We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Min-y-mor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Min-y-mor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My family wanted to take a trip down memory lane from 35 years ago and booked the Min y Mor to stay in. There were 12 of us plus a baby and we could not have picked a better hotel if we tried. The staff were brilliant, super facilities for the kids, quiet areas for the older ones of us to get peace and quiet, very busy bars but did not hear any noise in the bedrooms at all and the kids slept well, right next to the lovely beach, superb food and every taste was catered for. (even gluten free food for one of us) We would all recommend it for a lovely family holiday and would certainly go again. Thank you to all the staff for a super time and hopefully we will see you again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luxorlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thanks for your glowing review we are glad you enjoyed your stay and reminiscing in Barmouth. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

very good value hotel. i was a little worried when i realised that the bars were open to and frequented by any and all but soon found that my room was at the back and far away from potential noise, when i arrived was met by very friendly lady who turned out to be the owner she gave me a choice of room and the keys to look at choices, never had that before. the upstairs room was quite small and old/tired looking so i chose the groundfloor rear which was a large twin with on suite, it was very clean and had good windows and felt very airy, which was good as it was very warm. breakfast was good, plenty of choice and very quick, good for me as i was working and needed to get going. all the staff were very friendly , the bar guy was especially good (not that i used the bar) we got chattiness and he delighted in getting his new ipad out as we discussed old bands. i hope i get a chance to visit again, the view is great across the bay from the front garden, thanks guys for a good stay

Room Tip: rooms in the newer back extension seem quieter and nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for the review, we were all very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again if on business in the area or fancy a staycation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed for the weekend with sister and dog. Everyone was very friendly, the room was very clean and more than adequate. Very dog friendly but wouldn't put me off if hadn't had a dog. The beach opposite the hotel is ok for dogs and is one of the best beaches I have seen. Lots of tables on the lawn outside the hotel. Short walk along the beach into the town where we had a lovely meal. Breakfast good and ate in on the Friday as it was 'curry night' - food not bad. Great atmosphere, Saturday night is 'karaoke night' and is very loud which is ok if you're joining in but not so good for sleeping but we survived! Would recommend this place 100% and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EKKAMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thanks for your excellent honest review we hope to see you again soon. The rooms above reception can be a bit noisy on a Saturday, night so please ask for a quiet room when booking next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We have just returned from a nights stay at the Min-y-mor hotel. On arrival we were told we had to wait for our room as they had given our key to another guest so they could have a look round. I found this off putting from the start as we were booking in at 4:30 well after the advised time of booking in. When we were able to go to our room it was very clean however the decor wasn't of a basic standard the wallpaper was falling off the walls. I was pleasantly suprised however that the children had their own sleeping area which did give us alot more space. The bathroom was clean however there wasn't a shower as shown in pictures on other websites they advertise. I have never stayed at a hotel without a shower even over the bath I personally class a shower as a necessity. On reading through the manual in the room it advised that you should book a table in the restaurant for your evening meal this was not explained when booking or on arrival. When I went to book a table I was advised that Friday nights are curry nights and the usual menu they advertise on their website is not available. When I explained that we don't tend to eat curry I was advised that the other option was sausages and mash or I could walk into town and find a restaurant which we did and I'm pleased we did as the food we ate was beautiful.
They supplied alot of choice for breakfast however the full english was not up to standards it was hardly "full" and didnt taste very nice.
All in all it wasn't a very pleasant stay and we wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thanks for your feedback, I was disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Not all of our rooms have showers and this is clearly visible on pictures on our website and on booking.com. Our rooms vary in terms of decor several have been refurbished this year and last but the one you were in was one of our older rooms which is due to be refurbished at the end of this year.
I was also sorry you were unhappy with the Friday night menu. Friday night is curry night but we do offer alternatives of our award winning sausages or beer battered haddock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We booked a one night stay and will definitely be returning. The hotel is in a perfect spot with ample car parking. Slightly set away from the hustle and bustle (if you can even call it that) and perfectly placed near to the sea with beautiful views I can honestly say we were comfortable and happy. I see how people may say the rooms are dated but absolutely spotless and have all you need to be comfortable. The staff are wonderful and happy to help. The food was fantastic. We had our evening meal and all was fresh and plentiful. The breakfast had options to suit all. There were many locals and returning customers at the hotel and that says a lot about this hotel and we will be regulars also. Next time we will even be taking our dog. There were other guests with dogs and both were happy. My husband and I stayed in one of the family rooms with out two children aged 12 and 9 plus our 2 year old.

Thank you Min-y-more :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerieapparently
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thanks for your review we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed at the Min-y-mor using a Kgb deal and were very happy with our 3 nights. The location is amazing with the seafront directly outside and short walk into Barmouth - ideal for any seaside holiday. Plenty of parking and also a room to leave our bicycles. Unfortunately our stay was just before the lovely weather, so we can only imagine how nice it must be to sit outside in the evenings with drink in hand watching the sun go down!

Our room was large and comfortable, if slightly old world. The bathroom was large and clean - the only problem was the water being very erratic for the shower but when we raised it we were assured that the bathroom was being replaced on our departure.

We enjoyed a great breakfast each morning in a very spacious dining room - my only issue is that I would have liked some fresh fruit. We ate in the restaurant one evening and it was very pleasant. Like another couple commenting, we joined in on the quiz night in the bar, clearly a regular haunt for locals too. It was great fun, even though the locals won!!! But we were made to feel very welcome

We would definitely go back to Barmouth and stay at the Min-y-mor Hotel - it had everything we needed for a short break.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Guest Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thanks for your review , we are very glad you enjoyed your stay and can confirm that room 10 now has a lovely new bathroom!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We never stayed at the hotel itself, but visited during a recent day trip to Barmouth. The hotel has an excellent location right on the seafront, but a little away from the main busy tourist area. We parked at the hotel during our visit, as they offer a bargain park-all-day deal for only 3.00.

As it was a swelteringly hot day during the recent July heatwave, we had a cold drink at the hotel in the front garden area. This is a great spot for a drink, as the garden has a fantastic view out to sea. The area has lots of benches and tables and the huge parasols were perfect for taking a break from the hot sun.

Can't comment on the accomodation, but the service was very friendly, and I would definitely recommend the hotel as a good place to stop off for a drink.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Guest Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thanks for your review glad you enjoyed our beer garden and hope to welcome you back in future , Maybe you will consider dining with us next time or trying us for a weekend break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmouth
0.4 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
401 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
214 reviews
8.8 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tal Y Don Hotel
Tal Y Don Hotel
#14 of 24 in Barmouth
199 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#3 of 24 in Barmouth
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Min-y-mor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Min-y-mor Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Barmouth LL42 1HW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Price Range: £88 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Min y Mor Hotel is ideally located on the Promenade in the picturesque town of Barmouth in North Wales.The Min y Mor Hotel has a licensed restaurant, Lounge Bar, Bar, Family room and Function Room, all are open to non residents as well as residents. The Restaurant has a good reputation locally and among visitors alike with our Chefs traditional and vegetarian dishes using the best market ingredients available and in generous quantities. The residents Menu is changed daily. All special diets can be catered for with prior notice.All the rooms in the hotel are en-suite and have Tea/Coffee making facilities, TV and Telephone.A few short steps from the hotel and you'll find yourself on the sandy beach of Cardigan Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Min-y-mor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Min-y-Mor Hotel Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing