See reviews for
25
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

If you want a clean comfortable hotel with good food and pleasant staff then this is the hotel for you.Travel lodge its not ,its a personable hotel where nothing is too much trouble and run by Karen and Steve who oversee everything and all I can say is a big Thank You and we hope to see you again in the future

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brynsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Cannot fault this hotel,owners steve and karen helpful at all times. staff outstanding 10/10 for meals and choice .Room vey pleasant clean and spacious.Easyto find ,parking on site or plenty in adjacent surroundings
A mixed selection of clientel all of which could only praise the hotel and staff,Good location out of the centre of town,so no boisterous behaviour at night yet close enough to all amenities and other hotels and public houses,harbour only a short walk. Two indian restaurants within walking distance,plenty of sites with sea food available,mind if you eat in the arbour hotel ,you will not require any of these. We booked the three day deal bed/breakfast and evening meal .Full english,or staff are pleased to do a variety on this menu .The welsh dragon breakfast,or varieties of beans on toast /eggs on toast etc ,as well as a variety of first courses ,cereals/fruit juice etc.
Evening mals four choices of starter,the same with the main meal,and tea or coffee to finish Drinks from the bar available with the dinner and notat the inflated prices you pay in some hotels To be honest the price of drinks were only slightly up on my local. As aid in the title (going back again) Well done Steve and Karen 100% recommendation to you both asd also to your excellent staff

Room Tip: pay the extra get a sea-view well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel in 2012. We arrived incredibly late due to car problems and heavy traffic but the hotel owners were very accomodating despite this.

My first impression of the hotel was that it was very dated. It had a horrible 1970's-esc interior with the sort of old carpets you would find in Del Trotters living room. We were then directed to an elevator which took us to the floor we would be staying on. The room was nothing special. I don't expect to have a lap of luxury but the room wasn't even homely or comforting, it was just as stale and dingy as the rest of the hotel.

I was further disapointed by the time we had sat down for breakfast the next morning. We were askes what we would like our breakfast to include (eggs, tomatoes, bacon etc..). At this point we explained that we only really like bacon and sausage and would therefore prefer a sandwich of this...rather than a plate with a few pices of meat on! The waitress (who never smiled once, the whole time we stayed there) looked at us dumbfounded and explained she couldn't allow us pices fo bread to make a sandwich. It was almost like she was scared to break the strict rules the hotel must have in place. So we relented and just had a plate with a piece of bacon each and a couple of sausages. The sausages were disgusting and had more rusk than pork in. The bacon was good. However, what REALLY annoyed me about the whole experience was that when we each tucked into our bacon rasher, the waitress returned to our table with a large rack of toast that we didn't even ask for!! So we were not allowed a few pieces of bread to satisfy our tastes but we HAD to have a rack of toast that we didn't even want! We ate elsewere from then on.

Another thing that really bugs me about this hotel is the price. We payed nearly £200 for a two night stay. Thats £50 PP/PN. The swimming pool didn't really make up for the price we payed as it was very small and we felt like we were being an inconvenience by asking to use it.

In conclusion, there are several lovely b&b's/hotels in the direct vincinity of the Arbour hotel that offer wonderful breakfasts (sandwiches included!), a home away from home atmosphere and friendly staff for HALF THE PRICE of this 'hotel'. I should have listend to the bad reviews before I went.

If you don't mind tacky surroundings at a high price, this hotel will be perfect for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedworth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Having arrived in Barmouth around 1930 in the pouring rain, bedragled and soaked we went into the hotel unanounced and asked if they had a room with a sea view. The manager was most helpful even though he was busy taking phone calls, he showed us the room we had been allocated and we were more than happy with what we saw. The room was clean and tidy. The price we paid for our two night stay was very good value and the sea view was superb. Although we were late it was not too much trouble for them to fit us into the restaurant for a meal. The staff were courteous and well mannered. Because the food was so good we ate there on both nights, the food was excellent and good value for money. No complaints from us, except we couldn't stay longer, we will be returning as soon as we get the chance.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9, overlooking the beach and sea, 1st floor, no noise from other residents or outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We have just returned from our fifth three night special offer break at the Arbour. These breaks are fantastic value for money at £125 for bed,breakfast and evening meal. We find it worth while to pay the extra charge for a sea view room. The owners are great people and you always feel welcome. Highly recommended! Christine Kelly , Warwick

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChristineRKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Excellent hotel run very efficiently by Karen & Steve,very clean, nicely decorated, food excellent,very well organised restaurant nothing was to much trouble for the staff, very enjoyable weekend.there were 5 in our party all eating different meals no complaints with any of them.will visit there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ollie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#1 of 23 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal House
Crystal House
#14 of 23 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond House
Richmond House
#4 of 23 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbour Hotel

Property: Arbour Hotel
Address: | The Promenade, Barmouth, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Number of rooms: 261
Also Known As:
Arbour Hotel Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing