We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful And Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandpiper Guest House
Ranked #17 of 23 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Fabulous!! My husband and I stayed with our older two children for a fortnight from 10th - 24th August 2013. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners Ange and Roy. Very clean and very comfortable. Good nights sleep was had by us all. Very good choice of breakfasts - lovely cooked breakfast. 5 stars!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 8 great for families - double bed and bunk beds for the kids. Large bay window with settee for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

My wife and i stayed at the sandpiper last minute. Proprietors Angie, and Roy were very welcoming.
The room was clean and comfortable with en suite with shower, sea view, Trouser press, iron, and teasmade
Breakfast was a hearty full english with a choice of cereals and fruit juices.
Although no evening meals were served Angie put us onto the best places to dine out. ( we took the Indian choice. very nice too)
Price was a very good £65.00

Room Tip: Although we had a sea view it was extremely windy the night we stayed and this affected our sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gr4ntyw4nty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Hotel was clean and fine, room was good had a fridge as well as the usual tea making facilities. Breakfast lovely and plenty full. What a shame when we arrived early just to drop the bags off that he got all flustered and felt the need to swear!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bridge0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed at this gest house for fore nights and found it comfatable and clean
and found the staff nice and freindly and made us feel welcome and a supper breakfast was
a loverly meal to greet you in the morning . A great position on the sea front what could be better
i think you will love the place.

Room Tip: the sea view rooms are great the sun shines on them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Stayed for weekend during March and found this to be a cosy and quiet guesthouse with superb sea views,mountains and just a few hundred yards from town and other amenities. Arriving by car there is plenty of free parking out front, and just a short walk from railway station if arriving by train. The rooms are arranged over three floors but there is disabled facilities available on the ground floor. We had a top floor room with sea view which was amazing, and had plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. Also liked the fridge and alarm clock,trouser press, TV and CD player. Nice clean room with small en-suite but servicable and shower worked well. Very good breakfast cooked by Roy but ask Angie if you want something else. Oh and yes dogs are acceptable. Would probably stay again. Moses Uk

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking beach/sea/Mountains (but a bit of a climb)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MosesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My husband and I - (sometimes our son and his fiancee come with us), go to Barmouth twice a year and always stay at The Sandpiper. The owners, Angie and Roy, are excellent hosts. They look after their guests very well and always make your stay very enjoyable.The rooms are comfortable and well appointed with a fridge, trouser press, hairdryer, tv and sofa in the bay window overlooking the sea. The breakfast is excellent. The good thing about the breakfast is that you tick what you want and you can always change your choice for the next morning if you inform them before hand. If you expect 4 or 5 star luxury for their very reasonable price, then don't stay here.
They have many guests like us, who are regulars. Believe me we are very fussy when it comes to accommodation and do not return to a place if it does not meet our standard. This does meet our standard for the price and that is why we would not stay anywhere else in Barmouth.
We always look forward to our stay at The Sandpiper. Angie and Roy are a lovely couple and are always helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hellyb186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed for 1 night at The Sandpiper for a short weekend away. On arrival we were greeted by Roy who was very welcoming. We were able to check in around lunchtime. Angela showed us up to our room and was very helpful. The room had views of the mountains and the comfortable surroundings were very much welcomed when we returned from the town and the beach, as it was an extremely cold, windy and snowy few days in many parts. Breakfast was served between 8 and 9am with cereals, toast and cooked breakfast provided. Also a choice of tea/coffee or juice. Roy and Angela were very friendly and we hope to make a return visit when next in the area.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor. It is fine if you don't mind climbing 3 floors of stairs. Otherw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandcastleseafront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
407 reviews
0 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#1 of 23 in Barmouth
176 reviews
1.6 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 4 in Llanaber
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crystal House
Crystal House
#10 of 23 in Barmouth
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leamington House Hotel
Leamington House Hotel
#19 of 23 in Barmouth
36 reviews
0 mi away
Belle Vue
Belle Vue
#20 of 23 in Barmouth
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Guest House

Address: 7 Marine Parade, Barmouth LL42 1NA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range: £63 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandpiper is superbly situated on the seafront just across the road from Barmouth Sands and there is plenty of free parking. Strictly no smoking for the comfort of our guests, our accommodation is open from February to October. For those who prefer to travel by rail, we are within a short walk from main line railway station. The local line connects with several of the Great Little Trains of Wales. The area provides a variety of local and interesting footpaths, walks and climbs such as the Panorama Walk which has breathtaking views of the Mawddach estuary and many others. Barmouth is situated on the Cardigan Bay coastline at the mouth of the River Mawddach. The combination of sand, sea, Mountains and tranquility, together with one of Britain's most beautiful estuaries makes Barmouth an ideal holiday centre for both young and old, whatever their interest or tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sandpiper Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Guest House Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing