We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Barmouth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wimbs
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical holiday”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Myself my wife and our 2 young children spent a week at this wonderful 'cowshed' It was deceptively spacious and well kitted out. Its a great base to see all the wonderful sights of Snowdonia. Barmouth is a lovely seaside town and you can walk it from the cottage. Get down to the seafront and its a 20 minute walk. The views are stunning and the sunsets are magical. All in all we had a fantastic holiday and were so disappointed it had to end. Will definitely be returning!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you for the lovely comments and booking with Best of Wales. The coast and seaviews in Barmouth are fabulous and so glad you had a fantastic holiday. Hope that you return soon.
Suzanne from the Best of Wales Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scout6624
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Totally chilled.”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A great barn conversion just north of Barmouth in Llanaber which gives you the best of both worlds. It's so peaceful but the town is only a short walk away along the prom. The scenery that surrounds the cottage is lovely and their are sea views from the cottage.

The cottage itself is spacious and well equipped and simply but tastefully furnished which only enhances the relaxed atmosphere.

Expect a warm welcome because that's what you will get - the hosts are very friendly and very helpful too.

Looking forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed atmosphere
Liked least: Wifi would've been nice but there are plenty of places in Barmouth to catch up
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2017
Thank you for your comments. Barmouth has the most amazing beach with the mountains as a back drop, it really is a great combination of coast and countryside. The cottage offers plenty of space and we always offer a warm Welsh welcome.
Hope to welcome you back again soon
Suzanne- Best of Wales Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WardyWolv...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A well converted barn, in a nice quite location, just outside Barmouth”
Reviewed 5 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

This is a stone build cowshed, at the top of an unnamed road, just outside Barmouth on the main coast road to Harlech. The cottage is far enough from the main road, so its nice and quiet. The only traffic was the owner and the 1 more property. The property is oppersite an entrance to the owners farm yard
The conversion is done to a high standard. The property was very clean and tidy and well equiped with everything we needed. The oweners were very helpful and freindly, even waiting outside in the rain to welcome us and with some good local knowledge and a bottle of wine, thanks! The beach is massive, very clean and tidy, even at August Bank Hol was not too busy. The beach is 10/15 mins walk and you do have to cross the main coastal road to get their., then down a steep path

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High Spec conversion and the oweners were great!
Liked least: Crossing the main road
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Reviewed 25 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
York
Reviewed 13 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Location, comfort and the owners
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chester
Reviewed 2 June 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jun 2011
In reply to the comments left by our guest we, as the owners feel that we should clarify a few points as they do not do justice to the accommodation and differ completely from the other reviews on TripAdvisor and comments left in our visitor book by previous visitors.

We were surprised to see that our guests thought that the two single beds were for children as they are both two full sized single in a room with wardrobe, bedside cupboard and plenty of room around the beds. We have had 4 adults in the cottage in the past and received no comments regarding space. The view from the window has been commented upon several times in the past, but never as a hidden gem since the window in the lounge is a prominent feature.

When preparing cutlery and dishes for the cottage we always keep and eye on the number of guests expected in the accommodation and therefore for two adults, the glasses were of an adequate number.

The cottage has been renovated to a very high standard and includes full insulation in both the walls and roof - very little heating is required even during the cold winter months therefore the cost of oil is usually very low. Of course flooring etc is a matter of individual taste and the oak floor and fittings used in the upper part of the cottage are a feature as one enters the property, however the laminate in the bedrooms is of a high standard and does not merit a negative comment in our opinion.

Our barbecue is fully functional (we supply tools but not the charcoal - this is normal practice in properties) - built to complement the rustic nature of the accommodation. Again, as the comment book shows, it has been used and appreciated by a number of guests in the past.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oldham
Reviewed 28 October 2010 for a stay in September 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing