We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Group”
Review of Min-y-mor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Min-y-mor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Art Group”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our group of 25 booked in for 5 nights including evening meals. Varied menu, great food, really nice and helpful people. Rooms clean and well furnished. Super location right on the seafront (lovely sunsets) in easy reach of lots of picturesque mountain country. Good access to ground floor rooms and lots of parking space. Everybody went home full of praise. Many thanks. Paul

Room Tip: Some rooms have sea views. There is no lift but the ground floor rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Public Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks for your very positive review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you will consider us again and recommend us to other groups .
I will pass on your feedback to all of our lovely team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    95
    52
    24
    16
See reviews for
63
152
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just got in from a pleasant evening with friends...had my usual chicken tikka and sides and as usual it was lovely. Big pieces of chicken served with rice veg samosa's and chapatis, excellent value for money and if you have a loyalty card you are entitled to a free drink...make sure you book otherwise you may be dissappointed as it gets busy.

See ya soon x

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Guest Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks for your first class review, we are glad you enjoyed your curry once again and look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Were booked into room 12. Very tired and in desperate need of updating but relatively clean. However, there were numerous flies in the room and to top it all it another "guest" had a duplicate of our room key and tried letting himself into the room. My granddaughter spilled some fruit shoot on the sheet causing quite a stain, the duvet cover was simply thrown over it by housekeeping and the sheet not changed. Also found some odd hair in the bed. Breakfast was good and the location exceptional. Cut our stay short. On the front entrance there is an award of excellence from Tripadvisor which was puzzling to say the least.

Room Tip: Avoid room 12, this family room is up at least 3 flights of stairs which makes it very awkward with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Public Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks for your feedback, am very sorry if you were not happy with your stay! Room 12 is one of our yet to be refurbished rooms they do vary in quality,however we do always try to maintain good standards of housekeeping and if there was a problem in this respect it would have been best to address it with us directly so we could have rectified it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Food is fabulous, curry night is well worth it. Nice friendly atmosphere, old fashioned in many ways, but has character.
Rooms very dated & old fashioned. Too pricey for the decor. Plastic shower heads on taps! :-(
Stunning sea views & great service make up for the down side.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahH74_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanks for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed dining with us and our friendly atmosphere.
Our rooms do vary in quality with lots of them having been recently refurbished and a few yet to be done. I am afraid they are allocated on a first come first serve basis but we do try and accommodate requests. Please book early and get your requests in order to get the best rooms.
We hope to see you again on your next trip to Barmouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I stay here a lot (5-6 times a year) sometimes due to business, others just because I like the area. The hotel is lovely, rooms are good, staff are nice. I always get looked after and treated fantastically. I don't know why some of the bad reviews are even on here???

Food is out of this world. Top quality chefs and produce. The locals all say this is the best place in Barmouth to eat, and I agree.

I'll be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank martinjones1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanks for your review, we are pleased you are such a frequent visitor and look forward to seeing you again soon. I will pass on your compliments to our wonderful kitchen team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed at the Min-y-mor hotel with my Wife and a friend on weds 7th and 8th of May 2014, we found the hotel to be very comfortable,the staff were very helpful and friendly,the food was of a high standard and the dining room staff were second to none, especially the young waitress,Pela, nothing was too much trouble for her and she was very efficient,we will certainly be back later in the year

Room Tip: We stayed in ground floor rooms, due to disabilities,but they were quiet and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Public Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your very positive review we look forward to welcoming you back soon. We will pass on your praise to Pela and our fantastic team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We decided to stay in Barmouth an additional night as we enjoyed the area very much indeed!

The hotel looks a bit bleak at first hand but is well situated looking over the beach and close to town and has a very friendly staff team.

The rooms are relatively basic but clean and comfortable with dog friendly rooms.

The bar is very friendly but we enjoyed sitting in the garden at the front with lovely views of the sea.

We were able to eat a very nice breakfast in the bar - mainly to accommodate dog owners.

The restaurant and menu looked very nice.

Don't judge this hotel by its cover as it is very nice indeed

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneandChris9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minymor, Public Relations Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We are pleased to here you enjoyed your stay your stay despite you initial reservations. We hope you will consider us for future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmouth
0.8 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
375 reviews
5.8 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
1.4 mi away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
417 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#2 of 24 in Barmouth
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Min-y-mor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Min-y-mor Hotel

Property: Min-y-mor Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Barmouth LL42 1HW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Min y Mor Hotel is ideally located on the Promenade in the picturesque town of Barmouth in North Wales.The Min y Mor Hotel has a licensed restaurant, Lounge Bar, Bar, Family room and Function Room, all are open to non residents as well as residents. The Restaurant has a good reputation locally and among visitors alike with our Chefs traditional and vegetarian dishes using the best market ingredients available and in generous quantities. The residents Menu is changed daily. All special diets can be catered for with prior notice.All the rooms in the hotel are en-suite and have Tea/Coffee making facilities, TV and Telephone.A few short steps from the hotel and you'll find yourself on the sandy beach of Cardigan Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Min-y-mor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Min-y-Mor Hotel Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing