We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Min-y-mor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Min-y-mor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Situated on the sea front the hotel is well worth a visit. The staff are friendly and the food was good. Barmouth is a beautiful location and the hotel is ideally situated for touring the area. The bars are used by the locals which made for a nice friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thanks for your very positive review we are glad you enjoyed your stay , the ambiance in the bar and food. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    94
    52
    24
    16
See reviews for
62
149
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at min y mor in Barmouth for two nights in August room clean staff friendly and weekend entertainment would stay again at this hotel you can also take your dog with you good location right oppersit the beach good for family's

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Public Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thanks for your review we hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely place in a great location overlooking Barmouth beach. Didn't stay here but called in a few times walking back to campsite. Food very good, very friendly staff, dog friendly too.

Might return again for a weekend and stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JackieLambert13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thanks for your review we look forward to welcoming you back soon either as a Hotel guest or to dine with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

My mum, the dog and I had hoped to stay in Aberdovey for the night, but having not been able to find even a parking space let alone anywhere to stay, we moved up the coast and ended up in Barmouth. After stopping at several B & B's en route without success, we came across Min y Mor, which not only had rooms and a car park, but also took dogs. Decision made! The Ritz it isn't, but we had a comfortable night in spotlessly clean rooms (myself and the dog had a family room on the front overlooking the garden and the beach and mum had a refurbished double at the rear) we had a good meal in the bar - reasonably priced and plenty of it! - and breakfast was tasty and served promptly in the spacious dining room. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. My room was a little dated and there was no shower, just a bath, but I understand they are refurbishing the rooms over the next few months. We were totally happy with our one night's stay - we even got a discount! - and would be more than happy to stay there again. If you want five star luxury and don't like dogs, then don't stay here and don't leave negative comments, but if you want a comfortable night at a reasonable price and right on the sea front, then this place fits the bill. Thanks for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thanks for your brilliant and honest review we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and meal with us and hope to welcome you back again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My family wanted to take a trip down memory lane from 35 years ago and booked the Min y Mor to stay in. There were 12 of us plus a baby and we could not have picked a better hotel if we tried. The staff were brilliant, super facilities for the kids, quiet areas for the older ones of us to get peace and quiet, very busy bars but did not hear any noise in the bedrooms at all and the kids slept well, right next to the lovely beach, superb food and every taste was catered for. (even gluten free food for one of us) We would all recommend it for a lovely family holiday and would certainly go again. Thank you to all the staff for a super time and hopefully we will see you again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxorlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thanks for your glowing review we are glad you enjoyed your stay and reminiscing in Barmouth. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

very good value hotel. i was a little worried when i realised that the bars were open to and frequented by any and all but soon found that my room was at the back and far away from potential noise, when i arrived was met by very friendly lady who turned out to be the owner she gave me a choice of room and the keys to look at choices, never had that before. the upstairs room was quite small and old/tired looking so i chose the groundfloor rear which was a large twin with on suite, it was very clean and had good windows and felt very airy, which was good as it was very warm. breakfast was good, plenty of choice and very quick, good for me as i was working and needed to get going. all the staff were very friendly , the bar guy was especially good (not that i used the bar) we got chattiness and he delighted in getting his new ipad out as we discussed old bands. i hope i get a chance to visit again, the view is great across the bay from the front garden, thanks guys for a good stay

Room Tip: rooms in the newer back extension seem quieter and nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for the review, we were all very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again if on business in the area or fancy a staycation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed for the weekend with sister and dog. Everyone was very friendly, the room was very clean and more than adequate. Very dog friendly but wouldn't put me off if hadn't had a dog. The beach opposite the hotel is ok for dogs and is one of the best beaches I have seen. Lots of tables on the lawn outside the hotel. Short walk along the beach into the town where we had a lovely meal. Breakfast good and ate in on the Friday as it was 'curry night' - food not bad. Great atmosphere, Saturday night is 'karaoke night' and is very loud which is ok if you're joining in but not so good for sleeping but we survived! Would recommend this place 100% and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKKAMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thanks for your excellent honest review we hope to see you again soon. The rooms above reception can be a bit noisy on a Saturday, night so please ask for a quiet room when booking next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmouth
0.4 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
371 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
195 reviews
5.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#1 of 23 in Barmouth
124 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#2 of 23 in Barmouth
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Min-y-mor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Min-y-mor Hotel

Property: Min-y-mor Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Barmouth LL42 1HW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Min y Mor Hotel is ideally located on the Promenade in the picturesque town of Barmouth in North Wales.The Min y Mor Hotel has a licensed restaurant, Lounge Bar, Bar, Family room and Function Room, all are open to non residents as well as residents. The Restaurant has a good reputation locally and among visitors alike with our Chefs traditional and vegetarian dishes using the best market ingredients available and in generous quantities. The residents Menu is changed daily. All special diets can be catered for with prior notice.All the rooms in the hotel are en-suite and have Tea/Coffee making facilities, TV and Telephone.A few short steps from the hotel and you'll find yourself on the sandy beach of Cardigan Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Min-y-mor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Min-y-Mor Hotel Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing