We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend getaway”
Review of Bae Abermaw

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bae Abermaw
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We've just stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on a wowcher deal. Set above the estuary a few minutes walk from the centre of Barmouth, this hotel had an excellent location. Our room was very comfortable with a big bed and plenty of pillows. Although the heating had not been turned on in the room before our booked arrival the room did heat up quickly and the fairly powerful shower helped to warm us up.
The breakfasts were excellent. I'm vegetarian and it's rare that we are properly catered for at hotel breakfasts but they had a vegetarian sausage option made with leeks and cheese which was delicious. My boyfriend had the 'proper' breakfast and said his sausages were also yummy. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evenings, partly because it lacked atmosphere. I'm guessing it has been recently refurbished and they have chosen to paint everything white. Whilst this looks very smart it is a little clinical and, with the relative lack if guests during this off season, meant there wasn't really a vibe in the hotel. That said I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again if I go back to Barmouth.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Danby29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

situated at the base of one of the finest views in wales, the Mawddach estuary, and overlooking the harbour at Barmouth this recently refurbished hotel was a great choice for a weekend away. Reasonably priced well appointed room was spacious and comfortable. Proprietors Ash and Jacqui together with the staff were welcoming and helpful, making this short stay memorable. Good choice of locally sourced food was well presented, tasty and excellent value. Will definitely revisit. Highly recommended. Tony and Eileen

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the way to a wedding. We had booked a room with a sea view but it was so cold we had to change to one without. I am sure when it was originally decorated it was lovely, but it's a bit tired and damp around the edges now, and as there were very few other guests, the atmosphere was a bit lacking. Probably better in the summer - a lovely coast along here but I think we would try to find somewhere else to stay another time.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaeAbermawBarmouth, Manager at Bae Abermaw, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guests, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you should. We have had problems with some of the radiators but these have now been fixed. We are constantly working to improve the hotel and hope that you will return one day to see for yourselves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at this hotel in a very comfortable room with a lovely view of the sea looking over to Fairbourne.
We were impressed by the friendly staff (Ash on reception on arrival), Jacqui (who kept us updated on the latest situation regarding the flooding in the town) and others whose names we didn't find out.
The breakfast selection was very good with quality ingredients being used for the cooked breakfast.
All in all a good value stay at a hotel that the owners are still in the process of improving.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paul i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

stayed new year, newly refurbished, lovely bedroom with great view over the estuary, lots of really hot water for bath, essential after walking, massive lounge, ate first night, good food for reasonable price, staff couldn't do enough for you. Breakfast one of the best, good luck to the owners for the future, would highly reccomend it. julie and ciaran, birmingham.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kegBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaeAbermawBarmouth, Manager at Bae Abermaw, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Guest, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and many thanks for your kind wishes. We will continue working on improvements to the hotel and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

As a number of other guests have commented, this hotel is not worth the money - it seems to have been "renovated on the cheap" and actually not fully renovated either since we had a very old room that was frankly pretty disgusting.

There were stains everywhere on the carpet, the two blue "velvet type" armchairs by the window had nasty stains on, several window panes were cracked, there was horrible mould in the bathroom which again had cracked tiles and the most horrendous mastic mess around the basin. The blinds in the bathroom were also broken and stained.

There was a small tv and tea making facilities but really they were pretty pointless because you wouldn't want to spend any time in the room.

All in all, there is honestly nothing good that I can say about our room. It was horrible.

The hotel itself is in a nice spot with a great view overlooking the sea and as other guest have also commented, it has potential.

We just felt ripped off because what they advertise is not correct. When we complained to the man at the front desk he said that they'd just taken over the property in the Spring and that they were renovating the place but there were a few rooms still to do. That's fine - and good luck to them - but honestly, charging full price for a crappy room and then expecting us to think it's ok because they haven't gotten round to the room we're in is, just isn't ok.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gunner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaeAbermawBarmouth, Manager at Bae Abermaw, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Guest, it is true that we are still working on improvements to the hotel. In December all sea view rooms were fitted with new double glazed windows. The old windows were draughty and only single glazed.. However, the room you occupied seems to have more problems than is acceptable and I can only apologise for your disappointing stay with us. I would advise any guest with a problem or concern to ask to speak to the manager. If you would care to contact me I would be happy to discuss this further with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My wife and I stayed in November and were generally very pleased. Staff were all first rate as were the lounge and dining areas. Our room was warm and comfortable, with a fantastic sea view. Very large bed again comfortable. The only minor down side was the en-suite, there were a couple of tiles starting to come off the wall, not a major issue nut a simple fix for the hotel. We would and will stay there again. The location for town is perfect with just a short walk.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulTR1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmouth
0.8 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
339 reviews
1 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
403 reviews
5.2 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
716 reviews
15.8 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tal Y Don Hotel
Tal Y Don Hotel
#14 of 24 in Barmouth
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bae Abermaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bae Abermaw

Address: Panorama Road, Barmouth LL42 1DQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Price Range: £75 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bae Abermaw 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Bae Abermaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bae Abermaw Barmouth, Wales
Bae Abermaw Hotel Barmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing