We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still the best in barmouth and still a friendly and hospitable place to stay”
Review of Crystal House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crystal House
Ranked #12 of 23 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“still the best in barmouth and still a friendly and hospitable place to stay”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

we stayed agaijn at this b and b as the last time it was superb- the friendliness, helpfulness and hospitality was as before. The beds- very comfortable, the people- lovely, they couldn't do enough for us, the food excellent and cooked the way we liked. The price was incredibly reasonable. Very family orientated. Simply the best.

Room Tip: doesn't really matter but the coastal view from the front uis breathtaking and worth the small e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silcock357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    28
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
36
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

I've stayed in hotels all over the world with friends and we all agreed that this was one of the best. What makes this hotel so nice can be said by the following reasons. It's a family-run hotel, which gives it a real happy feel, the breakfast's are top notch (Steve, your the next Heston)! The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The hotel is in a prime location, only a minute's walk (if that) to the town and the beach is literally across the road. Katie and Steve (the owners) really do run this place not only with their minds but with their hearts. That's what really makes a hotel so great.

Chris, Jade & Jake.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

First time visit,stayed just the one night, couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for the price we paid. a big thank you to the owners. The breakfast was great. The service was fantastic. Free WiFi.(bonus) very family friendly.we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank druskinspikus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed here for one night on a short break to Barmouth. We found it very friendly and welcoming on arrival. The room, although basic, was impeccably clean and had everything we required. The beds were comfy and our son and daughter loved the bunk-beds. The ensuite was huge and very clean and there was bubble bath, shower gel and shampoo provided.
Katie couldnt have been more helpful and we very much enjoyed breakfast sat in the window with a view of the sea front, the breakfast was tasty and exactly what we had ordered. Our children were made to feel very welcome at breakfast with exactly what they like provided. The hotel is very welcoming to children.

We would recommend it and would definitely stay here again. Thanks Simon, Laura, Luca and Gabi Edwards xx

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraDora29072811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I wanted a day in Barmouth and chose the Hotel because of its location,[right on the front with a view of the beach] We called and spoke to Steve, Katies husband and he duly booked us in. When we arrived [a little early] he and Katie couldn't do enough to help [offered to carry luggage and sorted the room immediatley] The room itself was a family room overlooking the beach and the sea on the third floor. The view was amazing the room was clean, had a small fridge and tea making facilities with biscuits plus a small tele.
Steve and Katie where brilliant and you could see they where proud of ther place!
Katie made breakfast in the morning [to order] with plenty of choice and all freshly prepared food and we went on our way!
Couldn't have had better sevrvice anywhere!!

Room Tip: Don't pinch this room its mine! The view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roy_bennett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a weekend here at the end of March. The place was adequate with very friendly proprietors who went out of their way to make sure everything was ok. The room we stayed in was nice, just one small critisism is that there is no mirror in the bedroom, I had to risk life and limb by dragging my hairdryer into the bathroom!!

Fantastic brekkie, really nice- and lots of it.

Barmouth is a small place, and of an evening there isn't a lot to do, we went for a nice curry at the Saffron Restaurant which is worth a trip.

The bridge walk alongside the railway was fantastic and I got some fabulous pictures.

We would return to this neck of the woods again, but maybe not to Barmouth ....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyjayne66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crewe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed here for 1 night with granddaughter ,nice clean bedroom and bathroom.
Ideal location just a stones throw from the beach ,no noise in the evening and very friendly couple .We had the last room available, we couldn't have a sea view but our fault for not booking early enough and missed a beautiful sunset.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angels_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#1 of 23 in Barmouth
124 reviews
1.5 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#2 of 23 in Barmouth
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal House

Property: Crystal House
Address: 19 Marine Parade, Barmouth LL42 1NA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run B&B in the seaside town of Barmouth. We have 8 rooms, all with en suite shower rooms. We have single rooms, twin rooms, double rooms and family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Crystal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal House Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing