We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break 30oc temporatures and perfect location”
Review of Sunray Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunray Guest House
Ranked #6 of 23 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Arrived at Sunray Guest House on Sunday 11am to avoid the weekend rush, room was quickly made ready so we were able to dump our over night bags (which contained enough for a week) and set off into the sunshine.

Danny and Lisa who run Sunray are very friendly and helpful made us feel very welcome. Room had a gorgeous view over the beach, was very clean, tidy, quiet and in a perfect location to wonder down to the harbor/beach and town and into Davy Jones Locker for breakfast.

A lovely break will return again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craigx75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thanks for a great honest review.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Sunray Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

have just returned home from a two nights stay at this great b&b.
we arrived on our motorbike on friday evening, drove up the drive and were ushered straight into the large garage by the owner who had a hosepipe in one hand watering the plants, and a glass of wine in the other ! The welcome was warm and friendly and we were shown to our room.
The room was well appointed and both it and the bathroom were spotlessly clean. The bedding was of a high quality and there were plenty of pillows.
The b&b is in the best location in the heart of the town, close to everything. There are stunning views front and back, and seating areas outside to admire the views.
The owners leave you to your own devices but are knocking around if you need them.
They don't provide breakfast, but there are two breakfast places within 50 yards of the front door. We had our breakfast at the anchor and were very pleased with the quality of the food.
We will use this b&b in the future, and wish the owners continued success with the little gem they have.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fireblade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thanks for a great honest review.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed at the Sunray and it is still top notch.Being a biker i need somewhere to store my bike and Danny lets you use his garage for this which gives peace of mind that your bike will be safe.Room was spotless as expected.Danny and Lisa do a great job of keeping the place in lovely order.The Sunray has to have the best location in town too,right on the harbour point so food and drink establishments are only a 2 minute walk away!
Thanks for another nice stay.Will see you again soon.
Lee and Jen Hopkins,Swansea.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lee h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thanks for a great honest review.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Picked the Sunray off the web as it came up as 'motorcycle friendly' - i.e., it has a large garage and the owner Danny is happy to lock your precious bike away in it.
Situated on the quay in the lovely little seaside town of Barmouth, the Sunray makes a great base for exploring the brilliant roads and attractions of mid-and-North Wales.
No breakfast provided but it's a minute's walk from a selection of cafes/pubs which serve it and other meals. Views superb and the beach is 30 seconds wak away.
Room in excellent condition - looked like it had just been refitted - with its own seperate entrance. Small but very clean bathroom with shower, flat screen TV, and tea making facilities.
Didn't meet Landlady Lisa (altghough she seemed very nice on the phone when taking my booking), Landlord Danny very friendly and happy to chat, as well as giving information on choice of local eateries and other facilities.
Building itself is gorgeous Art Deco-style edifice in commanding position overlooking the bay.
Absolutely no complaints at all - spent a very happy night here and will return with my family at some point.

Room Tip: Mine was twin room at back of the house with seperate entrance and sunset view. Means you don't...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for another great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Well all we can say is thank you, for making another stay with you both so memorable.... for all the right reasons!

This is the third year we have returned and stayed with Danny & Lisa. The first we came on a romantic break, the second i was pregnant and the sea air was to help my morning sickness and the third was our first family holiday with our new addition! Each stay has been lovely and gets better and better.

We have now stayed in a couple of the rooms, all of which are immaculate, great tea and coffee faciliaties, everything changed/fresh each day. The rooms are plenty big enough with more than enough room and we packed like we were staying for 2 weeks with 2 of us, a baby and a travel cot it was all very spacious we were far from climbing over each other. Bathroom was immaculate and very modern, water pressure from the shower is great aswell!

Danny and Lisa bent over backwards for our baby boy nothing was too much trouble which makes the break so much more easier for us as it is always a worry when taking a toddler away. Not only is it more than value for money it's a rareity these days to find such a place!

Good parking aswell we park right outside the door so there isn't a big walk to the car or worrying about parking attendants or time running out on a ticket.

You won't get a better view of Barmouth than from this place. Also the walk is literally a few yards to the best places to eat we enjoy "The Anchor" for breakfast and "The last Inn" for our evening meal, which i advise you book in advance for as it is so busy it is hard to walk in and get a table.

We Can't wait to come again! Matthew Emily & Baby Matthew

Room Tip: Our favourite is room 1 as it looks straight out over Barmouth harbour we enjoy watching the boats c...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for another great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This is a terrific guest house and the owners Danny & Lisa are really very special. Nothing is too much trouble for these guys, it was a pleasure to meet them and their lovely family. Our motorcycles were stored and looked after in the garage while we were free to come and go as we pleased. The location and hence views from the house are stunning, there are loads of pubs, restaurants, cafes within a short walk. The rooms are clean, tidy and tea/coffee topped up everyday, a comfortable quiet nights sleep (stayed in Room 5). The room rate does not include a breakfast but do not let this put you off, there are loads of breakfast options close by and this gives you more freedom with your wake up time!
Will be back to see Danny and Lisa as soon as possible and I recommend you do the same!

Room Tip: Room 5 is a family room if you need it with lovely views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkFilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Only 4 out of 5 for value you miserable lot !!!!! LOL :)
Thanks guys and glad you all enjoyed your stay, if they were all like you it would be a great world.
Look forward to seeing you next year and team leader with her indoors in July.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Welcome... brilliant
Room......brilliant
Cleanliness.........brilliant
Bike store.......brilliant
View from room ...... not saying go and check it out yourself !! ......... ok brilliant !!
thank you Danny & Lisa for making our stay so relaxing..we will be back !

Room Tip: any room will do !
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Well, what can we say ?? Thanks for that terrific review and look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
334 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#3 of 23 in Barmouth
271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#1 of 23 in Barmouth
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tal Y Don Hotel
Tal Y Don Hotel
#13 of 23 in Barmouth
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunray Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunray Guest House

Address: The Quay, Barmouth LL42 1HB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunray Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunray Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunray Guest House Hotel Barmouth
Sunray Guest House Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing