We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of Crystal House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crystal House
Ranked #11 of 24 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burntwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My grandson and I have just returned from a 2-night stay at the Crystal House Hotel. We stayed in room 6 which had wonderful views of the beach/sea from the bay windows. The room was clean and very comfortable. The owners Steve and Katie were very helpful and made us welcome. As other reviews; nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was very good. All in all if you are looking for a comfortable, friendly, well situated hotel that is very reasonably priced then Crystal House is the ideal choice. We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Room Tip: Well worth paying a few pound extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    29
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
24
38
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

we took up 2 family rooms at the Chrystal House Hotel in barmouth and have to say it was wonderful. The family that run the b & b are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. This is not a luxury hotel, but if you want cheap and cheerful with somewhere to lay your head after a long day at the beach and a good breakfast the following morning then this is the place for you. Will definitely be returning and will recommend this b 7 b to anyone visiting barmouth.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were able to stay again at this super place- still very homely, clean and very accommodating. The people are really nice and provide a great atmosphere every time we stay- just can't fault it. Thank you Crystal House.

Room Tip: all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silcock357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Chose Crystal House after reading the good reviews here on Tripadvisor!
In short... Location fab, lovely little sea view family room, nice owners and great breakfast
BUT very disappointed when we arrived to find a very tired and unkempt front of house! Sadly the inside wasn't much better. Considering we arrived at the start of the season I don't think this place has had a deep clean in quite some time! Glad we only stayed 1 night.

Room Tip: if you choose to stay here ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickisj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrystalKatie, Owner at Crystal House, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry that you were not happy with all aspects of your stay with us, however we are slightly disappointed that the first we knew of this was this review. We chat to the majority of our guests on departure and you did not raise any issues with us at the time. We feel that we are approachable and willing to take constructive comments on board.

For current and prospective guest's information, the previous two reviews on TripAdvisor when sorted by date are for exactly the same room as this review. These are very positive reviews. Also, feel free to browse our photographs on our website and on TripAdvisor where you can see the rooms before you choose to book with us.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us and we hope to welcome you back to Crystal House Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Myself and boyfriend went for one night at Crystal house,,so close to amenties.Katie and Ste was very welcoming and genuine friendly hosts.The family room was surperb,very clean,everything we needed,breakfast was delicious,fantastic price,immaculate table set out,,Definitely will be back for a weekend with my daughter ,excellent B n B Tracy goldie and Darren Marsh.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrystalKatie, Owner at Crystal House, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

It was the first time we stayed for a couple of nights in Barmouth. We found Crystal House Hotel owners friendly, warm and welcoming. They went out of their way to make us feel at home and comfortable. The cooked breakfast was very filling and tasty. We didn't expect our room to be in such a beautiful and relaxed spot. Our room had the most amazing views across the sea and beach and the backdrop of mountains. Wonderful. The sunset were spectacular over Cardigan Bay and we could see this from the comfort of our room. We would definately go back again, it was a bargain!!

Room Tip: If you want a window with a fabulous view, then ask for the bay rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrystalKatie, Owner at Crystal House, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We have stayed 3 times as a couple and 1 time with myself and my young son we absolutley love to stay as you have allways made us feel welcome . We allways love to have room 9 the view is amazing . The cooked breakfast is great and you allways make sure we want for nothing .We look forward to seeing you later in the year . we have recomended you to all our family and friends .Please dont change anything you do, as it really is perfect thanks vanessa & dave

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
131 reviews
1.5 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#2 of 24 in Barmouth
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal House

Property: Crystal House
Address: 19 Marine Parade, Barmouth LL42 1NA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run B&B in the seaside town of Barmouth. We have 8 rooms, all with en suite shower rooms. We have single rooms, twin rooms, double rooms and family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crystal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal House Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing