We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, clean, friendly, great location - what more could you want?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandpiper Guest House
Ranked #21 of 24 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Simple, clean, friendly, great location - what more could you want?”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We first used Sandpiper when me and Matt decided to get away from current life for a couple of days. At £30 per person a night, it was very reasonable. Booking was easy and Angela and Roy were very friendly and professional.

This time, I returned to Sandpiper with my Mum. We had two single rooms, one en-suite and one with a shared bathroom. Both rooms overlooked the fabulous beaches of Barmouth and Fairbourne. Prices were very reasonable at £33 pp pn. The rooms were simple, but comfortable. The beds are especially comfortable. I am not one to spend a lot of time in my room on holiday. They are a place to sleep at night, however Angela's attention to cleanliness is worthy of mention. One word, meticulous.

Breakfast is well cooked and pleasant to eat. Plenty of toast and a plate full of food. Food was nice and hot.

As for our hosts, Angela and Roy are friendly, courteous and professional. Nothing is too much trouble for them. They are very keen on railways and railway modelling, as the multitude of books, magazines and framed pictures will indicate. Anybody with an interest in railways would do well to stay here.

To sum up, Sandpiper is a no-frills B&B that provides nice, clean and comfortable accommodation for a modest price. I will definitely be returning and recommend anyone to come and stay at this little gem.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    12
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
23
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Comfortable,well appointed room (room 5 single en suite) with amazing sea views. High ceilings,light and airy, comfortable clean bed, tasteful decor and nice ensuite.
Breakfast well cooked and nice choice. All in all, great value for money and much better than the soulless chain type hotels.easy walking distance all on the flat to town and harbour where fishing boats come in and out all day as well as pleasure yachts etc.
Owners/managers friendly and keen for you to enjoy your stay. Barmouth has lots going for it, weekly market, try Ebeneezers emporium for good food and lots of gifts to buy. Also the Anchor inn was great for both daytime and evening food. Good walks, ferry across to Fairborne. A good day trip is to go up to Portmadog and get the stream train all the way to Caernafon, fabulous views and time in Caernafon too.

Room Tip: room 5 ensuite sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hendrix01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Lovely rooms, warm, clean and quiet, wonderful hosts and an amazing breakfast. We were only here for one night, but I would happily have stayed longer. The guest house is right on the front with plenty of places to eat within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Really nice pkace stayed 1 night sept 2013 freindly , clean spotless in fact.So welcoming had a really nice room bay window over looking sea and dunes with 2 seater setee to sit and enjoy view.Had our own fridge in room just such a realky nuce pkace and thanks to the owners for making our stay a really pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Very nice stayed one night really freindly place very welcoming and freindly couldnt do enough for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrlloyd12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile


Angie and Roy were very welcoming,but the room we stayed in was very very dated and tired looking.chipped and broken furniture bright orange walls and awful brown Drayton headboard and bedding only to be seen to be true, when pulling the sheet over there was fluff and hair in the bed! And the bedding looked as if it had been washed and used over and over again and looked well worn! The room was very dark and had one window with safety glass in which looked over a yard, not pretty! For £35 each no we wouldn't stay AGAINE!! Payed same price else where and had better!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Boggi59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Fabulous!! My husband and I stayed with our older two children for a fortnight from 10th - 24th August 2013. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners Ange and Roy. Very clean and very comfortable. Good nights sleep was had by us all. Very good choice of breakfasts - lovely cooked breakfast. 5 stars!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 8 great for families - double bed and bunk beds for the kids. Large bay window with settee for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My wife and i stayed at the sandpiper last minute. Proprietors Angie, and Roy were very welcoming.
The room was clean and comfortable with en suite with shower, sea view, Trouser press, iron, and teasmade
Breakfast was a hearty full english with a choice of cereals and fruit juices.
Although no evening meals were served Angie put us onto the best places to dine out. ( we took the Indian choice. very nice too)
Price was a very good £65.00

Room Tip: Although we had a sea view it was extremely windy the night we stayed and this affected our sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr4ntyw4nty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crystal House
Crystal House
#11 of 24 in Barmouth
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#2 of 24 in Barmouth
267 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tilman
The Tilman
#9 of 24 in Barmouth
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Guest House

Property: Sandpiper Guest House
Address: 7 Marine Parade, Barmouth LL42 1NA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandpiper is superbly situated on the seafront just across the road from Barmouth Sands and there is plenty of free parking. Strictly no smoking for the comfort of our guests, our accommodation is open from February to October. For those who prefer to travel by rail, we are within a short walk from main line railway station. The local line connects with several of the Great Little Trains of Wales. The area provides a variety of local and interesting footpaths, walks and climbs such as the Panorama Walk which has breathtaking views of the Mawddach estuary and many others. Barmouth is situated on the Cardigan Bay coastline at the mouth of the River Mawddach. The combination of sand, sea, Mountains and tranquility, together with one of Britain's most beautiful estuaries makes Barmouth an ideal holiday centre for both young and old, whatever their interest or tastes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Guest House Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing