We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treasure!”
Review of Grantham House

Grantham House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grantham House
Ranked #16 of 23 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a treasure!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

We arrived today for a two night stay and we cannot stress how impressed we are with this little treasure of a guest house. Carol and Brian welcomed us and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them, they are friendly and helpful, recommending places to go and eat etc.
Our room is the twin with our own bathroom and it is immaculately decorated and so clean, it's truly gorgeous. Quaint decoration and the furniture is so pretty.
There is plenty of refreshments in our room, with sachets of the best Italian coffee I've tasted.
We haven't even slept yet but I can only emphasise that on first impressions I would highly recommend this jewel....oh and the price, it was £130 for both nights with breakfast....awesome value in the peak of high season....With only two rooms available Carol and Brian can dedicate themselves fully.
Diane and Martin Wolverhampton.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Di7159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Having read reviews about this place we booked .the double room every one raves about was booked so we took the twin which had separate bathroom it was a lovely room and we had fab time it felt personal and lots of life touches their was a lovely waterfall out side the room and was slightly dark because of this but it didn't spoil it .the bathroom was lush and bathrobes provided to go the short trip down hall they only have two rooms so the
Likely hood of bumping in to any one was slim. The breakfast was fab fresh fruit salad and fab cooked breakfast it was so homely and personal we had such a lovely stay and would highly recommend for a romantic getaway :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsflintstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Excellent B&B, not too far from the town centre.
Immaculate house. Very bright and colourful and comfortable too.
Everything you could want is provided by the cheery hosts.
The bed and bedroom were to a very high standard and the bathroom was new and clean and modern.
Our room had a little sitting area in the bay window.
Tea and coffee facilities were spot on with nice biscuits in a jar!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moragg868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We have stayed with Carol and Adrian on a previous occasion.. The last time we went to Barmouth we were very disappointed because they were fully booked. This couple welcome you into their lovely home like family,in fact when we left I told them so.There are two rooms one a twin and one a double both have very different features The double room has a sea view and overlooks a bowling green this room also has a really old tiled feature fireplace.. The twin room has a wonderful natural waterfall outside that is seen from the window fascinating.and relaxing. Both rooms have T.V. with a d v.d player Adrian does have some d.v.ds but you are also welcome to take your own. The bed in the double room is so comfortable but I cannot speak for the twin room but I am sure they are the same.The double room that we stayed in has plenty of interesting reading matter especially for individuals who enjoy the heritage of the area.
I do not know where to start with the breakfast because what ever you want is there,in any combination. There are a variety of cereals,fresh fruit salad or porridge,fruit juices, I defy anyone.to want toast after enjoying Adrian`s full Welsh breakfast that will fill you up for the rest of the day,we only needed a sandwich at about 8 pm after having breakfast at 9 am
When you leave Carol and Adrian on the doorstep you really feel that you are saying goodbye to friends. The house is situated about a ten minute walk from the center of Barmouth. There adequate parking outside the house.When you look at all the reviews for this small b/b we cannot all be wrong. Look forward to seening you both soon with maybe we can bring better weather.

Room Tip: choose double or twin to suit your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patprice3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Margaret's at Cliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We are so glad that we decided to stay at Grantham House. The room was immaculate and well decorated and the view of Cardigan Bay lovely from the huge windows. I loved the quirkiness of the whole house - lots of interesting objects around to ponder on and it has a lovely, friendly atmosphere. Carol and Ade were great hosts. Ade is a top chef - we are only sorry we couldn't do his breakfasts the justice they deserved!!! We did enjoy the packed lunch he prepared for the train - it kept us going all the way home!!
If we are ever in Barmouth again, we wouldn't hesitate to go back to Grantham House. Thanks for everything Ade and Carol.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micky_fitzgerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed at Grantham House for a short break to Wales and it was a lovely place to relax. The owners were welcoming, friendly and provided a beautiful room, with fantastic sea views, a top class breakfast in their quiet, tastefully decorated house. We both had a great night's sleep and would definitely return to Grantham House.
Don't stay anywhere else if you are visiting Barmouth!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. We asked for a room with a sea view - lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saoirsecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2013

You cannot go wrong staying at this bed & breakfast, from an amazingly comfortable bed to one of the tastiest breakfast I have had. The rooms are spotless, Ensuite finished to a very high standard. Carole and Adrian could not do enough from start to finish, like a home from home.
We stayed in the double bedroom facing the sea.Parking at this time of year early March was no problem.Town center , beach about ten minutes walk.

Room Tip: We stayed in the double room facing the sea, you cannot fault it. Large room, comfortable bed. moder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#1 of 23 in Barmouth
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tal Y Don Hotel
Tal Y Don Hotel
#13 of 23 in Barmouth
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grantham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grantham House

Property: Grantham House
Address: 5 Kings Crescent, Barmouth LL42 1RB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Grantham House Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing